Page 181 of 424 FirstFirst ... 81131171179180181182183191231281 ... LastLast
Results 5,401 to 5,430 of 12699

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    That advert for sofology with that American actor **** Owen Wilson.
    Wilson has a very punchable face at the best of times.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    It was originally Princes' Street being named after two Princes as you said. The apostrophe was lost 100 years ago, or so.
    Probably in the euphoric, chaotic celebrations following Hearts's most famous victory.

Grown men and women referring to their pets as their "wee boy" or "wee girl" - or even more tragic and puerile - call themselves their mutt's "Mummy" or "Daddy".

I feel there's no need to explain why that's so cringeworthy.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Grown men and women referring to their pets as their "wee boy" or "wee girl" - or even more tragic and puerile - call themselves their mutt's "Mummy" or "Daddy".

It's quite sad if the pet is a child substitute. But sickening too.

How frequently leaders in my workplace (one in particular) use the word ‘fundamentally’ or ‘fundamental’

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar

This 100% - and I hear it a lot!

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar

Roaster material that.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar

When folk get wound up about this sort of thing. To me that is cringeworthy!

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

Or trying to convince parents that being a pet owner carries the same responsibility as being a parent.

Watching the WC in Sweden and they change the channel the are showing the game on at half-time does my nut in

Fuds in the crowd at The World Cup waving their phones in the air with the light on.

I've read on more than one occasion Amercian women refer to themselves as a "fur mummy" which should be a criminal offence.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Fuds in the crowd at The World Cup waving their phones in the air with the light on.
    I'd expand that to any roaster that is watching an event through their phone.

Grown men or women who clearly should not breed for socio-economic, generic or any other reason deciding to have kid(s) instead of just buying a ****** cat or dug!!
    Nae need.

Allowing myself to believe that I can move a brick wall by trying to reason with it.

Drinking games. What’s the point, unless you’re a teenaged girl?

In my experience: they’re not fun or funny. The whole “drink two fingers thing” means you’re drinking less than if you were just sitting enjoying your drink as normal. And the objective of the game (to get you pished) is what will happen if you just sit and drink with your mates anyway.

Or then there’s the ones where there’s one minging drink for someone to down at the end of each round, where inevitably the loud mouths and bullies of the group will ensure one person gets absolutely slaughtered.

Give me sitting arguing endlessly about stupid topics any day of the week, while I enjoy my bevy.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Drinking games. What’s the point, unless you’re a teenaged girl?

In my experience: they’re not fun or funny. The whole “drink two fingers thing” means you’re drinking less than if you were just sitting enjoying your drink as normal. And the objective of the game (to get you pished) is what will happen if you just sit and drink with your mates anyway.

Or then there’s the ones where there’s one minging drink for someone to down at the end of each round, where inevitably the loud mouths and bullies of the group will ensure one person gets absolutely slaughtered.

Give me sitting arguing endlessly about stupid topics any day of the week, while I enjoy my bevy.
    Folk have died because of those idiotic drinking 'games'.

I'm a bit peeved that Zara Philips has had a baby. I've now dropped down yet another place in succession to the throne.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    I'm a bit peeved that Zara Philips has had a baby. I've now dropped down yet another place in succession to the throne.
    You should cash that bet out before her kids have kids.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    This might have already been covered, but people who end sentences with the word "but". (... other than in the way that I've just done it...). I'm no stickler for grammer, I couldn't care less about most things, but I would assume to wait for more information when someone says the word but. (done it again)

"The shop shuts at 9 but" ... I don't know when it started and I don't know why it started, but it confuses the heck out of me.

In hindsight, there were a lot of but's in that post.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    This might have already been covered, but people who end sentences with the word "but". (... other than in the way that I've just done it...). I'm no stickler for grammer, I couldn't care less about most things, but I would assume to wait for more information when someone says the word but. (done it again)

"The shop shuts at 9 but" ... I don't know when it started and I don't know why it started, but it confuses the heck out of me.

My in laws from Coatbridge use this a lot. It's the Lanarkshire equivalent of Edinburghers using the word eh. Whilst some weegies add sure at the end of their sentences.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    My in laws from Coatbridge use this a lot. It's the Lanarkshire equivalent of Edinburghers using the word eh. Whilst some weegies add sure at the end of their sentences.
    I thought "eh" was a Fife thing.

I used to use it a lot, until I came to Edinburgh and had people point it out to me.
    Mon the Hibs.

You get this a lot in the German language in some regional dialects. In the south west they end their sentences with "gell", in the north west with "nah" and in the Prussian heartlands with "wa". It does my head in because it makes everything sound like a question.

I thought "eh" was a Fife thing.

I used to use it a lot, until I came to Edinburgh and had people point it out to me.
    I'm from Stirling and we use "eh" I had never noticed before then worked with a guy from Port Glasgow who regularly pointed it out.

You don’t hear it do often these days but I mind folks using the word ‘well’ in exactly the same way.
    “The shop’s open again at 7 the morn, well”

Shift the "But" to the start of the sentence and it makes perfect sense, but.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by hibs#1 View Post
    I'm from Stirling and we use "eh" I had never noticed before then worked with a guy from Port Glasgow who regularly pointed it out.
    I use eh a lot even in texts. Im not really from anywhere . Edinburgh would be where id say but ive not lived there for nearly 30 years

Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post

Weegies also like to end with a variation of:

- so I did
    - so they will

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Weegies also like to end with a variation of:

- so I did
    - so they will
    That's Irish.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    That's Irish.

Or just 'so' by itself.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars