Page 182 of 428 FirstFirst ... 82132172180181182183184192232282 ... LastLast
Results 5,431 to 5,460 of 12811

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Back on track, TV adverts that feature someone speaking to camera and reciting a pish poem, usually with over-accentuated hand or arm movements.

Nationwide first, now Giffgaff
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Back on track, TV adverts that feature someone speaking to camera and reciting a pish poem, usually with over-accentuated hand or arm movements.

Nationwide first, now Giffgaff
    I mentioned the one with the girl leaning against the car a couple of pages ago, absolute nonsense.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    This new fashion of wrecking threads with "puns"
    'Kin brutal.
    Same folk over and over again trolling threads with what they think are clever puns.

It's got to the stage where I don't even open threads when I see the last post is from the wee band of punsters.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    This new fashion of wrecking threads with "puns"
    'Kin brutal.
    Same folk over and over again trolling threads with what they think are clever puns.

It's got to the stage where I don't even open threads when I see the last post is from the wee band of punsters.
    Agreed. It’s getting to the point where it’s ruining Hibs.net because of how frequent it is. A few of them are fine, but the thread about Dylan is mostly 3 pages full of puns. I opened it to read what was happening with him and got fed up of reading it.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    Agreed. It’s getting to the point where it’s ruining Hibs.net because of how frequent it is. A few of them are fine, but the thread about Dylan is mostly 3 pages full of puns. I opened it to read what was happening with him and got fed up of reading it.

Agree, its even creeping onto the pm board. Very frustrating.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    It’s just the summer it’s this bad, it’s the same every year when there’s very little to discuss.

I’m not really a big fan of them myself but can understand why it happens when there’s nothing else happening.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    I'm a bit of a punsters myself however, I agree it's gone OTT.
    One or two per thread - fine.
    Anymore - thread killer.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Beggars

More specifically the ones that have taken to sitting directly outside Scotmid doors.

I noticed today that the guy I've seen sitting on Easter Road a lot was sitting at the one at Roseburn, are they all organised together I wonder?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Weegies also like to end with a variation of:

- so I did
    - so they will
    I know someone who finishes almost every sentence with " Do you know what I mean?"

You never notice it till you notice it, do you know what I mean?

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    I know someone who finishes almost every sentence with " Do you know what I mean?"

You never notice it till you notice it, do you know what I mean?
    Ha ha!

It's so bloody irritating! "Are you with me?"

Ps there's a wee clue there as to what phrase is irritating me at the mo, are you with me?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    Whilst some weegies add sure at the end of their sentences.
    Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Weegies also like to end with a variation of:

- so I did
    - so they will
    Lot of picking on weegies in this thread by the way.

Theres a guy I sometimes work with from through the west, we can him "so it is" as he ends every sentence with so it is or so I did.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Lot of picking on weegies in this thread by the way.
    Dead right, big man.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Theres a guy I sometimes work with from through the west, we can him "so it is" as he ends every sentence with so it is or so I did.
    Is he a The Hun by any chance? That’s a very Northern Irish thing. I worked with a guy who claimed to be an ex member of one of the loyalist groups. He ended everything with “so it is”, “so it was”, “so I am”, “so ye are”, etc.

The best was one was when you would point out something to him which could legitimately provoke a response of “oh, so it is”. He would reply “oh so it is, so it is”.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Is he a The Hun by any chance? That’s a very Northern Irish thing. I worked with a guy who claimed to be an ex member of one of the loyalist groups. He ended everything with “so it is”, “so it was”, “so I am”, “so ye are”, etc.

The best was one was when you would point out something to him which could legitimately provoke a response of “oh, so it is”. He would reply “oh so it is, so it is”.

Believe it or not he's actually a Celtic fan so he is.

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    Beggars

More specifically the ones that have taken to sitting directly outside Scotmid doors.

I noticed today that the guy I've seen sitting on Easter Road a lot was sitting at the one at Roseburn, are they all organised together I wonder?

It's a co-operative.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    When you accidentally click the wrong tab on this site and end up marking all the threads as read.
    I normally click the quick links tab then subscribed threads but on my phone I end up clicking the Forum actions tab and Mark all as read.

Well it bothers me
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    It's a co-operative.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Scottish people who use the word "craic".

Probably the same types who come out with "Hey Dude".

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post

Is it just Scottish people who say it that annoy you? It's a word that had come into the English language and is used to describe a good time or good fun. A bit like restaurant, cafe, cul-de-sac, garage, patio etc etc

The Beatles? :-)

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    The Beatles? :-)
    Kula Shaker

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Guys, mainly teenagers it appears, who do the top button up on their coat but don’t button/zip any other part of it. It looks like they are wearing a cape. What’s that all about?

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Guys, mainly teenagers it appears, who do the top button up on their coat but don’t button/zip any other part of it. It looks like they are wearing a cape. What’s that all about?
    Gross stupidity, that's what it's about.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Is it just Scottish people who say it that annoy you? It's a word that had come into the English language and is used to describe a good time or good fun. A bit like restaurant, cafe, cul-de-sac, garage, patio etc etc
    Yes, most probably because it's used mainly by student types.

If a grown man over 30 is using it that should warrant a prison stay.

People who think that particular things shouldn't be worn/said/done by particular age groups.

I've used the word for more than 30 years. Where does that put me?

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I've used the word for more than 30 years. Where does that put me?
    Locked up in a halls of residence?

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    People who think that particular things shouldn't be worn/said/done by particular age groups.

50 is the new 20. If i want to wear ripped jeans and say but at the end of every sentence I will!

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar

I know loads of guys well over 30 who use that word - none imprisoned thankfully. Use it occasionally myself. Not quite sure what you're on about!