Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    What about I vow to thee my country or Jerusalem .. both cracking tunes. Kind of English middle / upper class and hijacked by the Women's institute mind.
    Abide with me would be my choice.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Abide with me would be my choice.
    Once he wrote the lyrics the Scottish Anglican at least lasted longer than your country's campaign in Brazil!

"Abide with Me" is a Christian hymn by Scottish Anglican Henry Francis Lyte, most often sung to English composer William Henry Monk's tune "Eventide."

Lyte wrote the poem in 1847 and set it to music while he lay dying from tuberculosis; he survived only a further three weeks after its completion.

Jerusalem is a great tune!

What about I vow to thee my country or Jerusalem .. both cracking tunes. Kind of English middle / upper class and hijacked by the Women's institute mind.
    Still like ELP's version from Brain Salad Surgey.

Quote Originally Posted by SanFranHibs View Post
    Once he wrote the lyrics the Scottish Anglican at least lasted longer than your country's campaign in Brazil!
    Jocks are like Jambo's.............they don't do Irony!

We do irony...

and scousers do steal.

The Italian and Welsh ones do it for me - for different reasons.

As far as a Scottish anthem goes, I've always felt the big tune from Mendelssohn's Scottish symphony would work well with appropriate words set to it - jump to around 7.40 here (the rest isn't all that tbh):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQuPWR93Nkk

Mendelssohn's Scottish Symphony?

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    The Italian and Welsh ones do it for me - for different reasons.

As far as a Scottish anthem goes, I've always felt the big tune from Mendelssohn's Scottish symphony would work well with appropriate words set to it - jump to around 7.40 here (the rest isn't all that tbh):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQuPWR93Nkk
    Might not be my choice but I am impressed by your scope. However, his mum might not be too impressed saying the rest is not up to much

Personally love Felix Mendelssohns 5th symphony but it is very 'Germanic'.

Might not be my choice but I am impressed by your scope. However, his mum might not be too impressed saying the rest is not up to much

Personally love Felix Mendelssohns 5th symphony but it is very 'Germanic'.
    Scope? Never heard it called that before, but I agree it is impressive.

In truth I like the whole of the 3rd Symphony - it's just a long way to the bit I was referring to. I've got the 5th on a CD but it didn't make much of an impression on me - must give it another listen.

It's actually just a theme song from a 60s TV show but I always thought Dark Island would make a great anthem (though it would need to be speeded up a bit ;) ).
    Last edited by Keith_M; 22-06-2014 at 02:43 PM.

Scouse, I realise you think you're being witty and ironic but...you're actually just starting to be a t*t with all this 'ooh, I hooked another one' nonsense.

Gonnae just gie it a rest?

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Scouse, I realise you think you're being witty and ironic but...you're actually just starting to be a t*t with all this 'ooh, I hooked another one' nonsense.

Use the ignore button if you don't like my posts pal! I'll continue to post on here as I see fit, if you don't like it then tough.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    GSTQ was used by all the home nations, for all sports, up until aboiut 30 years ago.

For me, FOS focuses too much on one ancient battle and I like to think that we're biiger than that. With that said, it is onhe of the most respected and envied anthems in the worlds - do a youtube search for "scottish anthem" in any language you can muster and you'll see the reactions/comments (eg. hymne écossais in French).

The biggest problem woth FOS in Scotland is that people want change for the sake of it. I'm pretty sure that if Scotland the Brave or Highland Cathedral were adopted, we'd quickly get fed up with them too (having played bagpipes for almost 40 years, I'd like to erase all 3 from the collective memory.

Scots wha hae was a common choice before FOS but is again about an old battle. Freedom Come All Ye is a fantastic song (par for the course for Hamish Henderson) but I've always preferred A man's a man - the sentiment is superb although people will always have a problem with Burns' language.

So for me there can be only one solution. No problems with learning or remembering the words and it's anything but a dirge.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BktLpmDNwt0
    I remember you talking about piping at a gig in Paris (?), which I was minded of when I saw the French piper at the D Day commemoration in Normandy. Do you get much opportunity to pipe in France, outside of the Brittany Celtic festival stuff? [apologies for thread hijack...]

On the subject of an anthem for us, FOS doesn't bother me, though it never seems to work properly in a crowd setting. Both of your suggestions are OK but, again, would they work with a crowd singing them? Most of the other options are a bit battle-y. Maybe we should just use Auld Lang Syne as a multi-purpose Scottish song; everyone (even the opposition) knows the words.

Still like ELP's version from Brain Salad Surgey.
    Lol ........ You must be an auld fart like me mate. Played that album to death when it first came out, its a bit dated nowadays mind. Geez a wee blast of Motorhead or Killswitch engage these days.

Use the ignore button if you don't like my posts pal! I'll continue to post on here as I see fit, if you don't like it then tough.

Ooh, I hooked one.

The Brazilian one has been superb. Especially when they continue singing after the music has stopped.

Because we're proud to be British and we don't have our own one to sing.
    What's wrong with adopting The Archers Theme...

Dum dee dum, dee dum dee dum.

Hearing the Russia national anthem reminds me of the big Russian fellae in Rocky 4

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Hearing the Russia national anthem reminds me of the big Russian fellae in Rocky 4

You mean the Swedish Actor, Dolph Lundgren?

What about nae tune at all?!!

its fitbaw. Not Euro song contest!

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Ivan Drago of course..

download.jpg

You mean the Swedish Actor, Dolph Lundgren?

Quote Originally Posted by EdinMike View Post
    Ivan Drago of course..

download.jpg

That's the fellae , ' I cannot be defeated..If he dies he dies'

Ooh, I hooked one.

@hibs.net private member Galahibby's Avatar
    France, Germany, Russia, USA, not in any particular order. For me, they're all 'proper' anthems.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Totally agree about Highland Cathedral, but my favourites are Wales, South Africa and Spain in that order.

Highland Cathedral was written by a German tourist after a fleeting visit to the Royal Burgh of Dornoch which has a badly-restored medieval church that masquerades as a cathedral.

It's a dreadful dirge that gets played over and over every wedding and funeral service where the family can afford to employ a piper.

(Or even someone who just THINKS he's a piper.)

As far as pipe tunes go, it's about the level of a Eurovision Song Contest entry - cheap, repetitive, and nasty, but with just enough melody to stick in your head and drive you mental for days after you've been unfortunate enough to hear it.

Its only virtue is that even Irish pipers with ten thumbs can play it reasonably accurately.

"Caber Feidh" or "The Black Bear", and get stuck in wi' the cold steel, boys!

Why don't you just ignore my posts then

Witty and ironic?

His posting which he seemed to think 'hooked' someone consisted solely of 'Abide with me would be my first choice'. I find it to be neither witty nor ironic nor likely to catch a fish of any size.

I doubt VERY much he knew the composer of the lyrics and even less likely that it was a subtle contribution to the Vote No campaign.

And his next posting title....Jocks are like Jambos defies logic. Perhaps just another example of what passes for wit or irony in scouse land.

His posts are tedious....except...oh hold on... I've just got it. it's hilarious. Jocks are like Jambos.... Brilliant. LOL. I've got one...Johns are like scousers !

His posting which he seemed to think 'hooked' someone consisted solely of 'Abide with me would be my first choice'. I find it to be neither witty nor ironic nor likely to catch a fish of any size.

I doubt VERY much he knew the composer of the lyrics and even less likely that it was a subtle contribution to the Vote No campaign.

And his next posting title....Jocks are like Jambos defies logic. Perhaps just another example of what passes for wit or irony in scouse land.

His posts are tedious....except...oh hold on... I've just got it. it's hilarious. Jocks are like Jambos.... Brilliant. LOL. I've got one...Johns are like scousers !

The post police strike again, get a grip and dry yer eyes ya moaning faced git.

LOl

Lol ........ You must be an auld fart like me mate. Played that album to death when it first came out, its a bit dated nowadays mind. Geez a wee blast of Motorhead or Killswitch engage these days.
    You mean it's an old album? I thought it was a new release. Honestly only heard it for the first time quite recently

Never heard of Killswitch.

i am going to show my age but King Crimson' Epitaph was my anthem in final year at Uni. It somehow reminds of Hibs supporters....

Confusion will be my epitaph.
    As I crawl a cracked and broken path.
    If we make it we can all sit back and laugh.
    But I fear tomorrow I'll be crying,
    Yes I fear tomorrow I'll be crying.

I like the Spanish National Anthem. Easy to remember the words.
    Last edited by Turkish Green; 22-06-2014 at 06:02 PM.

Moaning?

The post police strike again, get a grip and dry yer eyes ya moaning faced git.
    I do not see any moaning in my posting. I certainly am not complaining that you display neither wit nor irony. I was just making a statement.

Post police? Moaning face git? And you usual signoff smiley. Great stuff.

You know, Grade A might be good in exams and probably good in eggs.....but in being a pr**k it's not so good *

* said with a smile on my face and definitely no tears in my eyes.