Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: No goalie

Promising Youngster
    Seemingly oxley said he would guarantee at least 3 goals a season .Thats why he's gone.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Do you think we'll be back in for Oxley?
    Heard a wee whisper we had made him an offer.

Obsessed with the Hibees son of haggart's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    We said "goalie an".

Still don't have a clue what it means.

Never thought about that before - that's what we called it in Northfield in the early 60's though 'goalie and' as in the post above makes sense as a derivation
    Last edited by son of haggart; 30-05-2015 at 07:19 AM.

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Feed McGraw View Post
    We called it " Goalie and " round our way / my era.

It was a "Backie an" in my part of Leith in the early 60s- mid70s

Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    We said "goalie an".

Still don't have a clue what it means.

Ditto on both of the above.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

its all part of Sepp Blatter's freash new start - teams can now play games with a goalie an

Quote Originally Posted by EdinAyr View Post
    Sean Brennan.
    Sean is nowhere near first team material yet IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    Heard a wee whisper we had made him an offer.

Really hope not, better keepers out there. Oxley is/was, nothing more than "adequate" imo.

Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Auld Git View Post
    Really hope not, better keepers out there. Oxley is/was, nothing more than "adequate" imo.
    I keep reading that on here but no one ever comes up with the name of one of these "better keepers". Funny thing that.....

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BOB MARLEYS DUG View Post
    Jak Alnwick has been released by Newcastle. Wouldn't be a bad signing?
    Who is he and why would he not be a bad signing?
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I keep reading that on here but no one ever comes up with the name of one of these "better keepers". Funny thing that.....
    We're not football scouts, how would we know who was available or within our price range?

If you don't know what is available within our price range you can't make make the assertion that there are better keepers out there than Oxley. That's my point.

Quote Originally Posted by Feed McGraw View Post
    We called it " Goalie and " round our way / my era.
    Less than 4 a side and it was goalie "rush"

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Thon Falkirk goalie might be available......

If you don't know what is available within our price range you can't make make the assertion that there are better keepers out there than Oxley. That's my point.
    It's not a great point though. If I was playing in goals for hibs I think it's fair to say hibs could get better, I couldn't give you a list of targets though.

There'll be hundreds of keepers available this summer, the vast majority I wouldn't have heard of or seen play, I'd hope our scouts or management team were aware of a lot of them though.

If things get really bad all the club have to do is send me a PM and I'll play for nowt :)

First Team Regular West hamBERNIAN's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Malthibby View Post
    Rather get McNeil back

It's not a great point though. If I was playing in goals for hibs I think it's fair to say hibs could get better, I couldn't give you a list of targets though.

There'll be hundreds of keepers available this summer, the vast majority I wouldn't have heard of or seen play, I'd hope our scouts or management team were aware of a lot of them though.
    You tell me that my point isn't great then use yourself as the Hibs goalie as an analogy. Seriously ? Oxley was on the books of an EPL club - again, I'm all ears to hear examples of who is available within our budget. It would be a lovely change from meaningless, generic statements with no basis in knowledge.

Had you heard of Oxley last season?

There'll be loads of English premiership clubs with 3rd or 4th choice keepers available this summer that I won't have heard of. Having watched Oxley all season I think it's a safe bet that some of them will be better than Oxley.

I thought the Queens keeper is very good, some cracking saves against the huns. Looks a little like Oxley funnily enough (facially).

Quote Originally Posted by gaz1875 View Post
    I thought the Queens keeper is very good, some cracking saves against the huns. Looks a little like Oxley funnily enough (facially).
    He was on loan from st Johnstone and I think they want him back for next season.

I thought he might have been on loan, pretty sure someone will make a move for him if he's not first choice next season.

They do, and Queens have replaced with Thomson the Cowdenbeath goalie
    Last edited by Billy Whizz; 30-05-2015 at 05:52 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by gaz1875 View Post
    I thought he might have been on loan, pretty sure someone will make a move for him if he's not first choice next season.
    Can't see him being 1st choice at Saints, behind Manus. Saints have also got a cracking young goalie, who plays for Scotland under 21's

killie bound I heard

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Can't see him being 1st choice at Saints, behind Manus. Saints have also got a cracking young goalie, who plays for Scotland under 21's
    I wondered that, shame if he's a bench warmer he did look good in most games I saw him.

nah, judging by yesterdays performance, he like to give other teams a chance

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Who is he and why would he not be a bad signing?
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jak_Alnwick

6 apps for the Newcastle first team at 21/22 years old, a few of which were this season too.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Maybe we just play and 'backie an"......
    That's what they called it my days playing in the Graigentiiny primary playground

Quote Originally Posted by West hamBERNIAN View Post
    Rather get McNeil back
    I used to quite like him..

Have no idea if he's good or bad now