Scotland v Qatar at Easter Road June 5th

As it says on the tin. Nice wee money spinner?

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish...6&newsID=14586
    Last edited by CB_NO3; 09-04-2015 at 04:27 PM.

Why are we even playing Qatar?

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Why are we even playing Qatar?
    Surely it will be far too hot in June?

It's so that Qatar can get to find out what it's like playing in the winter.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Apparently because of this game we cannot make pot 2 for World Cup qualification.

By not playing the game and beating Ireland, we were pretty much guaranteed pot 2.

Not sure who makes these decisions, surely employing somebody to analyse rankings and set up opposition that set the team and gives us a good chance of getting into higher qualifying pots is a must.

Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post
    Apparently because of this game we cannot make pot 2 for World Cup qualification.

By not playing the game and beating Ireland, we were pretty much guaranteed pot 2.

Not sure who makes these decisions, surely employing somebody to analyse rankings and set up opposition that set the team and gives us a good chance of getting into higher qualifying pots is a must.

If that's true somebody needs sacked. Unless of course my theory that the SFA are sucking up to the Qataris to try and get an off the shelf replacement for Hampdump after the Qatar world cup is true. You heard it here first.

In the meantime Hibs as hosts should take the opportunity to kiss a few desert bums ourselves ... there's oceans of cash to be had

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Just done some reading.

Sounds like we will get into pot 2, providing we win both games. Doable.

@We_Global: @ScotlandStewart @ScottishFA just did some calcs. Scotland still controls own destiny, but not w a loss to Qatar. Must get points.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Any chance we can get a couple of the oil-shieks to sign up to our share plan.

Just get them to tick the box for £ 125k / month. They'll never miss it.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Am I not right in thinking we could have a Play-Off game in this week?!

Quote Originally Posted by California-Hibs View Post
    Most likely mate.

Vauxhall International Challenge Match sounds too crickety.

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    Any chance we can get a couple of the oil-shieks to sign up to our share plan.

Just get them to tick the box for £ 125k / month. They'll never miss it.
    we just need a couple of landowners/pig farmers from Surrey to invest. that's where all the new oil money is. a bit like the Clampits, that family of poor mountaineers . Texas Gold, and all that.

If we're in the Premiership playoff final, the second leg is away.

When are the playoff games? Think the Scotland game is the friday night so don't think they clash.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    If that's true somebody needs sacked. Unless of course my theory that the SFA are sucking up to the Qataris to try and get an off the shelf replacement for Hampdump after the Qatar world cup is true. You heard it here first.

In the meantime Hibs as hosts should take the opportunity to kiss a few desert bums ourselves ... there's oceans of cash to be had

A good opportunity got a protest against workers conditions in Qatar and FIFAs corruption....

Do the Qatari's slaves get in for half-price?

How about women, are they banned for the day or is the dress code strictly Burkas only?

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Do the Qatari's slaves get in for half-price?

How about women, are they banned for the day or is the dress code strictly Burkas only?
    If Anne Budge is going to attend, I'd insist she wore a burka.

Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    A good opportunity got a protest against workers conditions in Qatar and FIFAs corruption....
    On a serious note that's exactly what we should do

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    On a serious note Petrie better be inviting a shed load of rich Qataris as his match guests.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    On a serious note that's exactly what we should do
    Agreed! Where do we start...

Quote Originally Posted by Milkinho View Post
    On a serious note Petrie better be inviting a shed load of rich Qataris as his match guests.
    I seem to recall we played (and skelped 3-0) Canada at Easter Road...I don't recall any influx of mounties or maple syrup afterwards.

As for Petrie...have you HEARD his patter with match guests? How to win friends and influence people? Hmmm. I think not.

(Will take investment from any rich folk from anywhere all the same )

First Team Breakthrough Mathias Jack's Avatar

Gamertag: GazA1875
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Most likely mate.
    Maybe not, loan/short term contracts expire at the end of May. Play offs can't run into June for that reason...just going by what was in the press recently.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Quote Originally Posted by Mathias Jack View Post
    Maybe not, loan/short term contracts expire at the end of May. Play offs can't run into June for that reason...just going by what was in the press recently.
    If we or Falkirk get to the cup final and play off final, it will HAVE to run into June.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    I predict a record low attendance for a Scotland game.

Another blow for the footballing integrity of the SFA, I'm embarrassed that we will host them, given the human rights issues in Qatar. Does anyone on here actually want to see this game?

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

Another blow for the footballing integrity of the SFA, I'm embarrassed that we will host them, given the human rights issues in Qatar. Does anyone on here actually want to see this game?
    Good excuse for a night out uptown afterwards

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

I'll go if it is priced right as it's just up the road. Qatar has civil rights issues but so do lots of other countries Scotland play. Would you boycott if we were playing Russia, the Ukraine or Israel?
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad Martini View Post
    I seem to recall we played (and skelped 3-0) Canada at Easter Road...I don't recall any influx of mounties or maple syrup afterwards.
    True - but then this - http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/...182n.119048854 - hadn't happened a few months before that game.

First Team Breakthrough Mathias Jack's Avatar

Gamertag: GazA1875
    Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    If we or Falkirk get to the cup final and play off final, it will HAVE to run into June.
    Do you work for the SPFL/SFA and know this is 110% gospel?

If you do...i'll happily take my comments back

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/sport/fo...round-1.849496

Here's the article I was referring to....

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    [QUOTE=Bishop Hibee;4343764]I'll go if it is priced right as it's just up the road. Qatar has civil rights issues but so do lots of other countries Scotland play. Would you boycott if we were playing Russia, the Ukraine or Israel?[/

I suppose I see the game v Qatar as being linked to erse licking corruption in the game, that taints the fixture further.

Crowd of under 10,000 and probably way less. Utterly pointless fixture.

I've still not forgiven the SFA for playing Chile in 1977!