Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    A pedant writes ... etc
    Same difference when you average it out

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Which Civil War?

They'd have been 230 years too late for the English Civil War, and 9 years too late for the American one.

Maybe there was one going on in South America somewhere?
    aye, you ken yer wars Doddie. a bit like a fishmonger. he kens his fish.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    They are like pub bores.

It`s like if one club has one member of staff on the Sex Offenders Register, they will invariably have had two. Oh wait......
    Did you know they only nicked the poppy money and "rested" the Macraes Batallion Trust money in their account because they heard that a Hibby once liberated a pen out of a bookies? Big team and all that..............

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    aye, you ken yer wars Doddie. a bit like a fishmonger. he kens his fish.

Filthy liars from the beginning and never changed since.

Quote Originally Posted by Leith Mo View Post
    Filthy liars from the beginning and never changed since.

Not a ****ing chance they were in existance in 1874!

Jings, who gives a flying f***??

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Me, I like to correct the mutants when they start spouting their pish

United we stand here....

I think St Andrews and the Swifts came together in 1874 to become Heart of Midlothian.

Could be crap but there we are.

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    They really are fannies eh

Who were their real rivals between 1874 and 1888 when Celtic came along?

Where they a big team in 1874?

Did they have any special relationships in this formative year?

Who thought maroon would make a decent colour for anything?

I think we should be told.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

Quite alot to be honest.

But as your well aware by the thread title you don't have to read on...

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by oregonhibby View Post
    I think St Andrews and the Swifts came together in 1874 to become Heart of Midlothian.

Could be crap but there we are.
    No sure about the above , but they took the name Heart of Midlothian off a defunct dancing troupe .

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    No sure about the above , but they took the name Heart of Midlothian off a defunct dancing troupe .

Calum Elliot is older than I thought.

dancers and chancers combined, to become the entity that existed until last year. they somehow squirmed out of some dodgy situations, to retain the original name of homfc, unlike the glasow team in a similar situation who had to at "the" as a prefix to their original name.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    dancers and chancers combined, to become the entity that existed until last year
    That entity ceased to exist around 1905 when they went bankrupt.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    cant argue. you are probably correct. I do wish that our club Hibernian would mention the correct situation then, about their club when it comes to listing honours, existence, etc on any match programmes against them. they absolutely love to do it, when they produce a derby match programmer, about our season out of sorts. c'mon Hibernian fc. get the facts, mention it to all.

Quote Originally Posted by connerg View Post
    There was a team called St Andrews in 1874. Changed their name to Hearts in 1875.
    Did they not all get killed in the Bore (Boer) War ?

Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    They really are fannies eh

'Maroons' was a name attached to runaway slaves in North and Central America.

' "from the American Spanish word cimarrón: "feral animal, fugitive, runaway" '
    Maroons

Just thought I'd mention it.

Not sure if this is correct or not, but heard that I'n 1875 there was an articlein a paper from an inbred that mentions going to watch them I'n 1874, hence being I'n existence I'n 1874.

Quote Originally Posted by southern hibby View Post
    Not sure if this is correct or not, but heard that I'n 1875 there was an articlein a paper from an inbred that mentions going to watch them I'n 1874, hence being I'n existence I'n 1874.

I'll believe you, if you can produce a copy of the Newspaper

He probably went to watch them dance

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    I'll believe you, if you can produce a copy of the Newspaper

Copies of the Edinburgh Courant , a local newspaper of the 1800's , are available for reading at Edinburgh Room of the Central Library on George IV Bridge.

Get the copies out for 1874 and see if Heart of Midlothian get a mention in connection with football.

If they are not there, try the Courts Debtors List.

Just think, they could've been known as Hot Gossip if only they'd waited a few years.

Maybe it's the articles that appeared around their 50th anniversary. Their 1st Captain Tom Purdie (?) then claimed in articles that they dated from 1874. Or they just plucked that date from thin for some reason.

I read after a Hearts side had held Hibernian to a draw, Purdie refused to play extra time to decide the winner and took his players off. This caused a near riot and Purdie was kicked up the bum for his troubles by a spectator. A man named O'Reilly was arrested at the scene!
    Last edited by AndyM_1875; 02-12-2014 at 09:04 AM.

Hearts initially ceased to be in 1876 (http://londonhearts.com/scores/image...1876093004.htm) and then again in April 1905. they were incorporated as Heart of Midlothian Football Club in 1903 only be dissolved in 1905 with debts of £1450 and reincorporated a few weeks later as "The" Heart of Midlothian Football Club (seriously). All debts of the old company were paid in full.

Quote Originally Posted by AndyM_1875 View Post
    I read after a Hearts side had held Hibernian to a draw, Purdie refused to play extra time to decide the winner and took his players off. This caused a near riot and Purdie was kicked up the bum for his troubles by a spectator. A man named O'Reilly was arrested at the scene!
    Oh really?