Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Golf 2015

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Off to The Kittiocks at Fairmont St Andrews today.
    Tough old day. 12 through to 17 were as tough a run as I've played in that wind. I had 7 doubles all in throughout the round and was sitting 7th when I left!!!!! A 340 yard wind assisted drive at the last eased the pain. No a bad dig for an auld boy. 😄

I have a forces competition on the two Kinross courses,, has anyone played them!?

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Yes have played them both, they are fine.

Buy yourself course planners and pay attention to them, there are a few sneaky bits of trouble not visible to the naked eye.

Good luck

A we £50 voucher from Uphalls Cameron Bowll on Sunday despite 3 putting five times!!!!!!!! Pleasing.😎⛳️

I have been playing pretty regularly since taking the game up again last year. So much so i have bought a new driver and 5 wood.

I bought the Ping G30 range, and what a difference they have made to my game. I'm getting 30-40 yards further with the driver, and the 5 wood is the best club i have ever owned.

Off the fairways the 5 wood is so easy to hit, and goes miles further than my previous one. Handicap has come down from 21 to 16 in 6 months, and a couple of rounds i have had recently just with my mate, i have shot 79 and 80 on the par 72 Herons reach devere course.

Loving the golf these days.

I have been playing pretty regularly since taking the game up again last year. So much so i have bought a new driver and 5 wood.

I bought the Ping G30 range, and what a difference they have made to my game. I'm getting 30-40 yards further with the driver, and the 5 wood is the best club i have ever owned.

Off the fairways the 5 wood is so easy to hit, and goes miles further than my previous one. Handicap has come down from 21 to 16 in 6 months, and a couple of rounds i have had recently just with my mate, i have shot 79 and 80 on the par 72 Herons reach devere course.

Loving the golf these days.

Good to hear mate... I think I might treat myself to one of those 5 woods as I need to fill the gap between my 5 iron and 3 wood

Quote Originally Posted by liamh2202 View Post
    Good to hear mate... I think I might treat myself to one of those 5 woods as I need to fill the gap between my 5 iron and 3 wood

Scored 39 points today, that's so consistent for me. 39 39 37 38 and 39 my last 5 posted scores in the seniors comps.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Roll on winter!

Absolutely brutal conditions today. Gale force winds and driving rain made respectable scoring absolutely impossible. Having said that I contributed to my own downfall when I discovered on the 16th tee that I was carrying 15 clubs. What an erse!

Scored 39 points today, that's so consistent for me. 39 39 37 38 and 39 my last 5 posted scores in the seniors comps.

That's good going mate ,, our medal got canceled today because weather was brutal.. Looking forward to the Tuesday eclectic already hopefully it clears up by then

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Roll on winter!

Absolutely brutal conditions today. Gale force winds and driving rain made respectable scoring absolutely impossible. Having said that I contributed to my own downfall when I discovered on the 16th tee that I was carrying 15 clubs. What an erse!

When I left Harburn NR was in second place in our Open.

Laughing smiley absent from phone but that IS funny!

Pmsl

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Very good

Saturday was probably the worst wind I have ever played in.

There were a couple of tee shots that were blown nearly 100 yards right by the wind.

That's good going mate ,, our medal got canceled today because weather was brutal.. Looking forward to the Tuesday eclectic already hopefully it clears up by then

Piss poor today, lot less wind but i couldn't swing a club. It was the club medal today and i shot a 78 off my 16 handicap.

No idea what i was doing differently to the last few weeks.
    Last edited by blackpoolhibs; 09-06-2015 at 06:22 AM.

Piss poor today, lot less wind but i couldn't swing a club. It was the club medal today and i shot a 78 off my 17 handicap.

Net 61????????

And you're complaining????????

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Net 61????????

And you're complaining????????

Naw, net 78.

Piss poor today, lot less wind but i couldn't swing a club. It was the club medal today and i shot a 78 off my 17 handicap.

I have written a few notes on a post it and keep it in my bag as it saves me using the first six holes figuring out what I'm doing wrong. I'm hitting it well just now so hopefully it stays that way for the club championship qualifier on Saturday

If any of you guys are Members of a James Braid designed golf course then here's a useful link. There are some great offers on green fees. Just click on the link within the link.

http://www.oldcolwyngolfclub.com/abo...ourses-2014-2/

If any of you guys are Members of a James Braid designed golf course then here's a useful link. There are some great offers on green fees. Just click on the link within the link.

http://www.oldcolwyngolfclub.com/abo...ourses-2014-2/
    Yeh my course is too .. Helensburgh golf club

Next Friday, I'm looking forward to a day's golf at Rosemount/Lansdowne which will be heavily subsidised under the auspices of the James Braid scheme. My own golf club is not in the Association but all of my playing companions courses are included. They've very generously offered to split the costs so I best let them win now.

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Championship today and tomorrow and I've been playing terribly. Saying that I had a net par on Wednesday with 2 x 7's (1 at a par 3) and 3 x 6's!!

Bought a new set of irons today, tried the Ping G30 and the G25s and was getting 5 yards longer with the 30s but more accuracy with the 25s. So the 25s it was and they are in the bag ready for Monday.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Then you're able to play turnhouse for free.

Played Helensburgh a couple of times with the reciprocal deal.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    Then you're able to play turnhouse for free.

Played Helensburgh a couple of times with the reciprocal deal.
    Yeh I'm going to play turn house at some point. Today's qualifier was a disaster so heading out again in the morning to try and sort it out

Bought a new set of irons today, tried the Ping G30 and the G25s and was getting 5 yards longer with the 30s but more accuracy with the 25s. So the 25s it was and they are in the bag ready for Monday.
    Can't go far wrong with Ping, I've got G20 woods and the G25 irons. And when you eventually decide to change there is a website called usedping.com where they'll give you a decent price.

Cheers bud.

The course is excellent and the greens are fantastic.

A minimum of 2 rounds of golf for £20. Get in there guys.

http://www.turnhousegolfclub.com/pdf...try%20Form.pdf

@hibs.net private member derekHFC's Avatar
    Playing Peebles Cardrona this weekend, any tips?
    Someone once told me that hard work wouldn't kill me.

I thought: "Hell, why take the chance"!

Quote Originally Posted by derekHFC View Post
    Playing Peebles Cardrona this weekend, any tips?
    Hit it long, hit it high and hit it straight. Elementary really!

The course is in pretty good nick right now and the greens are surprisingly quick. I find it a tough track to crack and when you look at the competition results on HDID you'll see that the CSS regularly exceeds the SSS of 74. It's very easy to take 3 putts due to the size of the greens but there are some real cracking holes and I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

PS If you're playing more than 1 round then you should consider making use of a buggy as the course is not only long but also has some long walks between the holes. A mate of mine insists that its 367 yards between the eight green and the 9th tee but personally I find that hard to believe.

New clubs were good but my lengths were quite a bit out , only scored 33 points today but my accuracy in terms of going straight was much better.

Need a trip to the range to write down my distances with each club, as they are hitting much longer than my Taylormades.