Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Cheap holidays

Brilliant guys, Lots of superb sites to look at which i have done! Looked at all of them and there are some bloody good deals So thanks again..Here's the bit im confused at though Obviously the likes of Sunshine holidays etc don't have travel agents ( Or certainly not near me ) So im booking via the Internet..What do i need to print off ?..Ill pay via my credit card and no doubt will get sent a confirmation email..Is it from the email i print stuff off ?.. Never done this stuff online but really can see you save £££ doing it this way.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Brilliant guys, Lots of superb sites to look at which i have done! Looked at all of them and there are some bloody good deals So thanks again..Here's the bit im confused at though Obviously the likes of Sunshine holidays etc don't have travel agents ( Or certainly not near me ) So im booking via the Internet..What do i need to print off ?..Ill pay via my credit card and no doubt will get sent a confirmation email..Is it from the email i print stuff off ?.. Never done this stuff online but really can see you save £££ doing it this way.
    You should get confirmation of flights, accommodation vouchers and transfer tickets by email. Print all these off. You'll need to check in online with the airline and print off your boarding cards at that time.

I didn't even have to print off boarding cards with Easyjet, just downloaded their app and they scanned our passes off my phone.

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    I didn't even have to print off boarding cards with Easyjet, just downloaded their app and they scanned our passes off my phone.
    Don't confuse the lad. One step at a time 😛

Quote Originally Posted by CB_NO3 View Post
    Don't confuse the lad. One step at a time 
    Exactly

Exactly

So where you off to then

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    So where you off to then

Maybe Santa Ponsa

Right, On Booking.com there are hotels in Santa Ponsa for £132!! ( That's breakfast anaw by the way ) And the feedback is very good It also says its only 30km away from Palma airport SO...I now go onto say easy jet and book flights only to Palma ?...That way when i get to Palma airport i can make my own way to the hotel as its not far away.

So is aw that right then ?

And when i receive confirmation emails from these places i print off the information..Then nearer the time i need to check in and print off boarding flight thingy..Ma right ?

Easyjet have flights from Edinburgh to Majorca (Palma) for £98 so throw in the £132 for the hotel via Booking.com and that's £200...Cannae argue with that..Plus the hotel is minutes from the Airport so no much on a taxi fair.
    Last edited by HibbyAndy; 06-01-2015 at 02:00 PM.

Santa ponsa is a fair bit from the airport Andy.

Booking.com has this hotel for £143 http://www.booking.com/searchresults...nedLpRecProp=1

Alpharooms.com has the exact same hotel for £221
    https://www.alpharooms.com/sant_jord...DeepLink=False

Eh ?

Santa ponsa is a fair bit from the airport Andy.
    The Sant Jordi is just 500 metres from Palma Aquarium and 3 km from Majorca Airport. Palma city centre is around 8 km away, and regular bus services stop nearby.

No that far away

I think you need to double check those facts, no way is Santa ponsa 3km away from Palma. I reckon it will cost you about £30 minimum in a taxi from the airport to Santa ponsa. Maybe the hotel isn't in Santa ponsa?

Just clicked your link, that hotel is in playa de Palma dafty.
    Last edited by Jay; 06-01-2015 at 02:22 PM.

I think you need to double check those facts, no way is Santa ponsa 3km away from Palma. I reckon it will cost you about £30 minimum in a taxi from the airport to Santa ponsa. Maybe the hotel isn't in Santa ponsa?

My bad Hotel sant jordi is in Majorca not Santa ponsa lol

Majorca is lovely wherever you are apart from magaluf :)

I was there in 1998 and they dinnae call it ****** for nothing

:) I don't want to know, I have teenage sons!
    Last edited by Jay; 06-01-2015 at 02:39 PM.

Last edited by Jay; 06-01-2015 at 02:40 PM.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Booking.com has this hotel for £143 http://www.booking.com/searchresults...nedLpRecProp=1

Alpharooms.com has the exact same hotel for £221
    https://www.alpharooms.com/sant_jord...DeepLink=False

Eh ?
    Always check Trip Advisor....some poor reviews http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_R...c_Islands.html

Playa De Palma is very near the airport so a transfer won't cost much - see my link earlier in the thread to ResortHoppa. You'd probably be better with Santa Ponsa though, don't think Playa De Palma is that great although near Palma if you want a bit of culture

When you're comparing prices on different websites make sure you've got the same type of room and board.
    When are you planning on going anyway?

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Always check Trip Advisor....some poor reviews http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_R...c_Islands.html

Playa De Palma is very near the airport so a transfer won't cost much - see my link earlier in the thread to ResortHoppa. You'd probably be better with Santa Ponsa though, don't think Playa De Palma is that great although near Palma if you want a bit of culture

When you're comparing prices on different websites make sure you've got the same type of room and board.
    When are you planning on going anyway?
    Almost certainly March 23rd to the 30th.

Pretty sure the 2 links i highlighted was 1 room and board was just brekkie..Odd the price quoted is mega higher than the other.

I was there in 1998 and they dinnae call it ****** for nothing
    Its ok ..he used this ...a96682_wackoff.jpg .....

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Its ok ..he used this ...a96682_wackoff.jpg .....

How did you ken

Because you ate too much of this ...a96682_****to.jpg ...couldn't get enough of this ...a96682_jussipussi.jpg ..& ended up wi this ...10892005_976054365757154_806066025598430875_n.jpg .....

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Because you ate too much of this ...a96682_****to.jpg ...couldn't get enough of this ...a96682_jussipussi.jpg ..& ended up wi this ...10892005_976054365757154_806066025598430875_n.jpg .....

No danger a'd end up with that hing at the end

I find it staggering that package holidays are in excess of £400 plus!!!!! Yet booking flights & hotels separate can save you over £200!!!

What a con eh ?

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    I find it staggering that package holidays are in excess of £400 plus!!!!! Yet booking flights & hotels separate can save you over £200!!!

What a con eh ?
    Ah ken

Mind and ask on here before ye print that stuff off Andy

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Ah ken

Mind and ask on here before ye print that stuff off Andy

How, I thought it was all straightforward ???

Right, i've just booked a hotel in Santa ponsa...Had the confirmation email so that's good.

Im now just away to go onto Easy jet and book flights from Edinburgh to Majorca and the return 7 days later for £98.

SO..What is it i need to print off once i get the email telling me my flights are booked ?.. I keep hearing this word 'Itineray' Or something like that..And surely there is a boarding pass kinda barcode i need to print off?

Ta.

Right, i've just booked a hotel in Santa ponsa...Had the confirmation email so that's good.

Im now just away to go onto Easy jet and book flights from Edinburgh to Majorca and the return 7 days later for £98.

SO..What is it i need to print off once i get the email telling me my flights are booked ?.. I keep hearing this word 'Itineray' Or something like that..And surely there is a boarding pass kinda barcode i need to print off?

Ta.
    You check in online before you go to the airport(normally you can do it 14 days before you fly) and print off the boarding passes. Don't forget to print off your return flight at the same time.

United we stand here....

With Easyjet you can download an app on your phone, it's around when you book your flights somewhere, it stores your boarding passes and you just scan that at the airport so you don't print anything, just remember your charger so you can scan your phone to get home!

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    You check in online before you go to the airport(normally you can do it 14 days before you fly) and print off the boarding passes. Don't forget to print off your return flight at the same time.
    With Easyjet you can download an app on your phone, it's around when you book your flights somewhere, it stores your boarding passes and you just scan that at the airport so you don't print anything, just remember your charger so you can scan your phone to get home!

Much appreciated thank you

Where would be the best place to get cheap flights to Tenerife in June ? Cheers