Page 4 of 49 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    Ive read it smarty.... who is the backer. Not a single person named.
    The backers are the fans. This is a fan ownership proposal.

Gamertag: Vanquinho
    No chance they'll be getting any of my money until things become clearer.

Quote Originally Posted by Ee. View Post
    I'm not supporting it yet. I've yet to make my mind up.

The poster I quoted asked who the secret millionaire is. As there was absolutely no mention of a secret millionaire at any point at all within the articles, I can only assume that he has difficulty with reading and so I kindly suggested that he might benefit from some additional assistance.
    There has been constant chat of business people lined up to invest in the club..ie buy the 49%. The Q&A states that no one is lined up.

There are no financial backers at this point. (that are willing to be named) Why is that?

Have to laugh at all the people asking for unspecified clarity!

If you have any questions, go ahead and ask!

It does say that they're going to approach potential investors as well. I presume they mean business people with wads of cash.

Reading the info available I'd say there is potential here. I'm sure more information will be forthcoming in the weeks and months ahead so I'm happy to hear what is planned and make an informed decision.

I'm not saying this group is the answer or some miracle saviour but I think there is at times a bit of a tendency amongst Hibs fans, and football fans in general, to be quite resistant to change. There is going to come a time where we have to plan for life after Sir Tom and if this group aylt least gets a serious discussion going and engages in genuine dialogue with the club then it will have achieved something.

The concept of a Community Interest Company is attractive. I am greatly encouraged by this proposal.

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    Was at press conference,Lane saying a lot of this was dependant on the fans buying into this. The had businessmen in place but they won't come forward till they see what the fan uptake is.
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

Quote Originally Posted by SmithyHibee View Post
    Who are the directors that have put up the £100 each, how many directors are there currently?
    Here are the named people on the site.

http://www.buyhibs.org/about-buy-hibs/meet-the-team/

Skimmed through the site, quite professionally done and the credentials of some of the team look quite impressive however clearly states they dont have any investors lined up which IMO would be a concern.

How much money could realistically be raised doing this?

51% fans..... someone has the buy the remaining amount from Sir Tom. Can we agree that no-one is lined up to do that at the moment?

Obsessed with the Hibees
    Quote Originally Posted by SmithyHibee View Post
    Who are the directors that have put up the £100 each, how many directors are there currently?
    The BuyHibs team

Pat Stanton

Hibs fan, Hibs player, Hibs captain, Hibs manager. Mr Hibernian. It’s fair to say that Pat Stanton, chairman of BuyHibs, needs no introduction to fellow Hibs fans. A Hibernian legend, recently saluted at Easter Road to celebrate his 70th birthday, Pat believes BuyHibs can return success to Easter Road:
    “We want to be in a position where we can make a positive contribution to the long term position of our club and to be ready to buy the club when the opportunity arises. We call on Sir Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie to meet with us to find and promote a positive and sustainable change for the betterment of Hibernian and to provide Sir Tom with a clear and deserved exit from the club he has backed for many years.”

Neil Wheelan

Neil has worked in financial services for nearly 20 years and specialises in building proposals and communication plans for corporate clients. Neil’s key strengths are putting a plan in place using different medium to ensure that the message is understood by the relevant audience to achieve maximum buy in and understanding.
    A season ticket holder for over 20 years, Neil is keen to see the club focus on football and to get back to producing entertaining and winning teams. Neil was once a Hibs mascot, and the majestic Ally ‘ Benny’ Brazil was the man with the armband that day.

Paul Kane

A Hibs fans who lived the dream, making over 290 appearances in eight years as a Hibernian player. A regular at Easter Road and the founder of the Hibernian Former Player’s Association, Paul is committed to helping BuyHibs achieve positive change at Easter Road.

Dawn Robertson

Dawn Robertson is a practising lawyer, having qualified as a solicitor in Scotland in 1999. With a background in litigation, Dawn is accredited as a specialist in employment law by the Law Society of Scotland and is a partner with Scottish firm, Young and Partners Business Lawyers.
    Dawn is an almost lifelong Hibs fan, with fond memories of (briefly) getting to hold the Skol Cup after the 1991 win.

Douglas Roxburgh MBE

Douglas is now retired after a long career in local authority childcare and a social care provision manager. A foster carer for 27 years, Douglas was awarded the MBE for services to residential childcare in 2012.
    A council member and minute secretary at the Hibernian Supporters Association, Douglas is an active supporter and fundraiser for charities throughout Edinburgh and the Lothians.

Andrew Sibley

Andrew is currently a Senior Vice President, Emerging Markets for Desso, a leading global carpets and sports pitches manufacturer. As a senior executive responsible for Desso’s markets in the rising economies, Andrew has experience of developing new business and companies in regions including Eastern Europe,Russia,Middle East, Latin America, Asia and Pacific. Andrew’s career started in the financial services with First National Bank of Boston and HSBC. He has significant experience with international business and managing large corporations with innovation and creativity at their forefront.
    Married with three grown-up children – all Hibs fans – Andrew lives in North Berwick. Seeing Bobby Smith score from 35 yards against Rangers during his first game at Easter Road in the 1970s sold him on Hibs. A long term East Stand season ticket holder, Andrew couldn’t imagine watching the game from anywhere else.

Ashley Thorne

Ashley is a learning and development professional with over 10 years experience working with both national and international brands such as Gala Coral, Thistle Hotels and Hilton.
    Ashley specialises in operational and strategic support, communication, brand awareness and organisational development and has worked extensively across the UK, US and Europe and is currently the national training and development manager for a football and leisure company based in the UK.

Guess we won't know much more until Farmer names his price.

However a change of regime is needed and welcomed by me so gets my backing.

Hopefully a further meeting at a more convenient time after working hours is planned for introductions from the team, Q&A etc.
    Last edited by green&left; 11-11-2014 at 11:56 AM.

There has been constant chat of business people lined up to invest in the club..ie buy the 49%. The Q&A states that no one is lined up.

There are no financial backers at this point. (that are willing to be named) Why is that?
    My guess would be because they have only launched the campaign less than an hour ago to fans, businesses, investors and the club alike. Theres been no secret meetings or discussions going on. Everyone is being invited on at the ground floor.

I think you need to wind your neck in and stop being so condescending to people who will potentially make or break your proposal.

A little bit of coutesy goes a long way.

Quote Originally Posted by offshorehibby View Post
    Was at press conference,Lane saying a lot of this was dependant on the fans buying into this. The had businessmen in place but they won't come forward till they see what the fan uptake is.
    Bit of a chicken and egg situation that.

Gamertag: Vanquinho

People are already doing so in this very thread.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenOnions View Post
    I think the bit in bold is a little selective to say the least. We were a basket case when STF took over and the transformation of the club over the ensuing fifteen to twenty years was nothing short of remarkable. For me - this took vision and determination in spades. Also - regarding underperformance - with a couple of exceptions (late 1940s and early 70s) our league and cup achievements during STFs time are comparable with most periods in our history despite the fact that he spent a lot of time re-building the club from the ashes of 1990.

Our major problems have developed over the last seven years. I agree that change has been required - but some would argue that change has now been made in the very place that has been at the root of our problems - i.e. the decision-making role in the area of day-to-day running of the club.
    Fair enough, but this doesn't change the fact that STF has now been in charge for 20+ years. Does he have the appetite to continue indefinitely? If not, we will need to face up to the possibility of a new owner or owners.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar

Where do "Hands on Hibs" fit into this? Do they have any involvement at all?

Bit of an own goal IMO.

I think it would carry a lot more gravitas if these businessmen made themselves known at the outset. It would no doubt put some minds at ease if they did.

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    I think you need to wind your neck in and stop being so condescending to people who will potentially make or break your proposal.

A little bit of coutesy goes a long way.

I see potential in what I'm reading but a good, solid PR campaign is going to be crucial to getting it off the ground. Nippy comments and smart erse remarks are the anti thesis of that.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    As far as I'm aware, having spoken to 1 or 2 involved in BuyHibs the last couple of days, HOH are 100% not involved.

Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    The concept of a Community Interest Company is attractive. I am greatly encouraged by this proposal.
    It is interesting, but I was wondering why they chose to limit dividends to an arbitrary 10% - why not zero? I don't know if the company limited by guarantee model exists north of the border, but it has the merit of not allowing a dividend to be distributed among shareholders - ensuring 100% of income is kept within the company.

51% fans..... someone has the buy the remaining amount from Sir Tom. Can we agree that no-one is lined up to do that at the moment?
    Not according to their proposals.

"BuyHibs propose a new ownership model with three key elements:

Sir Tom Farmer to retain a 26% interest as a golden share

BuyHibs – with the backing of Hibs supporters – and Sir Tom Farmer to own a majority (ie over 50%) of Hibs

Allow investors to make an investment and bring their own expertise and experience to the board of Hibernian Football Club

The final percentages owned by both BuyHibs and additional investors are unknown – they’d be dependent on both interest from investors and the backing Hibs fans give BuyHibs.

BuyHibs is not advocating 100% fan ownership of Hibernian Football Club and we are not attempting to “force” Sir Tom Farmer out of the club.

If Sir Tom Farmer did want to give up all interest in Hibs, BuyHibs would be open to purchasing his remaining shares in the future.

We believe that a model of 51% fan ownership and 49% business ownership – what’s often known as the “German model” – is the most attractive method of fan ownership for Hibs.

But BuyHibs aims to be a pragmatic organisation with final percentages based on what works in practice rather than what is said to work in theory."

Took this line from the site which seems to contradict the comment about businessmen already being in place.

"Our ownership model also includes space for additional investors. We don’t have investors in place but we will be launching discussions with various parties immediately".

As they are yet to have discussions with the club about said proposal it's not for me at the moment.

If they do come to some sort of agreement with the club I will be much more interested, but of course be keeping a close eye on it all to see what answers BuyHibs to people's questions.

**** it, popularity is well overrated and for the vein. I couldnae gie a **** about either

OK, so lets be clear on some things:

1) Hearts "done this" (they didnt, but lets suppose they did similar) because they HAD to...if they didnt have whip rounds/bake-a-thons/whateverthe**** they done, they would have GONE BUST....we're not. And we wont. Big difference.

2) This model mentions buying all the assets; the club, the stadium, east mains. No big headline about buying the DEBT...by the way, that's a wee brucie bonus you get for **** all when you aquire in the manner suggested.

3) The hunt is on to find a) Financially savvy, responsible, willing and sympathetic "businesses" to assist here. Personally, I canny see any nor have any been lining up for the last five years/ten years.

4) What happens if 1/6th, 1/5th, 1/4 or more of the fan base loses their job? Mortgage or keeping Hibs afloat by donations? Serious question - do we think the players will accept no wages or bills dont get paid? Not being wide, being 100% serious. This donation-a-thon we ripped the yams for was ripped for a reason. Its risky...

I am more than ALL for the fans, folks like us "owning" the club. However, I'm ever more for the club being secure and I'd rather we slowly built ourselves back up (which we will end up paying for as the fans always do, directly via tickets, season tickets and merchandise) and we see how the new incumbents go, than we recklessly go for fan ownership with many questions.

NOW, that's all oot the windae if a rich Hibs supporting millionaire comes along with money to burn on the transfer market and such like. THEN, I say show me the money and we get 1000% behind it...til then, security and substance is the order of the day.

And as I said, popularity is well overrated

END(OF)

"BuyHibs – with the backing of Hibs supporters – and Sir Tom Farmer to own a majority (ie over 50%) of Hibs"

Again - someone has to buy the other 49%. Im not against change but the fact remains that without a large investor its not realistic.

Or if you are reading it differently the 49% - the 26% golden share they are leaving with Sir Tom?

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Not at all mate.

Quote Originally Posted by Bad Martini View Post
    **** it, popularity is well overrated and for the vein. I couldnae gie a **** about either

OK, so lets be clear on some things:

1) Hearts "done this" (they didnt, but lets suppose they did similar) because they HAD to...if they didnt have whip rounds/bake-a-thons/whateverthe**** they done, they would have GONE BUST....we're not. And we wont. Big difference.

2) This model mentions buying all the assets; the club, the stadium, east mains. No big headline about buying the DEBT...by the way, that's a wee brucie bonus you get for **** all when you aquire in the manner suggested.

3) The hunt is on to find a) Financially savvy, responsible, willing and sympathetic "businesses" to assist here. Personally, I canny see any nor have any been lining up for the last five years/ten years.

4) What happens if 1/6th, 1/5th, 1/4 or more of the fan base loses their job? Mortgage or keeping Hibs afloat by donations? Serious question - do we think the players will accept no wages or bills dont get paid? Not being wide, being 100% serious. This donation-a-thon we ripped the yams for was ripped for a reason. Its risky...

I am more than ALL for the fans, folks like us "owning" the club. However, I'm ever more for the club being secure and I'd rather we slowly built ourselves back up (which we will end up paying for as the fans always do, directly via tickets, season tickets and merchandise) and we see how the new incumbents go, than we recklessly go for fan ownership with many questions.

NOW, that's all oot the windae if a rich Hibs supporting millionaire comes along with money to burn on the transfer market and such like. THEN, I say show me the money and we get 1000% behind it...til then, security and substance is the order of the day.

And as I said, popularity is well overrated

END(OF)
    Excellent summation BM

Reckon we are a bit early with this. Lets see how the guineapigs er i mean hearts fare first.