Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Pat McGinlay

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Possibly the best scottish midfielder I've ever seen at hibs. If only we had a player like him now.
    Best goal scoring midfielder ive seen play for us . John Collins is the best ive seen playing in midfield (classing Sauzee as a defender )

As others have said, he was a cracking player for us. Remember being at ER for his halfway line goal.
    What is he doing these days ? Is he involved in football ?

Brilliant player, one of my favourites as a youngster.

100%er Gave everything for the team. Great player and engine

I wouldn'y pick a fight wi him either

Quote Originally Posted by CraigHibee View Post
    pat was a quality player, always gave his all and was annoyed when we sold him to the tic, was delighted when we brought him back
    Hibs had no choice. He signed for Celtic under freedom of contract with the fee being decided by the transfer tribunal.

I'll never forget his last game for Hibs (which was at Tynie). He was inconsolable at FT.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post
    As others have said, he was a cracking player for us. Remember being at ER for his halfway line goal.
    What is he doinvg these days ? Is he involved in football ?
    Nae idea but I saw him in Morningside recently,lopking fit and well"

Gteat player, great attitude.

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    After the Livi game I spoke with Alex Miller for bout 20 mins and about Hibs in general. He said McGinley was the best bet of business he ever did.
    What was Lexo doing at the Livi game?

Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    What was Lexo doing at the Livi game?
    He's there every week by all accounts. He loves watching football.

Has been looking for a coaching/managers job but says he made enough money in the Far East to keep him and his family happy.

He's there every week by all accounts. He loves watching football.

Has been looking for a coaching/managers job but says he made enough money in the Far East to keep him and his family happy.
    He was at the Stirling Albion friendly as well

Coaching Staff scott7_0(Prague)'s Avatar
    says he made enough money in the Far East to keep him and his family happy.
    I doubt very much he said that!

But as am aware he is at Easter Road a lot, with Greg since he has returned to Edinburgh.

Quote Originally Posted by scott7_0(Prague) View Post

But as am aware he is at Easter Road a lot, with Greg since he has returned to Edinburgh.
    They were both sitting beside me at Falkirk SC Semi 2013.

I doubt very much he said that! But as am aware he is at Easter Road a lot, with Greg since he has returned to Edinburgh.
    He did actually... Maybe not those exact words. Why would I lie about it or make it up??

He loves football

He did say that. He walked from ER to the high street with Aldo and myself. Said when he went out there it set them up for life. But he still isn't happy as he wants to pass on what he knows to others. He wants involved and to help clubs out with the experience he has gained.

He also watches Hearts as well and thinks they can win the league after I'd said I'd backed them at 7/2.

Thinks their squad as it stands is better and they had longer to set a plan in motion.

Dedicated guy is Miller. I've seen him at the Pure gym at Lauriston a few times.

My Late Father always said back in the 80`s - " yon Pat puts in mair of a shift for 90 minutes - than the council boys dae all week.. "

Hibs Legend.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    He also watches Hearts as well and thinks they can win the league after I'd said I'd backed them at 7/2.

Thinks their squad as it stands is better and they had longer to set a plan in motion.
    Wonder if he is doing some scouting for us

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Wonder if he is doing some scouting for us
    I asked if he's working at all for us in any capacity and he said no. But would love too.

I'd say he was being cagey TC.....I think him and Greg have been going to a few games recently.

For those doubting Alex saying the Far East set him up, it is very true - Greg was also his assistant across there. The team he managed had owners like Romanov too, in the sense they would take training and players would be on the pitch they had no knowledge of nor had they signed.......the owners had though

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    I'd say he was being cagey TC.....I think him and Greg have been going to a few games recently.

For those doubting Alex saying the Far East set him up, it is very true - Greg was also his assistant across there. The team he managed had owners like Romanov too, in the sense they would take training and players would be on the pitch they had no knowledge of nor had they signed.......the owners had though
    Yeah after being at Liverpool his stake was high. He's defo made for life. He said he spends hours watching games of football on tv. He records and watches taped games from all over he said.

Maybe he has thrown Hibs a few bones and wants to keep it on the down low.

Miller is a hugely respected coach, not so hot as a manager right enough.

If he wanted to do a bit work for Hibs and the manager felt it was useful then it would be looking a gift horse in the mouth to turn it down imo.

Miller is a hugely respected coach, not so hot as a manager right enough.

If he wanted to do a bit work for Hibs and the manager felt it was useful then it would be looking a gift horse in the mouth to turn it down imo.
    I agree mate. If he wants to offer his advice surely for a young coach like Stubbs could learn from him?

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Back to Pat he is one of my all time favourites. What we'd give for a midfielder with a goals return like that nowadays...

One of his best games I remember was against Raith at Stark's Park in November 1998 having been relegated the previous season. McLeish was manager. Pat started out playing his usual position, got moved to left back and still managed to open the scoring with a second half header - from a move, not a corner - which paved the way for a hard fought 3-1 win. He was everywhere. 13 goals that season which was 1 in 3 - a fantastic return.

Great player for us - easily in my all time 11 of Hibs players I've seen.
    Last edited by Baader; 26-08-2014 at 01:47 AM.

@hibs.net private member Auckland Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Hibs had no choice. He signed for Celtic under freedom of contract with the fee being decided by the transfer tribunal.

I'll never forget his last game for Hibs (which was at Tynie). He was inconsolable at FT.
    Great player - as stated before, we wouldn't be in our current position if he had a player like Pat now.

Heard from a relative many moons ago that he didn't fit into life at celtic park (although I'm sure he was their top scorer that season) - not sure on the specific details or reasons but his Mrs was apparently part of the issue that he ended up back at ER.

@hibs.net private member Stonewall's Avatar
    Fabulous player. More effective in his first spell when he had Brian Hamilton alongside him in midfield imo.

Quote Originally Posted by Stonewall View Post
    Fabulous player. More effective in his first spell when he had Brian Hamilton alongside him in midfield imo.
    Agree totally. Great player and surprised he didn't at least get a sniff into some full Scotland squads.

Quote Originally Posted by E10 Rifle View Post
    Agree totally. Great player and surprised he didn't at least get a sniff into some full Scotland squads.
    He was unlucky that it was a time when we had the likes of McAllister, Collins, McStay, McCall all in their prime years then around the later half of the mid 90s Lambert and Burley became big players for us