Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    Can't choose between French, Irish and South African. Flower of Scotland is a great folk song but was never written as an anthem but then we're not a proper country.
    depending on the vote later this year Scotland might end up a proper country & might be stuck with it however if its a no vote the surely it'l have to change

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bod View Post
    depending on the vote later this year Scotland might end up a proper country & might be stuck with it however if its a no vote the surely it'l have to change
    Not necessarily, we are being promised the Best of Both Worlds.

The Spanish anthem. Good stiiring tune and no words to learn.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    Not necessarily, we are being promised the Best of Both Worlds.
    how can folk sing "we can still rise now & be a nation again " anyway that's a different topic
    back on track I think the French anthems rousing

Out of the WC teams Algeria's is my favourite. I would change Scotland's to Highland Cathedral.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I'd agree. I can't bear anthems which put down other nations.

Which anthem puts down other nations?

Do you mean Flower of Scotland?

French and Italian. Both timeless masterpieces!

FOS is crap, but so too are many other national anthems.

There are far more crap ones than decent ones!

As for GSTQ???
    OUCH!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia Na Eir View Post
    French and Italian. Both timeless masterpieces!

FOS is crap, but so too are many other national anthems.

There are far more crap ones than decent ones!

As for GSTQ???
    OUCH!
    I'm disappointed I expected a reference to Saxons from you!

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I'm disappointed I expected a reference to Saxons from you!
    Haha glad yer keeping tabs ma man :-)

It's not a BAD reference really!

Quote Originally Posted by Vini1875 View Post
    Soldiers Song
    La Marseillaise

If FoS is a Dirge, that song is a Dirge on Steroids.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Uruguay. Definitely.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jc6L_0NZlqk

Like a demented Italian comic opera.

Love it. Hope they go through so we can hear it again!

Heard live it send shivers down my spine. I attended a WW1 event in Amiens and it was sung in the church. Was wonderful.

The French national anthem has always been my fave followed closely by the Welsh, stirring stuff!

I want us to change ours to Donald Where's Yer Troosers, much much better than FOS.

God save the queens sucks, a national anthem should be about the nation! Not a person.

France for me followed by Italy then Russia and then Australia

Quote Originally Posted by EdinAyr View Post
    God save the queens sucks, a national anthem should be about the nation! Not a person.

France for me followed by Italy then Russia and then Australia

No it doesn't, one of the finest anthems ever.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Is it ****. It's a shower of pish.

If I was English I'd want a different national anthem, nae need for a monarchy, I'd want rid of them tae!

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Used to be the German national anthem too but they dumped it because it was so boring. The Germans found it boring, says it all really.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Is it ****. It's a shower of pish.

If I was English I'd want a different national anthem, nae need for a monarchy, I'd want rid of them tae!

Thankfully you're not, long live the Queen.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    Used to be the German national anthem too but they dumped it because it was so boring. The Germans found it boring, says it all really.

**** the Germans, long live the Queen and our national anthem.

Invisible sky deity save the unelected monarch who is protected by secret service and mi5 and lives tax free doesn't have quite the same ring to be fair.

eddie izzard did a great bit on it.

"Send big dogs after her"

**** the Germans, long live the Queen and our national anthem.
    Just for you scouse.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...69411363,d.ZGU
    Last edited by Hibrandenburg; 21-06-2014 at 07:45 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Antwerphibs View Post
    Invisible sky deity save the unelected monarch who is protected by secret service and mi5 and lives tax free doesn't have quite the same ring to be fair.

eddie izzard did a great bit on it.

"Send big dogs after her"
    God Save the Queen.

I'll no bother.

:teehee

:teehee
    Couldn't be arsed looking if you can't explain yourself without posting a link, lazy posting in my mind

Pop round for a beer and I'll sing it for you.

Only if it's John Smiths

Johannes Schmidt's, wouldn't water my nettles with it.

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by yeezus. View Post
    Out of the WC teams Algeria's is my favourite. I would change Scotland's to Highland Cathedral.
    i reckon ours should be highland cathedral, segueing into the epic bit from jurassic park. not terribly traditional, but we'd win at fking everything.

I see you've got a few bites SH, it's been a while! :-)