Page 164 of 428 FirstFirst ... 64114154162163164165166174214264 ... LastLast
Results 4,891 to 4,920 of 12829

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    Go to Japan, everywhere has heated toilet seats, there's not much in life that beats it.
    It's a 12 hour flight and I'd have to get to Heathrow from York.

I wouldn't be able to wait that long.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Used lever-arched files that have legs that don't line up or close causing the letters and/or invoices fall out when you turn over a bundle of leafs.

Also, I'd like to kill the guy that designed the indentation programme for MS Word.

Daytime TV.

A Place in the Sun - We 'only' have a budget of £400K, we'll view a few houses then show interest in one 'only' £50K over budget. Must assume a smug persona at all times.

Wanted Down Under - We've decided we are moving to Australia no matter what but the chance of a free trip was too good to turn down. Tears when we pretend to be surprised family and friends will miss us are standard. Again smug persona required and the ability to patronise anyone who doesn't assume jetting across the world is the answer to all their problems.

Cash In the Attic - Come look around our detached 4 bedroom house in Kent. Apparently we desperately need to flog some of the many antiques in said house to raise £600 for a birthday party.

The Sheriffs Are Coming - Guys who seem to take great pleasure in seizing peoples assets. Must make it clear what you have done will 'teach them a lesson'.

Doctors - For when even Emmerdale or Casualty won't touch you as an actor.

Homes Under the Hammer - I'm rich and can afford to buy a property at auction, spend a whack more doing it up then 'acheive a yield of between 10 and 12%'. Everyone look at how great I am, I even done a bit painting myself. Must include a few shots of said dickhead running his hands across a surface and engaging in hillarious banter with Dion Dublin.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Used lever-arched files that have legs that don't line up or close causing the letters and/or invoices fall out when you turn over a bundle of leafs.

Also, I'd like to kill the guy that designed the indentation programme for MS Word.
    Word in general - far too smart for it's own good.

Excel on the other hand ...

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Word in general - far too smart for it's own good.

Excel on the other hand ...
    Agree, Word is so frustrating now that it made a PA at my old work say the f word for the first time in her life 😁

Come on PB, In these days of Sky+, Tivo & Kodi, there's nae excuse for watching that keek! :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Agree, Word is so frustrating now that it made a PA at my old work say the f word for the first time in her life 😁
    Microsoft have a terrible habit of introducing very little new functionality and totally changing the layout for each new version of their software.

As I keep telling people in my work, it's all still there you've just got to find it.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    Microsoft have a terrible habit of introducing very little new functionality and totally changing the layout for each new version of their software.

As I keep telling people in my work, it's all still there you've just got to find it.
    Does my head in. I have no interest in technology, other than as a means to do the stuff I need to do. I get that some (possibly lots of) people like exploring new tricks / gimmicks / layouts etc... , but the very last thing I want to be doing is wasting time watching their stupid wee videos or googling to find out where they've hidden something, or what they've renamed it, or how to use something that worked absolutely fine before.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    the very last thing I want to be doing is wasting time watching their stupid wee videos or googling to find out where they've hidden something, or what they've renamed it, or how to use something that worked absolutely fine before.
    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamen to that.

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    Does my head in. I have no interest in technology, other than as a means to do the stuff I need to do. I get that some (possibly lots of) people like exploring new tricks / gimmicks / layouts etc... , but the very last thing I want to be doing is wasting time watching their stupid wee videos or googling to find out where they've hidden something, or what they've renamed it, or how to use something that worked absolutely fine before.
    I was told that AutoCad purposely change things about with each new version so that the can make money on update training courses. Not sure if that's true though.

Daytime TV.

A Place in the Sun - We 'only' have a budget of £400K, we'll view a few houses then show interest in one 'only' £50K over budget. Must assume a smug persona at all times.

Wanted Down Under - We've decided we are moving to Australia no matter what but the chance of a free trip was too good to turn down. Tears when we pretend to be surprised family and friends will miss us are standard. Again smug persona required and the ability to patronise anyone who doesn't assume jetting across the world is the answer to all their problems.

Cash In the Attic - Come look around our detached 4 bedroom house in Kent. Apparently we desperately need to flog some of the many antiques in said house to raise £600 for a birthday party.

The Sheriffs Are Coming - Guys who seem to take great pleasure in seizing peoples assets. Must make it clear what you have done will 'teach them a lesson'.

Doctors - For when even Emmerdale or Casualty won't touch you as an actor.

Homes Under the Hammer - I'm rich and can afford to buy a property at auction, spend a whack more doing it up then 'acheive a yield of between 10 and 12%'. Everyone look at how great I am, I even done a bit painting myself. Must include a few shots of said dickhead running his hands across a surface and engaging in hillarious banter with Dion Dublin.
    Nailed them all - six on the trot, PB.

I can't stand those Smugs on A Place In The Sun. Horrible programme from start to finish.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Nailed them all - six on the trot, PB.

I can't stand those Smugs on A Place In The Sun. Horrible programme from start to finish.
    I like it

The others I'd never consider watching mind you.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Snobs, not just you're upper class snobs but wine, whisky, beer, food, fashion, music and any other kind of snob. **** you all I'll do as I please.

Electric shocks when you're doing the shopping at Tesco.

I was told that AutoCad purposely change things about with each new version so that the can make money on update training courses. Not sure if that's true though.
    I wouldn't say that. In the office we have a couple of 2013s à few 2018s and even a 2007. They update their user interface, but there's a "switch to classic" option which means you can jump from one machine to another no problem. Unlike Microsoft Office, autocad updates generally offer new and improved features. In any case I don't think you can buy Autodesk licences outright any more - they all seem to be on a monthly or annual basis.

The biggest problems we have with Autocad now are compatibility issues with Windows perpetual updates.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Snobs, not just you're upper class snobs but wine, whisky, beer, food, fashion, music and any other kind of snob. **** you all I'll do as I please.
    Add to that job snobs.

What do you expect he/she is only a .............

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Add to that job snobs.

What do you expect he/she is only a .............
    completely. I hate hearing folk say that.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    Unlike Microsoft Office, autocad updates generally offer new and improved features.
    Also screw up routines that worked perfectly well before (Array)

Washing mushrooms.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Washing mushrooms.
    You're not a fun guy are you?

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    You're not a fun guy are you?

Button it...

Yeh, keep him in the dark.

I wouldn't say that. In the office we have a couple of 2013s à few 2018s and even a 2007. They update their user interface, but there's a "switch to classic" option which means you can jump from one machine to another no problem. Unlike Microsoft Office, autocad updates generally offer new and improved features. In any case I don't think you can buy Autodesk licences outright any more - they all seem to be on a monthly or annual basis.

The biggest problems we have with Autocad now are compatibility issues with Windows perpetual updates.

Been using Bentley for projects the last few years. Find it more user friendly than autocad.

Washing mushrooms.
    Brushing mushrooms.

Always look for the cleanest packet of mushrooms🍄

Quote Originally Posted by jabis View Post
    Brushing mushrooms.

Always look for the cleanest packet of mushrooms🍄
    Always buy them loose, find them much cleaner.

Quote Originally Posted by TRC View Post
    Been using Bentley for projects the last few years. Find it more user friendly than autocad.
    We're about to take the leap into Revit/BIM. It's becoming compulsory for more and more public sector clients across here.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Always buy them loose, find them much cleaner.
    Chestnut kinda guy.

Fungi folks know.

Quote Originally Posted by jabis View Post
    Chestnut kinda guy.

Fungi folks know.
    Chanterelle from my own personal forager are always good too.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Easter cards. One just arrived from a friend of my wife's family. Even allowing for her age and generally being an all round bampot that's a new level of mental. Easter cards- WTF?

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Easter cards. One just arrived from a friend of my wife's family. Even allowing for her age and generally being an all round bampot that's a new level of mental. Easter cards- WTF?

The wifes friend religious?