Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Stax View Post
    Against the Huns for Souness' 1st game, just mental in every way, Scorchio as well which seemed to add to it. Aek brilliant as well. In recent years I really enjoyed the relegation game with Dunfermline a few seasons ago. I was in section 43 with my son (9 at the time) and it was bouncing. His face was a picture, we stood the whole game and briefly it felt like the way football used to be.

Slap bang in the middle of the east terracing for souness's first game, and all his newly signed revolutionary international English superstars (somebody butcher?? and a few others), I was about 14 and had just had my first ever session, in the dalmeny I think, atmosphere was unbelievable and when the stramash kicked off, it got better, and when souness got red carded, it got better and when the second goal went in it got better, and when the final whistle went yup you guesses it .....

......... it was all over!
    Last edited by H13BYM; 23-10-2014 at 10:34 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbiesandtheBaddies View Post
    If we are including sw1necastle, then for me it's the 1-2 game in 2005. Great backing throughout Garry O, then Deano with the winner. Roseburn end went tonto
    It's funny but for all the sheight times I've endured following Hibs to Tynecastle some of my best memories are from when we have won there.

Gordon Hunter game to end the 22 games. Benches uprooted from folk jumping on them, sure it was the day they opened 2 of their bus shelters too.

Andy Dow scoring on his debut, Hibs end wene mental. Think medals equalised late on sadly.

0-3 millenium derby. I just knew we were going to hump them that night.

1-2 with Shiels and O'Connor. Hibs end described by the match commander as 'bordering on hysteria'. As good as ruled them out of the race for Europe as well.

1-2 Caldwell game. Not a huge Hibs support but we never shut up all game and the celebrations at the winner were mental.

At ER best atmosphere for me was the Wotherspoon game. Just edged AEK imo, as the last 10 minutes we helped drag the team over the line. We simply had to win that game, and we did.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Met some of chat box mafia before the game too. Great day. One of my favourite Derby's of all time.

Another one for AEK. Atmosphere was incredible that night only if Luna scored at the end.
    I feel I have to ask, what the hell is chat box mafia

PSN ID: torto7062
    1. AEK Athens
    2. Celtic Skol Cup extratime win mid 80s
    3. 6-2 DOOin of them
    4. Dnipro
    5. The return of Murdo an the boys
    At E.R after SKOL CUP win

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Leith Green View Post
    I always remember the derby when O connor scored the last minute winner, that was a mental atmosphere right the way through.. Ref attacked, fans on the pitch, fighting outside the stadium.. The game was pretty mental and the atmosphere was unreal.. Think that was 2003
    The 10-men derby (Brebner sent off, wrongly, after about 30 min). My favourite memory of that game is walking round the back of the FF stand after the game, where Lawrie Reilly was hanging out the window conducting the crowd.

AEK game is the clear winner in my time watching Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    walking round the back of the FF stand after the game, where Lawrie Reilly was hanging out the window conducting the crowd.
    Brilliant

6-2 for me. There was something in the air that night. The 6th goal is still my favourite ever hibs moment at easter road.

Simply; When we had the old East Stand or 'Terracing'

Not complaining that it's been rebuilt - and the stadium does look bonnier for it - but the atmosphere has never been the same in the games I've been to since.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Forgot about that. Never known so much singing for a game we lost.

The chants of 'Dundee, Dundee' and 'Celtic, Celtic' were totally surreal

The crowd wasn't quite THAT small. It was officially given as 4,500.
    Old memory's playing tricks on me, 3513 according to here: http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dundee_United_F.C._season_1985-86

In checking this I found references to the CCS going to Leicester v Newcastle that day, and celebrating the Hearts loss by smashing up seats!

First Team Breakthrough Moon unit's Avatar
    Attended Berlin Union game at the weekend, 20,000 fans absolutely rocking the stadium, no hint of trouble, several beers outside the stands. This in the Bundisliga 2!
    Made me realise how dead our game has become, lacking in vision, atmosphere and a complete rip off!..

The Napoli game along with Leeds, Liverpool and SL were all magical moments - I always remember the special atmosphere when Joe Baker returned to ER - white boots, an apparently "unbeatable" Aberdeen team with Bobby Clark in goal and Baker scored the winning goal- it was "only" a league game (First time I'd seen Baker play) but the atmosphere was electric when Baker came out the tunnel and the place went barmy when he scored ...

A bit of topic but the loudest cheer I've ever heard at ER was the Huns on the final game of the Season when McDonald scored for Motherwell

The night we beat Real Madrid.
    The night we beat Barcelona.
    The night we beat Napoli.
    When Joe Baker kissed the turf.

Quote Originally Posted by rosco_1982 View Post
    A bit of topic but the loudest cheer I've ever heard at ER was the Huns on the final game of the Season when McDonald scored for Motherwell
    You're joking?

Quote Originally Posted by rosco_1982 View Post
    I was at that game and all I can say is ye cannae get tae ER much mate ....

Quote Originally Posted by MehHFC View Post
    You're joking?
    He has got to be joking eh?

Quote Originally Posted by MehHFC View Post
    You're joking?
    That was my first thought too.

Not too many mentions when Boozy and especially O'Connor scored in the 'unbeatable'.

Had to buy new pants on the way home.

Hibs 6 Sporting Lisbon 1, Sept 27th 1972.

Never been another night/atmosphere like it since

Quote Originally Posted by weonlywon6-2 View Post
    The savilles were 7 minutes away from winning the league when up popped albert kidd,and we know the rest.The sense of relief in the ground was amazing,was some day and atmosphere
    So you're trying to tell me that Hearts were only seven minutes away from winning the league?

I can't believe I've not heard about this before, I'm shocked that I've never read about it on here in the past.

So who won the league instead?

Quote Originally Posted by Trig View Post
    So you're trying to tell me that Hearts were only seven minutes away from winning the league?

I can't believe I've not heard about this before, I'm shocked that I've never read about it on here in the past.

Not hearts !

First Team Regular EastCalderHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by weonlywon6-2 View Post
    Not hearts !
    yer KIDD IN

Quote Originally Posted by EastCalderHibby View Post
    yer KIDD IN
    They mita

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by One Day View Post
    I feel I have to ask, what the hell is chat box mafia

It will cost you £10 to find out.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Simply; When we had the old East Stand or 'Terracing'

Not complaining that it's been rebuilt - and the stadium does look bonnier for it - but the atmosphere has never been the same in the games I've been to since.

Ayep. There's never been any such atmosphere like the old East gave us...or we generated. Either way, I miss the old East. At least I still have my old seat (and I paid for it :green grin)

Quote Originally Posted by craigmounthibby View Post
    Weds night game v the team that used to be rangers in 1989. John Collins scored the winner in a 1-0 win. 29000 crowd and amazing bouncing in the east terracing.

Also New Years Derby in 1987. Place went so mental after Beastie scored the opening goal that I never even saw the cheats equaliser a min or so later. Game finished 2-2, but atmosphere was brilliant.
    Fantastic game in the pouring rain. The crowd was that big I never saw the goal go in! Horsed 4-0 by Dundee on the Saturday in front of a bumper crowd. Typical Hibs!

Quote Originally Posted by Trig View Post

There must be video evidence of this somewhere as well

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dangermouse View Post
    Fantastic game in the pouring rain. The crowd was that big I never saw the goal go in! Horsed 4-0 by Dundee on the Saturday in front of a bumper crowd. Typical Hibs!
    Was the 1989 2-1 a new year game that was delayed by the weather? If that the same game , then I remember the ground was rammed (29,000 my arse, add a good deal more onto that-unofficially of course. I remember the Dundee game too, 4-0 down at half time?

I was in the FF when we beat Hearts 2-1 under Alex Mcleish. They were challenging for the league whilst we were on way to relegation. 2 fantastic goals from Basher and Kevin Harper.

Quote Originally Posted by dangermouse View Post
    There must be video evidence of this somewhere as well
    You would think so. Some pictures as well would help to piece together the events of that day for me, given that I wasn't born then.

Perhaps some kind soul could do that for me.

Quote Originally Posted by EdinCapitals View Post
    Old memory's playing tricks on me, 3513 according to here: http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunde...season_1985-86

In checking this I found references to the CCS going to Leicester v Newcastle that day, and celebrating the Hearts loss by smashing up seats!

Cheers.

The missus is always on at me for exagerrating.