Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: "Glory Hunters"

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Like a zillion other teams.......

Here's a wee question for you though.. Do you want the hardcore 7K fans ONLY at Hampden or do you want the glory hunters to attend so Stubbs get's a bigger budget for next season?

We really need to drop the uber fan pish here.

More is better but if we lose the same hunters that turn up then don't attend and turn against the team for the next X amount of years until the next semi comes along.

@hibs.net private member Simkin911's Avatar
    Watched Hibs since 1985. I've never considered any hibs fans in this era or later to be 'glory hunters'. 'Hibs' and 'glory' are hardly hand in hand terms.

The more supporters that attend on ANY occasion, the better.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Yeah it would be great, but it's not happening though and prob never will. As said before many just can't make it now because of cost plain and simple. These one off games that matter they are attending so good for them.

Take out these people can't make it due to cost which is fair enough. What about the other 3-4k a week that can go but just don't?

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Boring, the ones who don't like being chivvied, start to name others uber fans.....Tedious

You wanna answer the first part of my post instead if ignoring it ?

Nope, have no intention of answering your question.....
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Take out these people can't make it due to cost which is fair enough. What about the other 3-4k a week that can go but just don't?
    Fed up of not getting value for money? So deciding to choose the games they want? I've no idea!

As I say in an ideal world they would come back but until they do I'm just glad they are coming to back the team in big games.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Fed up of not getting value for money? So deciding to choose the games they want? I've no idea!

As I say in an ideal world they would come back but until they do I'm just glad they are coming to back the team in big games.

I think their expectations are too high. Expecting instant success from managers and players.

I'm not disagreeing with that. As I personally think Stubbs is doing fantastic and he needs about 3 seasons to have a good solid team that plays good football and win most games no matter what league. I think he's more than capable of achieving this as well.

But as you just said, some maybe want it now so what can you do?

Nope, have no intention of answering your question.....

Dearie , Dearie me..Grow up.

Away and raffle......

Right guys ...put the claws away ...

Childish I know but it saddens me a wee bit when I realise that Hibs support is just like any other.

Like other sets of fans we seem to have people who see themselves as some sort of first amongst equals. They think they have a right to question how and when other Hibs fans support our club.

Tiresome.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by My Wife Camille View Post
    It's not the fact that they all show up for the semi finals and finals that annoy me, it's the fact that they are never anywhere else to be seen during the rest of the year.

There were 9,498 fans show up for the last home game against Falkirk this season and (based on the 2013 semi final) there will be over 20,000 making their way through to Glasgow for the Semi Final and over 10,000 of them wont be seen again until another final or semi comes along.

Like I said, i have no problem with the glory hunters/part timers coming along to these games for a day out but I also have zero sympathy for those who never make the effort any other time of year who are unable to get a ticket.
    Just had a strange thought, if we win the Scottish Cup this season ST ticket sales could slump for next season, won the cup, no need to go back anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by EskbankHibby View Post
    This glory hunter/part timer chat is something I find incredibly tiresome.

If you got to games great. If you can't go to games fair enough. If you used to go to games loads and now go occasional games - including big games - absolutely fine. If you want to leave after 5, 10, 45, 75, 86 minutes (win, lose or draw) that's your choice.

this, all of it

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Just had a strange thought, if we win the Scottish Cup this season ST ticket sales could slump for next season, won the cup, no need to go back anymore.
    Hahaha it would remove the whole raison d'etre from the club.

Fwiw I would have been one of the indignant anti glory hunters 5/6 years ago,but since having kids I have to pick and choose not only my games, but how I spend my weekends. The semi final will be my 4th game this season and I only managed 6/7 last year.

Quote Originally Posted by EskbankHibby View Post
    Childish I know but it saddens me a wee bit when I realise that Hibs support is just like any other.

Like other sets of fans we seem to have people who see themselves as some sort of first amongst equals. They think they have a right to question how and when other Hibs fans support our club.

Tiresome.
    Saddens me, that when some query why we don't have higher attendances at home, when circa 25k want tickets for Semis or Finals, then get labelled as uber fans...

Tiresome.

Saddens me, that when some query why we don't have higher attendances at home, when circa 25k want tickets for Semis or Finals, then get labelled as uber fans...

Tiresome.
    When are you selling the raffle tickets?

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    I'm not, I am keeping them all for myself, that way I am assured a prize

Quote Originally Posted by Simkin911 View Post
    Watched Hibs since 1985. I've never considered any hibs fans in this era or later to be 'glory hunters'. 'Hibs' and 'glory' are hardly hand in hand terms.

The more supporters that attend on ANY occasion, the better.

Not even the 35k that attended the league cup final? Of which 25k of them buggered off the next season!

They are on sale now. £28 gets you in this Sunday

Fortunately as an old codger the club almost pay me for buying a season ticket.

At least you go.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    So I've missed one Hibs home game in 15 years and cant make the semi due to unforeseen circumstances and I end up behind someone in the queue for whom the semi was their only game in 15 years .... dinnae think sae !
    Thanks to thousands of glory hunters , i got locked outside the 91 cup win . I had been going home and away since season 84 . Had to make do with watching the second half in some masonic weegie boozer .
    Horrible feeling hearing all the Hibs fans inside Hampden and not getting in
    I even had a hun supporting mate that was in our end . 24 years later and im still fin raging ! Did get to kiss the cup inside ER when budgie jumped up on the East,s fence .

SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    Thanks to thousands of glory hunters , i got locked outside the 91 cup win . I had been going home and away since season 84 . Had to make do with watching the second half in some masonic weegie boozer .
    Horrible feeling hearing all the Hibs fans inside Hampden and not getting in
    I even had a hun supporting mate that was in our end . 24 years later and im still fin raging ! Did get to kiss the cup inside ER when budgie jumped up on the East,s fence .

I'd blame the big wigs that made the game pay at the gate rather than slating the glory hunters.

Some fans are better than others. No question.

But the hangers on at finals are welcome as we need the support and the cash. Would be good to see more of them more often mind you, but most of these types aren't really going to think the same way about that as the regular go wgatever the circumstances ones.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Some fans are better than others. No question.

But the hangers on at finals are welcome as we need the support and the cash. Would be good to see more of them more often mind you, but most of these types aren't really going to think the same way about that as the regular go wgatever the circumstances ones.

Which is the point i'm trying to make.

Not to forget i 100% guarantee Stubbs and the team would rather have as many 'Daytrippers' as possible to roar the team on.

I attend 4-5 games a season, listen to most on the radio( when possible) and check updates on here every week.

I had had a season ticket for a couple of years under the Mowbray era.

i try and attend big games ie last year against Kilmarnock near the end of the season, the play off v hamilton.

previous year against Dunfermline when we needed a win to create a bigger gap at the bottom.

i went to the original play offs against airdrie many moons ago

i will be at the semi and the final(if we get there)

i stay in Glasgow and could probably go more often, but I choose to do other things...shopping, drinks, see family and friends.

Am I a glory hunter ? Or do I come when I think my team really need me

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    I'd blame the big wigs that made the game pay at the gate rather than slating the glory hunters.
    I blamed the police for a good few years HA .got my fair share of breaches of the peace and fines to prove it :) Im now having a go at the non Hibs fans that were at the game rather than the glory hunters ( dont think Hibs fans can be accused of being GH )

At least you go.

That's not Fair..

Being Disabled and 400 hundred odd miles away, I don't get to many games..

My Last Season ticket was the New East Opening.. .. not a good season..

Genuine Question - Do you get Loyalty Points for Club Shop / Online Purchases ..

Would love to attend the Finals.. - But - Would never like to Deprive Someone a Ticket who Deserved it more than me..

Having Supported Hibs for over 30 years.. I Have Never Once Considered myself to be a Glory Hunter..

Anyone who follows Hibs for the glory needs to re-think their strategy.