England v NZ First Test

Good entertainment so far, England have gone from 30-4 to 186-4 with Stokes and Root batting very well.

Stokes bowled for 92, must've jinxed him! :-)

Root out for 98, 251-6, sair yin!

England ended the day on 354-7 losing a wkt with the final delivery of the day.

They recovered well thanks to Root and Stokes. An interesting few days ahead.

I love watching Root, what a player he has become in the last 18 months, always got a smile on his face too, nae wonder I suppose!

I've been off work today and saw most of the days play. Fantastic test match cricket. NZ started well but England fought back well. Can never understand why folk think test match cricket is boring

Cook back to true form.

Off today again. Chores completed, just settled down for some test match viewing as I have nothing to do now until school run at 3. Could only be better if I had a beer in my hand!

Poor day for England. NZ well on top now.
    Cougars!!!

Good day for England today; Stokes certainly seems to be hitting a bit of form.

The suggestion is that Cook might declare once his wicket falls.

Never saw any of yesterday's play but, another decent effort with the bat by England today. Fastest test century ever at Lords for Stokes.

NZ 16 for 3. England could get a win here.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    NZ 16 for 3. England could get a win here.

Be a nice change!

61/5
    This is getting exciting now.

3 wickets needed now.

Just finished watching the highlights of day 5, everything that is great about test match cricket was involved in those 5 days, I realise folk wont be able to comprehend a match more or less lasting 40 hours, but it was brilliant. Stokes delivery to get rid of McCullum was brilliant. Its the only sport I want to see England win at but, even if I was only a neutral that was a fantastic test match.

Oh aye, meant to say, good win for the northern hemisphere team!

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Just finished watching the highlights of day 5, everything that is great about test match cricket was involved in those 5 days, I realise folk wont be able to comprehend a match more or less lasting 40 hours, but it was brilliant. Stokes delivery to get rid of McCullum was brilliant. Its the only sport I want to see England win at but, even if I was only a neutral that was a fantastic test match.

It was a fantastic match, with so much to enjoy from both sides. This is why Test cricket always was, still is, and (I fervently hope) always will be the highest form of the game, even if it's becoming increasingly clear that the short forms of the game (even T20, I have to admit) are bringing welcome changes in technique and tactics to the top form of the sport.

Stokes' century was pure T20 (even if the bowlers did lose the place very quickly!) and a joy to see. Cook's 155 was a classic Test innings - patience, hard graft, a bit of luck here and there, and a lot of concentration and courage. Two sides of the game.

I never apologise for a Test match lasting five days - I'm just sorry for folks who don't possess the attention span to appreciate it.

Anderson takes his 400th test wicket after a rain affected first morning in the 2nd Test.

NZ currently 2-1, rain delay just now.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 29-05-2015 at 12:54 PM.

NZ now 2-2

NZ now 2-2

Would a 2-2 draw be a fair result?

You'll upset Doddie with questions like that. :-)

NZ now 340-9

NZ 350 All Out

Good to see England have started well. Nice ground is Headingley these days watched a bit of cricket there last year.

Yorkshire Yorkshire Yorkshire.
    Cougars!!!

You'll upset Doddie with questions like that. :-)

Scores tied after the 1st innings for only the 8th time in test match history.

NZ 16-1 in the 2nd innings.

England getting pumped in today's 1st session - 64-4.

@hibs.net private member derekHFC's Avatar
    England getting pumped in today's 1st session - 64-4.
    Keeping up to date with it on BBC Sport.

Some cracking comments in the match report which do make me chuckle
    Someone once told me that hard work wouldn't kill me.

I thought: "Hell, why take the chance"!