@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70

Is the game in danger if being called off?

It's been raining pretty much solidly for 24 hours now. Will the pitch cope?

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Thinking that myself, it could well be called off, still p!ss!ng it down, hopefully ERs drainage system is fully operational.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    I think it'll be ok. Its forecast to ease by 1pm and there should be some sunny spells mixed in with occasional light showers between 3 and 5. I'll be surprised if it's called off.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    I think it'll be ok. Its forecast to ease by 1pm and there should be some sunny spells mixed in with occasional light showers between 3 and 5. I'll be surprised if it's called off.
    What would you know you are a chemistry teacher not a meteorologist

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by leither#1 View Post
    What would you know you are a chemistry teacher not a meteorologist
    Aye but I've got a high ranking met office dude chained up in my shed.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Aye but I've got a high ranking met office dude chained up in my shed.
    No chance of being off IMO.

First Team Breakthrough Calum68's Avatar
    My son's school game going ahead despite puddles on the pitch. I'm sure ER surface is better and will cope. I certainly hope so, looking forward to seeing the team continue to play good football and secure 3pts.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    No chance of being off IMO.
    But will have an impact on game as conditions will be tricky underfoot and more likely to be mistakes .Might influenced selection ie iare these good conditions for the pace and trickery of Kennedy or not. .Is Mcgeoch available again today ?

easter road drains pretty well.Can see a few smaller Scottish matches going though so check before you stick them on your coupon.

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Pitch looks great! The electronic score boards are being connected up and there are currently two guys in the east stand drying off the seats in the front few rows with towels. Game on

Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    Pitch looks great! The electronic score boards are being connected up and there are currently two guys in the east stand drying off the seats in the front few rows with towels. Game on
    Do you mean advertising boards or have we invested in new hi tech score boards?

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Do you mean advertising boards or have we invested in new hi tech score boards?
    Lol good spot Scouse. Nah sadly we've not got any fancy new score boards. I meant advertising boards. Can you tell I had woken up a whole 30 seconds before typing that?

Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    Lol good spot Scouse. Nah sadly we've not got any fancy new score boards. I meant advertising boards. Can you tell I had woken up a whole 30 seconds before typing that?

I was thinking screens in the corners, all singing and dancing scoreboard, what a let down.

We have this thread every time it rains. Welcome to Scotland in the autumn!

In situations like this should we not have some type of cover for the pitch or is that impractical?

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I was thinking screens in the corners, all singing and dancing scoreboard, what a let down.
    Sorry for the let down. However, with our home form over the past 5 years we are maybe better to stick to one small, discrete scoreboard lol

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    easter road drains pretty.
    Particularly when we're two down with ten minutes to go.

Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    Particularly when we're two down with ten minutes to go.
    Boom boom

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    This Autumn fitba' is absolutely hopeless.

Roll on the Winter - that's when real fitba' should be played.

Dundee v Dons off - waterlogged pitch...

Not true - a daft Twitter prank
    Last edited by number9dream; 04-10-2014 at 11:16 AM.

when is our pitch inspection? rain been off for an hour or more, but the end near the ff was always a bit wet if we get heavy rain.

Was heavy overnight but been dry for a while- absolutely no chance of game being in doubt.

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    This Autumn fitba' is absolutely hopeless.

Roll on the Winter - that's when real fitba' should be played.

Nonsense. We should have played the whole season during June ,July and August , then we could spend the next 9 months at the fireside with our feet up.

First Team Breakthrough bournehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    when is our pitch inspection? rain been off for an hour or more, but the end near the ff was always a bit wet if we get heavy rain.
    That's on account of the rainwater draining doon the slope

bh

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bournehibby View Post
    That's on account of the rainwater draining doon the slope

bh
    Should never of got rid of the slope. It rarely flooded in the auld days!

Quote Originally Posted by malcolm-bogie View Post
    Should never of got rid of the slope. It rarely flooded in the auld days!
    Yep, never used to have to give it a second thought. I mind a Monday night cup game against Celtc in '97 that was awfy lucky to go ahead - was amazed it was on.