Thread: We will go up!

We will go up!

I have faith and I believe we can. I was at the game today and we should have won.

Regain our form, get behind the team to help them is much as we can.

'Can' isn't the same as will, I'm afraid.

Can Scotland win Euro 2016? YES.

Will they? NO

We have a decent run in and rangers have to play hearts twice.

More twists to come I think.

Nope - I've sadly thought this for a wee while now. Still look fragile against teams that are used to this league and used to grinding out displays. We are not as good as plaudits have made out either - if we were we'd be up near Hearts - we are miles off them.

The damage Butcher and relegation had on our club is more than folk imagine - we may have to continue in this league two more seasons and really invest in youth and lower league players.

Hibs still lack that arrogant killer instinct.

Quote Originally Posted by Sas_The_Hibby View Post
    'Can' isn't the same as will, I'm afraid.

Can Scotland win Euro 2016? YES.

Will they? NO
    I think our chances are a little bit better than Scotlands.

There is another, similarly titled thread that I think you are looking for.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    We are in with a chance that's for sure. Need to play better though. Starting next week.

Quote Originally Posted by marleyhib View Post
    I have faith and I believe we can. I was at the game today and we should have won.

Good sentiments ,but blind Faith is not something that you can rely on when it comes to Hibs .We are just as likely to drop more points at some point It's now all about the play offs unless of course we go into free fall which I wouldn't expect ,but Stubbs is a rookie manager ,Cummings is still a young striker learning his trade , and we really don't have a front pairing unless Farid can change that .
    Malonga has hit a barren patch at the wrong time .

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    The reaction of the Hibs fans at final whistle told it's own story - frustration and disappointment rather than anger and abuse. We played well today, and should have converted some of the many opportunities that we carved out over the 90 minutes.
    We still have a lot to look forward to this season alright.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    The reaction of the Hibs fans at final whistle told it's own story - frustration and disappointment rather than anger and abuse. We played well today, and should have converted some of the many opportunities that we carved out over the 90 minutes.
    Aye but the ones who were nowhere near Stark's Park, are telling us we bottled it and won't go up....Why do some even bother
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Positive thoughts are more likely to lead to success than negativity and misplaced criticism.

And that really is a FACT.

Quote Originally Posted by marleyhib View Post

It was a massive ask at the start of the season and is still a massive ask now, so we've had a wobble most teams do, we are still well capable of being promoted. Here's hoping we do it.

Given the shambles inherited by Stubbs and the resultant poor start to the season, the aim was always a play-off place and we have that. Looking at remaining fixtures, it could go down to the last day between us and Sevco. No matter how that pans out, the play-offs are going to be difficult, not least because they are weighted in favour of the SPL team. But, I repeat, given the disaster of last year, being part of this end of season lottery was all we could hope for - and we've done that. So there's no need for all the sudden greeting - we are where we were aiming to be. Let the lottery commence...

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Positive thoughts are more likely to lead to success than negativity and misplaced criticism.

And that really is a FACT.
    Scientific fact

Mind you is there any other kind :-)

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Aye but the ones who were nowhere near Stark's Park, are telling us we bottled it and won't go up....Why do some even bother

I thought we were superb today, we were massively unlucky not to score a lot more and Raith took advantage of us pressing for a winner. That result happens to hundreds of teams in hundreds of leagues all over the world every week. However, we're still soft at the back at key moments and we need to make better decisions all over the park, that's what's costing us and I'm in no way overly worried about the playoffs yet.

No we won't.

And neither will the Huns.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Exile View Post
    I thought we were superb today, we were massively unlucky not to score a lot more and Raith took advantage of us pressing for a winner. That result happens to hundreds of teams in hundreds of leagues all over the world every week. However, we're still soft at the back at key moments and we need to make better decisions all over the park, that's what's costing us and I'm in no way overly worried about the playoffs yet.
    Sensible post. If we'd won that by 2 or 3, we'd all be sitting here happy tonight. We didn't, but it's the best we've played in a while, so we need a win quickly to get us back on track

I'm still hopeful of going up but we certainly don't make things easy for ourselves. We've only won two games now from the ten we've played so far against Queen of the South, Falkirk and Raith Rovers.

That really isn't good enough, unfortunately.

Even if we finish 2nd, if we face the Huns in the play-offs, there's no danger we'd beat them over 2 legs - that would require bottle, determination, passion etc. We merely have 'Good-professionals' who come in to work and very little else.

Quote Originally Posted by Deansy View Post
    Even if we finish 2nd, if we face the Huns in the play-offs, there's no danger we'd beat them over 2 legs - that would require bottle, determination, passion etc. We merely have 'Good-professionals' who come in to work and very little else.
    That's the spirit...

First Team Breakthrough Derek Dougan's Avatar
    Are you hoping Stubbs prints your quote out, and pins it up in the dressing??

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    ce
    You're fishing or would you really have said that even a fortnight ago?

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    This time last week we were 15 games unbeaten. Not bad for a team with no bottle, determination or passion.

Exactly

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Having looked at the remaining fixtures for us compared to the rangers I'm pretty confident we'll finish 2nd.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post

Correct, too many powering up the pc and laptops at 3pm instead of taking thier seats at the game. The same will complain if we get to the final and can't get a ticket. This applies to the folk that can go but don't bother.

I think I might start a thread 'We Might Go Up'.

It will be more accurate than either of the other 2.

I think I might start a thread 'We Might Go Up'.

It will be more accurate than either of the other 2.
    I think I'll start one titled "Mibbes aye, mibbes naw".

That would be more accurate than any of the three you refer to.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Correct, too many powering up the pc and laptops at 3pm instead of taking thier seats at the game. The same will complain if we get to the final and can't get a ticket. This applies to the folk that can go but don't bother.
    Well said