Thread: Lost

Gamertag: sjmcg1304

Lost

I've started watching Lost again from the beginning (can't believe it's been 10 years since it first aired).

Easily one of the best series ever made, even if it does get a little silly toward the end.

So many interesting characters, relationships and as many poignant moments.

Anyone else out there a fan?
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

The best ever programme/Series iv'e watched on tv, Love it.

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Beaten by the West Wing I'm afraid. at least it didn't go off the rails at the end

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    loved the show and glad i stuck with it, remember when it finished there was a huge fuss about how it ended, i didnt see the problem myself. The last few episodes, for me, were fantastic.

Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    loved the show and glad i stuck with it, remember when it finished there was a huge fuss about how it ended, i didnt see the problem myself. The last few episodes, for me, were fantastic.
    A still dinnae get the ending

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    I've started watching Lost again from the beginning (can't believe it's been 10 years since it first aired).

Easily one of the best series ever made, even if it does get a little silly toward the end.

I've never seen it, and spookily looked it up in the "on demand" thingy at lunchtime yesterday and have watched the 1st episode!

I liked it for a bit, remember getting nightmares about the black smoke in season 2 I think it was?

Looking for a a new boxset to watch with mrs pj, I take it this is recommended?

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post

I absolutely love Lost. I doubt there will ever be another show that inspires such passionate feelings from its viewers. I remember fanatically following the podcasts and message boards, looking for clues to some of the mysteries. It was an interactive experience in many ways.

Lots of people will slate the ending or lack of answers. I would agree that the final season is hugely frustrating. Still enjoyed it though. As a series as a whole, the first 5 seasons have so many great characters, moments, episodes.....it's definitely worth watching.

The season 3 finale is probably my fave episode of any tv show ever.

If someone here does watch from the start, would love to hear their thoughts as they go...point out any wee Easter eggs you might miss out on.

Was it Kate Austen who I fell in love with I wonder? Gorgeous.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    The best ever programme/Series iv'e watched on tv, Love it.

Beats Breaking Bad , The Sopranos and Boardwalk Empire?

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Definitely
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by leither#1 View Post
    Does for me and I absolutely love Breaking Bad and The Sopranos.

watching it again on Sky Demand, one episode a night before bed. Outstanding!
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by leither#1 View Post
    For me a 100% it does yeah.

I think Lost must be a bit of a marmite show. Everyone here seems to love it, whilst I wouldn't say I hated it I didn't really like it.

Tried to watch it twice, gave up towards the end of the 1st series the 1st time and made it to the end of the 2nd series the 2nd time. The problem for me was I just didn't/couldn't care about any of the characters in the way I can with other shows. When Wallace was killed or the irony of Omar being shot by the same kid who once idolised him in The Wire I really cared about it even though I obviously knew it was fiction. The characters in Lost were just actors to me.

I'm sure plenty people will tell me I'm wrong and maybe I'm totally missing the point but it just wasn't for me.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I think Lost must be a bit of a marmite show. Everyone here seems to love it, whilst I wouldn't say I hated it I didn't really like it.

Tried to watch it twice, gave up towards the end of the 1st series the 1st time and made it to the end of the 2nd series the 2nd time. The problem for me was I just didn't/couldn't care about any of the characters in the way I can with other shows. When Wallace was killed or the irony of Omar being shot by the same kid who once idolised him in The Wire I really cared about it even though I obviously knew it was fiction. The characters in Lost were just actors to me.

I'm sure plenty people will tell me I'm wrong and maybe I'm totally missing the point but it just wasn't for me.
    Well I cried like a bairn at the end
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Nothing beats the US version of the Office apart from maybe the British version.

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Here we go just started s01 e01

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    Here we go just started s01 e01
    Ah it was so easy to follow at first... still a great series though.

Quote Originally Posted by jonty View Post
    Beaten by the West Wing I'm afraid. at least it didn't go off the rails at the end
    Agreed nothing has topped the west wing.

Lost

I still think that the Sopranos and the Wire are my favourite shows iv seen. But I guess it just depends what type of shows you like. I didn't mind Lost, but got a bit bored of it towards the end. I got the feeling the writers were running out of ideas.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Watched the whole box set 3 times.
    Wife and I first watched it when it was aired and loved it.

Still don't understand it all now though
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Trying to watch that new series from the makers of lost, The Leftovers.
    It's about a rapture event but it's a bit slow.

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Trying to watch that new series from the makers of lost, The Leftovers.
    It's about a rapture event but it's a bit slow.

Im watchin that tae J Its no bad so far.. The dugs roaming the street are a bit scary tho

I'm quite enjoying Resurrection on Watch. Awfy far fetched but, quite good. Samaire Armstrong is on it too which is a wee bonus.

Tyrant on FX shows some potential too.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 18-09-2014 at 06:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    It premiered 19 years ago tomorrow but, Murder One is well worth a watch. 2 seasons long and still one of the greatest tv series I've watched.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I'm quite enjoying Resurrection on Watch. Awfy far fetched but, quite good. Samaire Armstrong is on it too which is a wee bonus.

Tyrant on FX shows some potential too.
    We watch that too but it's kind of dragging a bit.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Also love the walking dead and boardwalk empire! Saying that the 1st episode of the new season on boardwalk really didn't work for me.

Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    Also love the walking dead and boardwalk empire! Saying that the 1st episode of the new season on boardwalk really didn't work for me.
    Struggled a bit myself with BE think this last series involves a lot of Al Capone and lucky.love to be in Cuba at that time though!

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    On the back of this thread title that's my 'free' time now taken up...just started watching the first episode on Netflix, forgot how brilliant it was, one of the best opening episodes I've ever seen of anything.
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."