Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Cowdenbeath Rip-off

Given the attrocious supporter conditions at Cowdenbeath standing room only and out in the weather , viewing a match through mesh fencing 40 yards from the game for 18 quid !!! RIP OFF big style, what about not buying anymore tickets until they are at a more realistic price for what you are getting from the host club,in ground facilities, and that for me would be around 12 quid .... Cowdenbeath are completely taking the pi$$ !!!!
    People moan about what Hibs are charging at ER ! Look at the comfort there compared to this dump .. for 4 quid less ??

Aye, modern football is rubbish. Bring back the terracing. Erm....wait.

I thoroughly enjoyed our last trip there. Guess I'm just old fashioned.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by eastcoasthibby View Post
    Given the attrocious supporter conditions at Cowdenbeath standing room only and out in the weather , viewing a match through mesh fencing 40 yards from the game for 18 quid !!! RIP OFF big style, what about not buying anymore tickets until they are at a more realistic price for what you are getting from the host club,in ground facilities, and that for me would be around 12 quid .... Cowdenbeath are completely taking the pi$$ !!!!
    People moan about what Hibs are charging at ER ! Look at the comfort there compared to this dump .. for 4 quid less ??
    I think £18 for some old skool footy conditions is a bargain.

If you don't like it don't go.

That's made my mind up.

Predictable responses from the old skool here.

I said on the ticket info thread they've a cheek charging £18. It's good to have a chance to experience a bit of nostalgia via uncovered terracing, but admission prices should reflect that. Still, that's the going rate in modern football, and I'll be going - binoculars to see the pitch and an umbrella :-D

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I said on the ticket info thread they've a cheek charging £18. It's good to have a chance to experience a bit of nostalgia via uncovered terracing, but admission prices should reflect that. Still, that's the going rate in modern football, and I'll be going - binoculars to see the pitch and an umbrella :-D
    Come on, Cowdenbeath have to get in the cash while they can. They are a good club, and have done a lot to develop players and managers to go on to a higher level. They deserve something back.

Quote Originally Posted by Phil D. Rolls View Post
    Come on, Cowdenbeath have to get in the cash while they can. They are a good club, and have done a lot to develop players and managers to go on to a higher level. They deserve something back.
    I don't begrudge a wee club like Cowdenbeath having a bumper day of gate receipts, done get me wrong. £18 for that place is pushing their luck, though :-p
    Last edited by Hibernia&Alba; 31-10-2014 at 08:14 AM.

£18 is a bit steep but this kind of away day is the fun part of the adventure surely?! The cup game there a couple seasons ago was a good laugh and as others have said, it's no secret the ground is a dump - if that's unacceptable for you don't give them your money.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I don't begrudge a wee club like Cowdenbeath having a bumper day of gate receipts, done get me wrong. £18 for that place is pushing their luck, though :-p
    I suspect they've taken a leaf out of Hibs book - if we're daft enough to go to games, we're daft enough to pay £18.

Last time I was at Central Perk it was two pounds for two pies, a tea cake, and a cup of tea. So maybe it evens itself out.

Quote Originally Posted by F'Res Hibbie View Post
    £18 is a bit steep but this kind of away day is the fun part of the adventure surely?! The cup game there a couple seasons ago was a good laugh and as others have said, it's no secret the ground is a dump - if that's unacceptable for you don't give them your money.

I suspect they've taken a leaf out of Hibs book - if we're daft enough to go to games, we're daft enough to pay £18.

Last time I was at Central Perk it was two pounds for two pies, a tea cake, and a cup of tea. So maybe it evens itself out.

Having been to a few of their games this season its about £2 a pie now.

Im sure it was £15 a few years ago in the cup.

Quote Originally Posted by DarrenSQH View Post

That's the unacceptable face of globalisation.

Just saw on Sky sports that there pitch has been damaged

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    So first in gets the best spot?
    First in gets a spot, don't think there is any best spots though

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by eastcoasthibby View Post

We charged them £23 to get into Easter rd. That's a joke. £18, old school terraces throw in a couple of piping hot steak birdies from the snack bar and you'll enjoy your day.

Quote Originally Posted by DarrenSQH View Post

£15. That's outrageous. Was it filled wi Wagyu beef?

What has happened to it?

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    We charged them £23 to get into Easter rd. That's a joke. £18, old school terraces throw in a couple of piping hot steak birdies from the snack bar and you'll enjoy your day.
    This gets better and better!

Oops.

Fully agree with that, all the part time clubs in this league will do there best to get some extra cash in this season from the bigger clubs that have found there self in this position this season, good on them, and £18 is a decent price for this football, and as you say it's a club that has helped developed some of our youngsters over the years.

I stood at the famous hedge at Brechin a couple of weeks back and enjoyed the football and banter with the locals, they moan and curse just as much as us bad Hibs fans, but it was a great wee day out.

In what way Billy.?

Watching Sky sports just now but never seen anything.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    In what way Billy.?

Watching Sky sports just now but never seen anything.
    Just say the headline before the ad, but had to leave

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    Why is there no game this weekend?

Quote Originally Posted by GreenLake View Post
    Why is there no game this weekend?
    Scottosh Cup first round i believe,wee teams only,The rangers play Dumbarton!

LOL

Noticed on the Bounce a guy had put down he isnt going as it may rain in an open terracing looking through mesh,ages with me so he deffo wasnt at ER in the 70s then ...

Its different,its The Goth pub, its the Indian restuarant if you want Corporate,enjoy what we have,we sound like right posh kanutes ...

Cant wait, another fab away day

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    I reckon we will see a bumper Hibs support for this. On the road our numbers have been decent, and this should see added numbers heading along to back an improving Hibs team. Hopefully if the improvement continues we can see circa 12K supporting the team at Easter Road into the New Year.
    Cowdenbeath away is one of the classic away-days - gets us out our comfort zone of our Easter Road facilities and one that is all we lament in missing when we attend top flight away days in identikit soulless new grounds.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    That ground looks like a barrage of flares would improve it!

Re the possible damage to the pitch. There was a double stock car race weekend last week. This is one of the biggest of their season with championship races on Saturday night and Sunday afternoon.
    I wasn't up as I went to a wee game at Easter road on Sunday lol.
    There are huge tractor tyres to prevent the cars entering the pitch area but in a race where the drivers are really wired then these get pushed to the inside and cars do damage the pitch. Now I'm not saying this is what's happened but it's happened regularly over the years.

Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    Any news on buses heading through? Not noticed anything on here. Need 4, possibly 5 seats
    MILTON MOWBRAY are running a bus and have seats available leaving Musselburgh 12.00 and making several stops on way through city. Early start to allow some drinking time through there.

Will post full details once travel thread is open. if you're interested PM me.
    Last edited by franks; 02-11-2014 at 10:21 AM. Reason: change of time

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by franks View Post
    MILTON MOWBRAY are running a bus and have seats available leaving Musselburgh 11.00 and making several stops on way through city. Early start to allow some drinking time through there.

Will post full details once travel thread is open. if you're interested PM me.
    Thanks for that mate 👍