Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    I don't know about Berts but it was the Dean back in the 70s/early 80s, I haven't been down there for ages, just going on what my mate was saying.

I think am barred from the Tap for disagreeing with the bar manager about the behaviour of a workmate after a Xmas lunch a few years ago...some stuck up regulars complaining about us having the cheek to be happy and a bit noisy so we were all chucked out!

Hope you enjoyed your pint though!
    The Dean was halfway up Dean St past the Rag Doll. The bar you mention was The Raeburn. It had a public bar and a lounge bar.

Got knocked through to form Bert's.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    I used to work in Shambles, I was their first barman, it had always been barmaids up till then. Some great nights, mostly when the punters had left ;-)

First pub in Edinburgh to have Bouncers although it was more a 'fashion' statement than a need.

The Canny Man was the first pub in Edinburgh to have go-go dancers, in a cage at the end of the bar, although that was before my time.
    Shambles was great. Lots of nooks and crannies. Did it not have a juke box?

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    The Dean was halfway up Dean St past the Rag Doll. The bar you mention was The Raeburn. It had a public bar and a lounge bar.

Got knocked through to form Bert's.
    Yeah I know, see my other posts.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    We should go to this canny man mob handed and order booze, if they refuse to serve us just stand there and say fine but try shifting 30 guys out your pub who have done nothing wrong.

Shambles was great. Lots of nooks and crannies. Did it not have a juke box?
    Yes it had a really good juke box although maybe a bit heavy on Bob Dylan, the manager was a big fan.
    Space to let

It's always been an odd place. Normal people struggle to finish a pint in there.
    I first went there about 30 years ago and it was fine. We went to see a band, Mr Rythme, playing - a good night and a good gig.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    We should go to this canny man mob handed and order booze, if they refuse to serve us just stand there and say fine but try shifting 30 guys out your pub who have done nothing wrong.
    Haha great idea 👍👌

@hibs.net private member hibbymick's Avatar
    I think you will find thats when the trap door will open.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberniankb View Post
    Haha great idea 
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbymick View Post
    I think you will find thats when the trap door will open.

I say lets do it!

I'm in.

I'd love to upset the owners of that place.

I'm in.

I'd love to upset the owners of that place.

So would I and I've never even been in their pub or met them

I'll do it.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    A general rule of thumb for gauging the roughness of a pub before entering is to look at it`s roof. If it has a flat roof - best avoid.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    A general rule of thumb for gauging the roughness of a pub before entering is to look at it`s roof. If it has a flat roof - best avoid.
    Can I ask why ?

Go on then humour us.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    [QUOTE=Carheenlea;4359072]A general rule of thumb for gauging the roughness of a pub before entering is to look at it`s roof. If it has a flat roof - best avoid.[/QUOTE]

Agreed, especially if you're going out for a night on the tiles.

It because generally a flat roof signifies a pub built in the 60's or beyond and is therefore in a 'scheme' and more likely to be rougher?

@hibs.net private member Stonewall's Avatar
    When they did the slum clearance in Glasgow they'd often knock down the tenements and leave the pub on the ground floor standing so you'd get a pub (with flat roof) sitting in a wasteland. The Weedgies who'd been decanted from the area to the new outlying estates which had had no pubs or amenities used to bus themselves back to their old locals.

Quote Originally Posted by Stonewall View Post
    When they did the slum clearance in Glasgow they'd often knock down the tenements and leave the pub on the ground floor standing so you'd get a pub (with flat roof) sitting in a wasteland. The Weedgies who'd been decanted from the area to the new outlying estates which had had no pubs or amenities used to bus themselves back to their old locals.
    Right. You would see streets and streets like bomb sites with a pub, a bookie and maybe a gaunt church still standing.

Dunno if its been mentioned in here but has anyone been in the Bunch O Roses???

I'd never heard of it until last night and then was told it was rough as a badgers erchie. Out of curiosity 5 of us went down to it to see what it was like.

Was pretty empty one boy was over in the corner eating a light bulb and a few regulars but nothing too scary. Its quite big though and has a pool table so would imagine it could get a bit lairy in there if busy!!

Hibs pub!

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Dunno if its been mentioned in here but has anyone been in the Bunch O Roses???

I'd never heard of it until last night and then was told it was rough as a badgers erchie. Out of curiosity 5 of us went down to it to see what it was like.

Was pretty empty one boy was over in the corner eating a light bulb and a few regulars but nothing too scary. Its quite big though and has a pool table so would imagine it could get a bit lairy in there if busy!!

Hibs pub!
    Used to live a few doors down from the bunch typical local boozer really had its moments but you would only get trouble if you where looking for it.

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    Used to live a few doors down from the bunch typical local boozer really had its moments but you would only get trouble if you where looking for it.
    Yep.

I played darts in there a few times maybe 4/5 years ago and it always seemed ok.

Sure there was trouble there if you wanted it but on the whole it just seemed a pretty standard local if you kept yourself to yourself.

Yep.

I played darts in there a few times maybe 4/5 years ago and it always seemed ok.

Sure there was trouble there if you wanted it but on the whole it just seemed a pretty standard local if you kept yourself to yourself.
    Was a busy pub in the past when Alan Pentland ran it. Love the history behind the name of the pub. In bygone days the pub was a favourite haunt for railway workers who ventured in for a sneaky pint or nip, they could only do so if no railway management were present. When the coast was clear the pub landlord would place a bunch of roses at the window to signify they were good to enter.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    I have no idea about pubs in Edinburgh these days, but there used to be a place down on The Shore in Leith called "The Happyland" ...

Round about where "The Granary" restaurant is now. Could be lively as I recall.

Has anyone ever seen the sign out outside that canny mans pub in morningside? It must list about 6 things that u can't do in the pub, no mobile phones ect

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Was a busy pub in the past when Alan Pentland ran it. Love the history behind the name of the pub. In bygone days the pub was a favourite haunt for railway workers who ventured in for a sneaky pint or nip, they could only do so if no railway management were present. When the coast was clear the pub landlord would place a bunch of roses at the window to signify they were good to enter.
    What was it called before that used to go on?

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    What was it called before that used to go on?
    Think it used to be called the Roll Inn, there was a bakery nearby, if the workers wanted a sneaky pint they had to make sure bosses weren't in drinking, if coast was clear publican would place a bag of rolls on the window to signify coast was clear 😁

The Cuiken inn - Penicuik

What do i win ?

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    The Cuiken inn - Penicuik

What do i win ?
    Been in there a couple of times with a mate from Penicuik, was okay.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Been in there a couple of times with a mate from Penicuik, was okay.
    It's actually awrite if you ken everyone...Decent wee pool table tae.