Hybrid View

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar

Should the SFA now merge with the FA for team UK?

Given the fact that we are now no longer Scotland but Britain, is this not the ideal time to merge all the UK FA's and have just one?

There has been a precedence set when Germany united and East and West just became Germany, so after the vote last night, it seems logical that Brits have won and we just have one UK team.

Quote Originally Posted by MB62 View Post
    Given the fact that we are now no longer Scotland but Britain, is this not the ideal time to merge all the UK FA's and have just one?

There has been a precedence set when Germany united and East and West just became Germany, so after the vote last night, it seems logical that Brits have won and we just have one UK team.

No we are still seperate nations, remember it's only the parliaments that merged and not the countries, a bit like the EU and all the countries involved in that.

Also E and W Germany came around after WW2 when the country was divided by the allies and Russia, the fall of communism brought the German people together again, many families suffered due to the wall in Berlin.
    Last edited by J-C; 19-09-2014 at 02:43 PM.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    No we are still seperate nations, remember it's only the parliaments that merged and not the countries, a bit like the EU and all the countries involved in that.
    The EU is not a country, the UK is. On no list of countries or sovereign states will you find Scotland, except Fifa due to a sort of 'gentleman's agreement' cobbled together.

There will be many actual countries looking at todays event and asking, with some justification, just how can there be a country that has 4 teams entered in competition especially when spaces are limited at major tournaments etc

The IOC already recognises that there should only be one GB team and it logically wouldn't be a great leap to suggest it is right that Ffa should follow suit.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    The EU is not a country, the UK is. On no list of countries or sovereign states will you find Scotland, except Fifa due to a sort of 'gentleman's agreement' cobbled together.

There will be many actual countries looking at todays event and asking, with some justification, just how can there be a country that has 4 teams entered in competition especially when spaces are limited at major tournaments etc

The IOC already recognises that there should only be one GB team and it logically wouldn't be a great leap to suggest it is right that Ffa should follow suit.
    The UK is made up of 3 Nations, Scotland and England, Wales and N Ireland is classed as a province

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Countri...United_Kingdom

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    The UK is made up of 3 Nations, Scotland and England, Wales and N Ireland is classed as a province

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Countri...United_Kingdom
    A nation can be a country or simply a territory. We all live in one country and that is the UK. Scotland is a devolved region within that country.

If you disagree with the fact our country is the UK take it up with the UN and their list of countries recognised as sovereign states.

The logic some people use to state Scotland is a country appears to be the same blurred logic that allows The Rangers to perpetuate the lie that their football team is the same club that was liquidated a few years ago.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar

The FA in UEFA and FIFA refers to Football Associations, federation and union, International and European. Have I missed the bit on last nights ballot paper about Football Association membership? Nothing has changed for football and a wee bit of eye drying needs to take place.

According to the UN, the following countries are not sovereign states and yet they all have football teams recognised by FIFA;

American Samoa
    Anguilla
    Aruba
    Bermuda
    British Virgin Islands
    Cayman Islands
    Cook Islands
    Curacao
    Faroe Islands
    Guam
    Hong Kong
    Macau
    Montserrat
    New Caledonia
    Palestine
    Puerto Rico
    Tahiti
    Taiwan
    Turks and Caicos Islands
    US Virgin Islands

When they all lose their FIFA recognition, I will accept the home nations breaking up and being replaced by one UK team.

Also E and W Germany came around after WW2 when the country was divided by the allies and Russia, the fall of communism brought the German people together again, many families suffered due to the wall in Berlin.

Scotland is not a Nation in any real sense of the word.

Have a look at your Passport, you are British.

There is no longer a justification for having a separate Scottish team as the people of Scotland rejected the right to be a Nation.

Accept it, we are a region of the UK based on the Nation that used to be called Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post

There is no longer a justification for having a separate Scottish team as the people of Scotland rejected the right to be a Nation.

Accept it, we are a region of the UK based on the Nation that used to be called Scotland.
    Agree. I wonder how many no voter scotland fans would kick up a stink if FIFA told us we had to be a GB football team, i bet they would complain then!

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post

The last time I looked on a map it said Scotland.

Someone in the office this morning suggested we call ourselves Northern Britain. No way.

I agree. Sengland! Sengland!

You need to put your petted lip away mate and get over it...

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    Get over what? The majority of people last night voted to be British, that's fine, but with that comes consequences. UEFA and FIFA have been looking at our situation for a long time and maybe this is the excuse they need. It's not as though the Scottish, Welsh or Northern Ireland football teams contribute greatly to the international game.
    Last edited by MB62; 19-09-2014 at 02:49 PM.

Get over what? The majority of people last night voted to be British, that's fine, but with that comes consequences. UEFA and FIFA have been looking at our situation for a long time and maybe this is the excuse they need. It's not as though the Scottish, Welsh or Northern Ireland football teams contribute greatly to the international game.
    People last night voted to be Scottish and British, just the same as they were yesterday and the day before. If you think you're British now then that's fine but there's nae need to drag the national team into it.

First Team Breakthrough John_the_angus_hibby's Avatar
    No they voted to remain what they were on Wed. Citizens of the United Kingdom. No change. UEFA / FIFA would not have a leg to stand on as there was no constitutional change coming directly from the vote. More devolution towards home rule would make it even less likely.

We should definitely merge the leagues. Is there any value in playing kilmarnock and ross county when we could be playing leeds and middlesboro and trebling our player budget? Keep the scottish cup but merge the leagues. Could they legally stop clubs when we are part of the same country?

@hibs.net private member whiskyhibby's Avatar
    😄

me thinks he's having a dig at your lot.

you're on a downer, stop it

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Not just that but it is being pretty insulting to Wales and Northern Ireland.

Only if we then get a share of the money that floats around English football.

Quote Originally Posted by Slenj.=] View Post
    Only if we then get a share of the money that floats around English football.
    A play off into the EPL for Scottish teams then.

Gamertag: jayjaygrant

C'mon man I was a yes man aswell but there's no need to be so bitter about it, it just seems petty and not how a hibs man should be acting.

@hibs.net private member whiskyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mcpakeisgod View Post
    C'mon man I was a yes man aswell but there's no need to be so bitter about it, it just seems petty and not how a hibs man should be acting.
    Well said

There's an incredible amount of people who were claiming to love Scotland yesterday can't wait to talk it down today. We've had folk hoping that Scotland gets shafted, folk claiming that Scotland is dead, folk claiming we're not a real country/nation any longer and a fair bit more.

Maybe they loved the idea more than the actual country?

First Team Breakthrough John_the_angus_hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    There's an incredible amount of people who were claiming to love Scotland yesterday can't wait to talk it down today. We've had folk hoping that Scotland gets shafted, folk claiming that Scotland is dead, folk claiming we're not a real country/nation any longer and a fair bit more.

Maybe they loved the idea more than the actual country?
    Well said. Scotland actually showed it had the strongest democratic spirit in Europe with this election; regardless of result. I am proud as hell of Scotland as it seriously debated with seriousness, banter, laughter and passion two differing futures. But both as Scotland. One as a totally independent state (though that does not always mean a lot for small countries in the 21st century) and the other as a Nation within a Union of Countries sharing a collaborative future with shared resources. (Putting aside the notion that the Union needs at least an upgrade).

We are not less today. In fact I am sure our referendum has shown us in a great light. What an amazing turn out. Though I was initially sceptical allowing 16+ has energized a new generation, which can only be good.

Don't talk Scotland down. I think we can walk taller today. Our Nation did not fight, shoot, hack our differences on this. We talked, laughed, argued, debated. Then voted in huge, huge numbers.

Quote Originally Posted by John_the_angus_hibby View Post
    Well said. Scotland actually showed it had the strongest democratic spirit in Europe with this election; regardless of result. I am proud as hell of Scotland as it seriously debated with seriousness, banter, laughter and passion two differing futures. But both as Scotland. One as a totally independent state (though that does not always mean a lot for small countries in the 21st century) and the other as a Nation within a Union of Countries sharing a collaborative future with shared resources. (Putting aside the notion that the Union needs at least an upgrade).

We are not less today. In fact I am sure our referendum has shown us in a great light. What an amazing turn out. Though I was initially sceptical allowing 16+ has energized a new generation, which can only be good.

Don't talk Scotland down. I think we can walk taller today. Our Nation did not fight, shoot, hack our differences on this. We talked, laughed, argued, debated. Then voted in huge, huge numbers.

Well you've highlighted the problem in your last paragraph. Millions have fought and died over the years to make their respective countries free. "Scotland" is handed it on a plate and we reject it!!! We're happy to keep taking the soup from England. Its a pure embarrassment.

We cant be 2 countries. Its either or.

Scotland is no more a country than liverpool, newcastle or any of the cities part of the Peoples Republic of Yorkshire.

I always said it would probably be a no but im surprised how sickened I am by this!

"We can still rise now and be a nation again"!!! Aye, your hole!!

Merging the teams is too far, but we should probably readopt GSTQ as our anthem rather than Flower of Scotland, which seems a bit hollow now.

Perhaps we could have a vote on it?

I'm sure there are a few yes and no stickers and badges and stuff going cheap!
    Space to let