Page 1 of 424 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar

Pet Peeves IV

18 months since Pet Peeves III.
    The fitba' season's over so here's PP-IV prescribed as a wee bit therapy for us moaners until the new season starts.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I hate when temporary roadwork signs are left up when they are not required.

e.g.
    "Temp traffic lights ahead" -> None. They're gone and so has the workforce.
    "One lane only" -> Maybe I can't count but the two lanes were open for the following 5 miles.
    "Accident ahead" -> Correct for the day before maybe but not today.
    etc.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    "Literally"...**** me I hate the invalid use of that word...

Teenagers starting next to everything with "So,".
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

"My bad" does my thrupennies in.

People who spell lose with two o's, loose, I mean FFS!!!!!!!!!!

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    People who wear jackets over suits but the jacket is shorter and the bottom of the suit jacket hangs down!

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    People on a busy street (usually tourists or old folk) walking in front of you and coming to a sudden halt as if they are the only ones on the street.

Ignorant twats.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

People who cant use escalators correctly. It aint hard. Stand on the right, walk on the left!

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    People who say "You either love me or hate me" when describing themselves.

I'm pretty sure I'm going to hate you.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Also, pulled pork. I don't want pulled pork, I want joined up pork you jump-on-any-bandwagon prick.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Young folk in the office who say "are you coming for drinks?" No I am not, I am either going to the pub/going for a few pints/going for a pish up or even going on a night out but never, never for bloody "drinks"!!

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    "Literally"...**** me I hate the invalid use of that word...

Teenagers starting next to everything with "So,".
    Girls telling stories where every sentence starts with "then I/she/he was like......." .

WTF.

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    People who wear jackets over suits but the jacket is shorter and the bottom of the suit jacket hangs down!
    Linked to that, shirts with a different coloured collar - usually white - to the main body of the shirt.

Chronic, Gordon Gecko wannabe ********s

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    I could have a thread just dedicated to the pish wearing of suits:

Fastening the bottom buttons on a waist coat

Buttoning a suit jacket when wearing a waistcoat

Brown belt/black shoes black belt/brown shoes

Buttoning a jacket when sitting down

Black shirt/back suit

Those horrible shiny grey Topman suits (not a price snob comment, you can buy a decent charcoal grey suit from Slaters for less than one of said Topman suits)

Using a Windsor knot with a narrow collared shirt

Bus lane erseholes who don't realise they can be used at certain times if displayed as such.

Adults who press the traffic light button at the side of a road but cross the road before the light goes to red as they can see there is no traffic. The light then goes to red just as a car approaches and then you're sitting at traffic lights for a number of seconds for absolutely no reason, meanwhile you see the pedestrian going on their merry way down the other side of the street.

If you're old enough to cross the road without assistance, then don't press for the traffic lights to go red if you can see there is no traffic coming and you're just going to cross the road anyway!

Would "of"

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Would "of"
    On a similar point, I also cringe when I see people write words which have an "s" on the end and write it down with an apostrophe before the "s".

For example, writing "Hibs" as "Hib's".

Also:

People (usually elderly) who march straight to the front of a bus queue.

People in casinos (usually drunk vanity muscular lads) who sit at a table with no idea how to play the game (usually 3 card poker or blackjack) but then comment on everything everyone else does.

The way some women seem to lose all manners between about 8 months into pregnancy and their child turning 3. If I step off the pavement to let you past with a pram, hold a door for you or help you lift a buggy off a bus when you are struggling an acknowledgement would be appreciated.

Men who make a big thing about 'not being a typical guy' to try and pump birds thus proving they are in fact a 'typical guy'.

People who pass comment on the drink you order in a bar. Yes I'm aware there are many fantastic craft beers in the world but sometimes I just fancy a cheap pint of lager. You've parroting of lines about 'mass produced', 'bland' and 'commercialised' prove you've just as swayed by advertising as me.

The lack of kids playing football in streets, parks, on wasteground etc these days. I walk through the park where I scored many next goal wins winners in 24 a side ganes as a child regularly and there's never any kids about. Probably all indoors pretending to be Messi on their PlayStation.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    People who cant use escalators correctly. It aint hard. Stand on the right, walk on the left!
    It's revolving doors at my work, people just stare at them like they are the devils work

Mentioned this on one of these threads before but it still winds me up, people treating bus stairs like its the north face of the Eiger, they are much like any other stairs, just walk up them FFS

The girl at my work who has to go give the boss a running commentary of what she has been up to every 5 minutes even though she is just doing the same as everyone else but is clearly wanting to make herself look so much better, incidentally she also uses "literally" in the complete wrong context as well

People who actually think Ronaldo is better than wee Lionel

The security guy at my work, I know he is just doing his job, but he has seen me everyday for years, why do I still have to show my pass? does he seriously think I'd be there on a jolly

People who think they are being witty when I ask of there is anything I can help you with and use the hilarious response of "can you give me the lottery numbers?" Haha aye never heard that one before

Jakeys asking you for a pound for the bus, it's £1.50 these days pal, **** off

People drinking coffee whilst walking, I really like pizza/beer/apple juice/ medium steaks but I can go half an hour without having one

Divorced women. My gawd are they bitter, hateful specimens, however, in the interest of balance my auntie got divorced from my uncle and had a party, although genuinely think she was getting pumped from various neighbours. This could get ugly, and also run to about 20 pages

Netflix sitting at 25% loading for ages!

Self service checkouts, I would stand in a queue of 20 people at a manned checkout before I would use them.

I could have a thread just dedicated to the pish wearing of suits:

Fastening the bottom buttons on a waist coat

Buttoning a suit jacket when wearing a waistcoat

Brown belt/black shoes black belt/brown shoes

Buttoning a jacket when sitting down

Black shirt/back suit

Those horrible shiny grey Topman suits (not a price snob comment, you can buy a decent charcoal grey suit from Slaters for less than one of said Topman suits)

Using a Windsor knot with a narrow collared shirt
    Brown shoes or belt with any suit!!! It's just not done.

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    It's revolving doors at my work, people just stare at them like they are the devils work

Mentioned this on one of these threads before but it still winds me up, people treating bus stairs like its the north face of the Eiger, they are much like any other stairs, just walk up them FFS

The girl at my work who has to go give the boss a running commentary of what she has been up to every 5 minutes even though she is just doing the same as everyone else but is clearly wanting to make herself look so much better, incidentally she also uses "literally" in the complete wrong context as well

The security guy at my work, I know he is just doing his job, but he has seen me everyday for years, why do I still have to show my pass? does he seriously think I'd be there on a jolly

People who think they are being witty when I ask of there is anything I can help you with and use the hilarious response of "can you give me the lottery numbers?" Haha aye never heard that one before

People drinking coffee whilst walking, I really like pizza/beer/apple juice/ medium steaks but I can go half an hour without having one
    Re the Security guard one, many moons ago when I worked in the old Scottish Office a guy had been suspended and pass taken from him to prevent him accessing building. The next day guard who has seen him every day for years lets him past when he says he's forgotten his pass instead of following the procedure of contacting his department. Guy storms into office and confronts his boss.......Security guard loses job!

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Re the Security guard one, many moons ago when I worked in the old Scottish Office a guy had been suspended and pass taken from him to prevent him accessing building. The next day guard who has seen him every day for years lets him past when he says he's forgotten his pass instead of following the procedure of contacting his department. Guy storms into office and confronts his boss.......Security guard loses job!
    I know the reason behind it is to stop things like this, just annoys me, I'm really laid back but very petty

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar

You don't work for the Widows by any chance, do you?

Work related:

Folk who, in response to an e-mail you sent just to them, asking a question/on a topic that is clearly their sole responsibility, reply but also put every man and his dug on cc: (the boss, the boss' boss, the tea lady etc etc) just to "prove" they're doing their job and/or because they think your request was either stupid or beneath them.

Non work related:

Goths/hipsters/any "against the system" cool group who express their unique individuality by dressing, talking and acting the exact same as hundreds, thousands and (if you're in East London) millions of other knobs. Only applies to members of those "groups" that prance about telling everyone how very alternative they are.

Seems to be a south coast of England thing, but I have several friends (co-incidentally all female) from that neck of the woods who are intelligent, lovely people but insist on saying "You/we was doing/saying XXXXXX" when all it would take is a simple "You/we were ..............." and all would be right with the world.
    Last edited by lyonhibs; 05-06-2015 at 07:50 AM.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Dafties who, at the first sign of sunshine in the middle of February, go out for their Sunday papers wearing shorts and flip flops.

People reading their phones or e-readers while walking. Especially in London on the tube, when walking between platforms or exiting the station.

Used to happen when I lived in Southampton. "Gezus £2 for the bus back to Millbrook mate!" It's 1.30am! There are no buses ya jakey *******! And it is only like a mile walk!