Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Golf 2015

Golf 2015

Not seen a thread for this as yet so lets get it started.

Whats everyone hopes and plans for the coming year??

I am hoping to get down to a cat 1 golfer only 0.4 from it just now and to try and get out and play a bit more

I will be playing the turnhouse 7 day open again its a great week and playing the old course in 2 weeks with a couple of friends from work and might get my trip to woburn again this year.

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaz View Post

Same as it's always been - to get a hole in one, only been trying for 55+ years!

I'm just back playing after a very bad ankle break in October. The swing and striking the ball is fine but walking 18 holes is a bit tiring. I don't want to rely on taking a buggy and so far I think I'll be ok. My target for the season is to hold on to my 12 handicap.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaz View Post

I am hoping to get down to a cat 1 golfer only 0.4 from it just now and to try and get out and play a bit more

I will be playing the turnhouse 7 day open again its a great week and playing the old course in 2 weeks with a couple of friends from work and might get my trip to woburn again this year.
    I was hoping to bring my handicap down by a couple like last season but after today I'm not as hopeful.

Perfect sunny day and I couldn't hit a decent approach all day.

Hopefully just a blip as I've played pretty consistently all winter.

I'll be playing the open as well Gaz. One of these days I'll qualify for the matchplay.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ACLeith View Post
    Same as it's always been - to get a hole in one, only been trying for 55+ years!
    You can have one of mine - I've been a lucky bassa 10 times - so far. Now that I've reached the "mature" stage as a golfer I suppose my aim is not to deteriorate too quickly and hold on to my current handicap of 3.5.

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    You can have one of mine - I've been a lucky bassa 10 times - so far. Now that I've reached the "mature" stage as a golfer I suppose my aim is not to deteriorate too quickly and hold on to my current handicap of 3.5.
    TEN!!! That's either greed or talent, probably more like the latter if you're 3.5

I'm currently 9.5 (OK then double figures), have hit the hole and spun out and when I was 18 I was about a foot away on the 8th at the Old Course. A good friend plays about 4 rounds a year in total and he's had one, a thinned shot that rolled through a bunker But he's a Jambo, so jammy in all his sporting life

But I'll gladly go through life without one if I am allowed to see us lift the SC - how's that for magnanimity?

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    I had to wait until I was 42 to get my first "ace", and picked a fine place to do so - Royal Aberdeen's 11th in their Amatuer Open. Next visit to golf course, I had another on my home course of Peebles' 7th! Not had yin since though
    Looking forward to our seasons official start tomorrow, a relaxed and fun fourball format in a Captain v Vice Captain shotgun start team match. Dozen Pro V 1's and new glove purchased and raring to go. Handicap 3.2 I think so realistic target is to still be playing to 3 at seasons end. With young family it could be a challenge, but if I do sneak up to 4, I might just be able to give Golden Bear a game..
    Here's to a positive 2015 on the course for all Hibs.net golfers
    Last edited by Carheenlea; 28-03-2015 at 10:34 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    I had to wait until I was 42 to get my first "ace", and picked a fine place to do so - Royal Aberdeen's 11th in their Amatuer Open. Next visit to golf course, I had another on my home course of Peebles' 7th! Not had yin since though
    Looking forward to our seasons official start tomorrow, a relaxed and fun fourball format in a Captain v Vice Captain shotgun start team match. Dozen Pro V 1's and new glove purchased and raring to go. Handicap 3.2 I think so realistic target is to still be playing to 3 at seasons end. With young family it could be a challenge, but if I do sneak up to 4, I might just be able to give Golden Bear a game..
    Here's to a positive 2015 on the course for all Hibs.net golfers
    Aye maybe, just maybe! We shall, of course, debate the aforementioned remark in the Bar tomorrow afternoon.

Well I won my first voucher of the year last week £20 for nearest the pin at the 3rd at Burntisland would love to say it was a great high floating cut into the wind, but it came right off the heel went no higher than 4 feet off the ground and ran on to about a foot😎

I've taken a sabatical from golf.My inability to get to single figures was beginning to make me a grumpy golfer, something that I hate seeing.

Play occasionally now, maybe 6 times a year and play bogey golf and enjoy it.

Only play 'decent' courses..Castle Course last week, which I really enjoyed.The greens are a wee bit silly but that aside, it's a beautiful course.

Played in a scramble today, and one of our 4 had a hole in one at the 12th hole.First time i have seen one live apart from on the telly.

I treated myself to a half hour lesson with a PGA pro today and hopefully he's managed to solve the puzzle of my current golf swing.

I'm normally quite consistent, but this season every swing seems to be a different adventure and I've been struggling to play to a standard which is even remotely close to my handicap. It transpires that radical swing surgery is not required, a few tweeks here and there, a bit more patience, and things should be on the up again.

What a bloody frustrating game this can be - but I dare say that is part of the attraction.

Managed to get 3 rounds in over the Easter Break. Hit the ball much better than expected. First 2 rounds were at Nairn Dunbar and my driving of the ball was great, was smashing it down the fairway every time. Sadly the rest of my game wasn't up to scratch but it was the first rounds I'd played in months. Shot 6 over on the second day which I was delighted with being off of 11 just now.

Bit frustrating though cos I'm back in Dundee for exam time and I probably won't get out to play again for over a month. Aim for the year is to get back down to single figures, since starting Uni the handicap has gone up and up so far. Time for a change!

Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    Managed to get 3 rounds in over the Easter Break. Hit the ball much better than expected. First 2 rounds were at Nairn Dunbar and my driving of the ball was great, was smashing it down the fairway every time. Sadly the rest of my game wasn't up to scratch but it was the first rounds I'd played in months. Shot 6 over on the second day which I was delighted with being off of 11 just now.

Bit frustrating though cos I'm back in Dundee for exam time and I probably won't get out to play again for over a month. Aim for the year is to get back down to single figures, since starting Uni the handicap has gone up and up so far. Time for a change!
    Aye the bevvy leads to shaky hands which in turn leads to many missed putts.

I'm up and running. Not great but haven't played since September so it'll take a few weeks to bash it into shape and flake off the rust.

I played in a Seniors Texas Scramble Open event at Harburn yesterday and the course was in pretty good nick for the time of year. The greens were excellent but we found them very, very difficult to read. I was reading a lot of putts as having a right to left break when in fact the wee buggers broke left to right. Needless to say we didn't win!

Hoping to get back down to 6 this season - currently 8.2 (I think). Gonna hit some balls at 6pm tonight, and just familiarising myself with my new Mizuno irons.

Played Elderslie Park, Paisley recently - greens like they'd been raked with heavy lined tining. Made me appreciate the glorious Links at Monifieth!

Wee sweepie tomorrow, and comp subs paid for 3 main singles and 2 two-ball comps made. Draws should be up tomorrow

Managed my first buffer on Sunday.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Having my first round of golf since moving down to the south of England today - If I can keep it under 100, I'll be happy
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Having my first round of golf since moving down to the south of England today - If I can keep it under 100, I'll be happy
    How did it go EL BANDITO

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    How did it go EL BANDITO
    It's a post-work hit so I'm just finishing up here and getting ready to leave

If it's under 80, I won't be replying to this thread for fear of validation

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    After leaving Kingsknowe and letting my handicap lapse I'm needing to get my handicap sorted since joining Baberton. 2 rounds down so far 92 and 90 need one more card as am heading up to Dornoch in a couple of weeks for a 3 man competition up there.

Been playing well, still the occasional holocaust of a hole normally 2 or 3 a round where im hitting 7's or 8's which is really affecting the card. Was delighted with my card at the weekend out in 40 probably my lowest ever 9 holes. Need to hit a very high final card, give myself a chance of a big handicap for going up the road!

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    After leaving Kingsknowe and letting my handicap lapse I'm needing to get my handicap sorted since joining Baberton. 2 rounds down so far 92 and 90 need one more card as am heading up to Dornoch in a couple of weeks for a 3 man competition up there.

Been playing well, still the occasional holocaust of a hole normally 2 or 3 a round where im hitting 7's or 8's which is really affecting the card. Was delighted with my card at the weekend out in 40 probably my lowest ever 9 holes. Need to hit a very high final card, give myself a chance of a big handicap for going up the road!
    The "damage" may already be done! Your handicap will be based on your best card including the Stableford adjustments ( your holocaust holes will be adjusted to 2 over par for handicap purposes )

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Telt ya

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Got my handicap back an 88 to go with my other two rotunds gave me an 18. Happy enough with that just now been very inconsistent so probably far. Heading up to Dornoch this weekend for a competition on Saturday and a hopefully get a few other rounds in when I'm up. Definitely one of my favourite courses. Golf porn for me!

First under par round of the season for me at the new club. coincided with digin out the old driver from retirement

First buffer of the season in extremely tough conditions. I'm putting like some sort of demented octopus but I'll get there one day. Well maybe.
    There was a guy at my Club had 2 holes in one in the same round last Thursday. That's some feat and some saddo had calculated the odds of this happening as being 167 million to 1. And of course the guy just had to be a yam!

Off to The Kittiocks at Fairmont St Andrews today.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Anyone looking for a golf trip this year - forget Spain, Turkey, Portugal or the likes, The North Korea Amateur Open is where you want to be heading. Whether or not you will manage to better Kim Jong il`s 11 holes in one as he stormed to a 38 under par round the course on his one and only shot at golf, it`s worth a try at least.

http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/no...retive-country