Tipping Hairdressers

I personally don't tip hairdressers and didn't think it was the done thing until I saw someone else doing it yesterday. Am I being unintentionally tight, or is it unusual to tip a hairdresser?

I get my haircut in a regular barber shop, nothing fancy. Interested in hearing people's thoughts on this.

I tip my hairdresser as l feel it is part of the service industry, along with taxi drivers and food delivery people, also tip my postie at Christmas.

I go to a great barbers in Edinburgh always tip as I get the same guy all the time,it's expensive but you get well looked after with coffees and booze and good banter.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    I've always given a tip at the barbers.... As a kid when I was allowed to go myself my mum even gave me a wee bit extra to tip the barber.

Ps just asked the other half and she tips the hairdresser as well.

*someone* is maybe just tight!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    I got a free bottle of beer to drink while he did his work when I went in last week. He's a good lad, good hairdresser, and I get some good chat. I always tip.

Quote Originally Posted by Eagle Eyed Hibs View Post
    I personally don't tip hairdressers and didn't think it was the done thing until I saw someone else doing it yesterday. Am I being unintentionally tight, or is it unusual to tip a hairdresser?

I get my haircut in a regular barber shop, nothing fancy. Interested in hearing people's thoughts on this.
    Really you have to ask? Always been the done thing my whole life.

My oldest Daughter is a stylist at a shop in Marchmont (Babu) ..has been qualified for the past couple of years ..at that she doesn't earn a great wage & is thankful for any tips she receives ..she admits she could leave & earn a better living, but she just loves her job, she loves the interaction with customers & takes great pride & satisfaction in her work ..she doesn't expect tips but is always grateful for any she does get ..

Occasionally she requires models for styling so next time someone is looking for a hair spruce up free of charge I will post on here ..

Ps ..mind tip her handsomely...

I just get a number 1 all over. Cost £8, I always give a tenner and don't take change. Don't really think of it as a tip but I suppose it is

..don't **** wi the baldys ..

Ps ..I do my own as to avoid having to give my Daughter a tip ..

@hibs.net private member PercyHibs's Avatar
    I don't understand the whole tipping barbers thing. If they're not getting a good wage someone else is making good money as it's not cheap nowadays.

We still tip the bar staff in my local in Liverpool,just say take your own when you hand over the cash and they take 20p, been like that for years, well nearly it was 10p about twenty years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by cowie1 View Post
    I don't understand the whole tipping barbers thing. If they're not getting a good wage someone else is making good money as it's not cheap nowadays.
    Aye ..the person who owns the shop/chairs ...

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post

My clippers are aulder than my bairns :
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    I don't even tip the pizza guy anymore as I order and pay for it online.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    I don't even tip the pizza guy anymore as I order and pay for it online.
    Especially when your paying £18 for a pizza these days!

I do my own as well, but I always give myself a tip.

United we stand here....

I only tip my hairdresser because she's cheaper than anywhere else and does a better job than most in the town.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I do my own as well, but I always give myself a tip.
    I never tip myself, I just cant afford to nowadays ..

I shave my own head, and always give myself a biscuit after the job is done! Wee tip never hurt anyone.

I never tip myself, I just cant afford to nowadays ..
    I know what you mean mate, I've had to half what I used to give myself

United we stand here....

Taxi drivers always get a tip from me unless I have to navigate for them.

@hibs.net private member Andy Bee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cowie1 View Post
    8 quid is around the average taking roughly 15 minutes per client, that's £32 an hour at full tilt with rent,rates, tax, wages, gas, electric, insurance, advertising, equipment and product etc, just tip the barber ya stingy bassa.

FWIW barbers/hairdressers are taxed on the understanding they receive tips unless they state they don't accept them.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I knew there was something I liked about you

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    I always tip my barber. £8 for a cut and I give him a tenner everytime. I also tipped the sky engineer a ten spot yesterday as he came out at short notice on the 2nd and was working outside in horrendous weather.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Or they think they can take you the tourist route cause they think your from out of town

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Bee View Post

FWIW barbers/hairdressers are taxed on the understanding they receive tips unless they state they don't accept them.
    Are they?

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tory Hibby View Post
    Are they?
    Yup, my better half used to do hairdressing and it was always a fight each year to get the "tips" element reduced :-/

I knew tips were taxed in the US bit didn't realise here also.

Yep.

Standard procedure. I worked in hospitality for a few years and 'officially' all gratutities had to go into a central pot and were distributed in pay quarterly after being subject to PAYE.

Generally most departments just kept a hold of them amd split them as and when people wanted them but the accounts department used to get really nippy about that.

Definitely. It's deemed as a recognition of one's ability, and as such taxable.

As PB says, employees are taxed on what is often known as a Tronc system, although that's normally for the catering industries. Self employed should declare their tips in the same way as any other income.