Page 1 of 194 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: Best tv

Hybrid View

Best tv

Right now we are getting into the dark nights what's the best tv series to watch right now ?.. I'm already on Leftovers but your only getting 1 episode a week..Im looking to power through a box set or 2 in a week

Cannae watch Game of thrones as i powered through series 1-3 whilst series 4 was half way through so need to wait on it ending.

The last ship was recommended to me?.. Breaking bad it seems everyones watching?..I've done Lost, The best by far ever programme on tv

What's everyone else getting their teeth into the now?

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    Finished watching Breaking Bad on Netflix the other week, absolutely superb and definately recommended. Currently halfway through the second season of Sons of Anarchy which im also enjoying. Currently watching the leftovers, legends and Forever on telly.

As for programmes to catch up on:

Spartacus
    The Walking Dead
    Sleepy Hollow
    Ray Donovan
    Ripper Street
    True Detective
    Hannibal
    The Following
    Penny Dreadful
    Person of Interest
    The Borgias

All highly recommended.

Quote Originally Posted by MyJo View Post
    Finished watching Breaking Bad on Netflix the other week, absolutely superb and definately recommended. Currently halfway through the second season of Sons of Anarchy which im also enjoying. Currently watching the leftovers, legends and Forever on telly.

Spartacus
    The Walking Dead
    Sleepy Hollow
    Ray Donovan
    Ripper Street
    True Detective
    Hannibal
    The Following
    Penny Dreadful
    Person of Interest
    The Borgias

All highly recommended.
    Thats a pretty good list.

I'll add

Arrow
    Boss
    Banshee
    Graceland
    The Tunnel
    The Tyrant
    Resurrection

I really like Elementary but, its a bit of an acquired taste.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 07-10-2014 at 08:56 PM.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by MyJo View Post

Spartacus
    The Walking Dead
    Sleepy Hollow
    Ray Donovan
    Ripper Street
    True Detective
    Hannibal
    The Following
    Penny Dreadful
    Person of Interest
    The Borgias

All highly recommended.

I think this is one of the best TV series I've ever seen. Hamlet meets fall of the Roman Empire on motorbikes with cowboys. However prepare yourself mentally, it gets gruesome and very dark.

Gomorrah, an Italian production is pretty decent. It's currently on Sky Atlantic and the soundtrack IMO is decent. A bit Mogwai-esque. Mogwai did the soundtrack for the French TV programme The Returned which is far better than The Leftovers.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    I think this is one of the best TV series I've ever seen. Hamlet meets fall of the Roman Empire on motorbikes with cowboys. However prepare yourself mentally, it gets gruesome and very dark.
    I totally agree with you on that, I love sons of anarchy, the 7th and final series has been mental so far

Currently watching House of Cards on Netflix and enjoying it. Just finishing the first series and would recommend so far.

Orange is the New Black

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    I didn't get into Luther first time around, but watched it all recently. Great TV.

I'm going to start on Sons of Anarchy soon.

bit different than the rest mentiond as its a 20 minute animated comedy but i'm watching Bobs Burgers. i'm three episodes into the 2nd series and it's excellent, some brilliant characters in it. Got fargo and house of cards waiting for when im wanting to watch something a bit more serious. Downloading the new sons of anarchy epsiodes as they air, been a brilliant season so far so definately recomend catching up with that.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I didn't get into Luther first time around, but watched it all recently. Great TV.

I'm going to start on Sons of Anarchy soon.
    This! Must see TV.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    My favourite series -
    Breaking Bad
    Walking Dead
    banshee
    the Blacklist
    The Following
    True Detective
    Ray Donovan
    Orange is the New Black
    Game Of Thrones

Currently enjoying -

The Strain
    Marvel agents of shield
    The Leftovers

I have been given the following recommendations which I plan to get round to eventually -

Fringe
    Gotham
    Grimm
    The Knick
    Prison Break
    scandal
    The Last Ship

Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    My favourite series -
    Breaking Bad
    Walking Dead
    banshee
    the Blacklist
    The Following
    True Detective
    Ray Donovan
    Orange is the New Black
    Game Of Thrones

Currently enjoying -

The Strain
    Marvel agents of shield
    The Leftovers

I have been given the following recommendations which I plan to get round to eventually -

Fringe
    Gotham
    Grimm
    The Knick
    Prison Break
    scandal
    The Last Ship

Defo recommend Fringe mate..... I got hooked on it. Really original with great characters and loads of twists. Great TV.....

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey09 View Post
    Defo recommend Fringe mate..... I got hooked on it. Really original with great characters and loads of twists. Great TV.....
    I Would 2nd that loved it

game of thrones
    the walking dead
    the blacklist
    arrow
    the leftovers
    boardwalk empire
    fringe
    spartacus (improves greatly after the 1st season)
    banshee
    the following
    agents of shield
    grimm
    gotham (though only seen the 2 episodes to be fair)
    lost
    hannibal

all great
    Last edited by RoslinInstHibby; 07-10-2014 at 02:23 PM. Reason: forgot a few

First Team Regular West hamBERNIAN's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    I Would 2nd that loved it

game of thrones
    the walking dead
    the blacklist
    arrow
    the leftovers
    boardwalk empire
    fringe
    spartacus (improves greatly after the 1st season)
    banshee
    the following
    agents of shield
    grimm
    gotham (though only seen the 2 episodes to be fair)
    lost
    hannibal

all great
    Show called Vikings was quality too, the wire was amazing. Dexter is a good watch . Just watching Grey's anatomy which is surprisingly good. Loved the show "heroes" might watch that again actually. Peaky blinders was decent. If I were to watch one of them it would be" the wire". So good.

Quote Originally Posted by West hamBERNIAN View Post
    Just watching Grey's anatomy which is surprisingly good.
    Who would've thought Tommy from Trainspotting would end up running a hospital in Seattle?!!

Quote Originally Posted by West hamBERNIAN View Post
    Just watching Grey's anatomy which is surprisingly good.
    Denzel Washington did an awfy good job of directing last weeks ep.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey09 View Post
    Completely forgot about Fringe, that was excellent if a little bit "out there" at times.

Im looking forward to The Flash, managed to see the pilot episode when it was leaked a few weeks back and it was good

Also thought of another series i would recommend for a boxset session. Flashforward, loved it and was gutted when it was cancelled after just the one season.
    Last edited by MyJo; 08-10-2014 at 08:19 PM.

Prison Break and Breaking Bad are the best TV series' I have ever watched. Can't pick a winner between them though.

First Team Breakthrough HibeeLR's Avatar
    Currently watching the blacklist & legends, both are very good TV shows, especially the blacklist! Series 1 was brilliant and 2 has been great so far. Also started watching Gotham, which starts on Channel five on the 13th.

Boardwalk Empire, Andy. Full first 4 seasons on box sets on your Sky box just now. Brilliant show

Loved homeland too but the wire still wins.

Just finished a young doctors note book and other stories. Was pleasantly surprised find it on Netflix on 22 mins long and 8 episodes in total, some cracking black humour .

I shouldnae be admitting to this but, aye I saw it! :-)

I've watched the rest of them too! :-o Hence the avatar.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post

Yeah...er who is she?

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post

Can't see your avatar on my phone, hopefully it's not yang. 😃 just watching the last season just now. 👍

Nah, alex's bird, Jo Wilson.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 09-10-2014 at 07:09 AM.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Prisoners of War (the Israeli show Homeland was based on) is really good. Better than Homeland though a subtitled show may not be your cup of tea!

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Prisoners of War (the Israeli show Homeland was based on) is really good. Better than Homeland though a subtitled show may not be your cup of tea!
    Was excellent, really enjoyed it. On par with homeland at least. Also "gamorrah" is a brilliant series. Subtitles Italian gangster. Nearly finished first series, still on sky Atlantic I think.

Just in case you are looking for non American shows, you could try the following:-

The Fall (series 2 due later this month)
    Hinterland
    Amber
    Broadchurch
    Borgen (subtitles)
    The Killing (subtitles)
    The Bridge (subtitles)
    Spiral (subtitles)
    Arne Dahl (subtitles)

The advantage of the subtitled shows is that you don't really know who the stars are and therefore who is not likely to die! Also, the original Scandinavian shows are always better than the American remakes.