Page 47 of 227 FirstFirst ... 3745464748495797147 ... LastLast
Results 1,381 to 1,410 of 6784

Thread: Best tv

Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    Yep it's a shame really, only a handful of the 140 odd original members of Easy company are still alive. Only realised recently that the box-set I have has a 80 min documentary with it. Extended interviews with the real people etc, going to give it a watch soon.
    Ive read the book too, and it reveals that bill guarnere from the programme got one of his tatoos in Edinburgh while up here on leave from the south coast!

Quote Originally Posted by SouthsideHarp_Bhoy View Post
    Ive read the book too, and it reveals that bill guarnere from the programme got one of his tatoos in Edinburgh while up here on leave from the south coast!
    Really, interesting wee bit of info that! Will definitely be giving that a read some time.

House of Cards (US) is excellent. I'm just at the end of S4 - got 3 episodes to go and need to watch before my mates Netflix subscription expires on Saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    On sky U.K.?
    Sky Atlantic.

@hibs.net private member Mantis Toboggan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Curb is my all time favourite comedy. Bar none. Outstanding

Always sunny didn't quite connect with me - many love it though
    Sunny is probably my all time favourite sitcom. (As my avatar probably indicates)
    It's so nihilistic and brutal but also so well written and acted. Manages to make so many sly references and points along the way.
    Curb probably second. Leon is just incredible.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Sky Atlantic.
    Cool currently on holiday thought I had read it wasn't on until later in the year in the U.K.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Has anyone watched the final season of Bloodline yet? Were we the only ones who didn't have a scooby what was going on in the second last episode? I was a bit disappointed in the ending.
    Just finished now. Yep those last two episodes were kind of strange. I was expecting some huge ingenious revelation but it never really came?

Still, I quite liked the show, and three seasons is enough for me. Some shows just go on too long.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Just finished now. Yep those last two episodes were kind of strange. I was expecting some huge ingenious revelation but it never really came?

Still, I quite liked the show, and three seasons is enough for me. Some shows just go on too long.
    Happy Hannibal is back for season 2 on Netflix. Also Animal Kingdom is ok once you get into it

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    13 reasons why is very refreshing, first thing I've watched for ages without shoot outs, drugs, car chases etc... Just a proper mainly narrative driven story.
    Watching it now and very pleasantly surprised as I thought it'd be some teenybopper nonsense.

Alas, it isn't. Set in the present day, but has a real 80s type vibe that reminds me of Donnie Darko and Stranger Things. Done 6 episodes so far and really enjoying it. Soundtrack is good too.

Started watching Preacher, bit weird so far. Anyone seen it? Is it worth sticking With?
    Been watching Animal Kingdom which has got better and better but having to wait a week for each episode is a pain!

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Started watching Preacher, bit weird so far. Anyone seen it? Is it worth sticking With?
    Been watching Animal Kingdom which has got better and better but having to wait a week for each episode is a pain!
    The books are amazing, haven't seen the tv show yet but they've changed bits apparently but kept the jist.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Watching it now and very pleasantly surprised as I thought it'd be some teenybopper nonsense.

Alas, it isn't. Set in the present day, but has a real 80s type vibe that reminds me of Donnie Darko and Stranger Things. Done 6 episodes so far and really enjoying it. Soundtrack is good too.
    We've started watching Riverdale which has a similar vibe to 13 Reasons Why, although it is perhaps slightly more teenybopperish than 13 Reasons Why.
    Last edited by overdrive; 15-07-2017 at 05:16 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    For me BOB is in a different league from anything else I've seen. Not just the quality of it or the fact it's real but as you say the way it grips you emotionally. I always have a tear in my eye at end of the last episode. Reminds me of the stories my grandad used to tell me when I was young, unfortunately when I got old enough and became fascinated by WWII it was too late to hear such stories.

Talking of the Wire, gang culture is another thing that I find interesting so that's always been one I say I'll watch but not got round to it yet.
    If you like gang related stuff and don't mind subtitles you need to seek out Gomorrah about the napoli crime families. Stunning TV.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    If you like gang related stuff and don't mind subtitles you need to seek out Gomorrah about the napoli crime families. Stunning TV.
    Correct, it's fantastic TV

Game of Thrones back, brilliant as always.

Mentioned it a few times on this thread but if you're not on board with The Leftovers yet, you should be. Season 3 is absolutely brilliant.

Anyone watched The Jinx?

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by ColinNish View Post
    Anyone watched The Jinx?
    Aye. It's really good. He's a very strange man.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Aye. It's really good. He's a very strange man.
    Recommended to me by a work colleague. Watched an episode last night and had to watch another one coz i was so intrigued. A very strange man indeed.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Mentioned it a few times on this thread but if you're not on board with The Leftovers yet, you should be. Season 3 is absolutely brilliant.
    Watch the 1st episode very odd as usual!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    I only recently started watching the latest season of Homeland. It's excellent. Got 3 episodes left to watch, but it's prob been my favourite season of Homeland.

Yeah it was a return to form.

Finally finished the Sopranos. Brilliant ending.

Really? I think its ran its course, time for them to call it a day methinks.

Monday viewing sorted for a wee while with Power back on

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Really? I think its ran its course, time for them to call it a day methinks.
    Nah, totally agree with Easty, the last series was definitely better than the last couple.

Maybe its cos they've got a woman playing POTUS, I mean whats that all about? ;-)

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Maybe its cos they've got a woman playing POTUS, I mean whats that all about? ;-)
    I think the producers probably thought it would be Hillary.
    I agree with what others have said and thought it found it's way again on the last season.

I really like homeland - yeah its far fetched, bur i found the latest series really quite gripping, and quinn's story and performance wad compelling.

Actually really liked the series set in pakistan too - in fact since brody left, its got better again.

On episode 4 of peaky blinders. Bit good this.