Page 3 of 142 FirstFirst 123451353103 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    The OP mentioned a 3 minute introduction.

Millions of people in the UK want to know all that stuff, much in the same way as we devour everything Hibs.

Do you really think they shouldn't provide it because a few folk up the road have a chip on their shoulder?

Or do you really think the BBC should spend millions to broadcast a Scotlandcentric show in competition to the UK version?
    Millions of English people do want to devour all the information about England in this World Cup of course they do. The BBC provides for them by just switching setup(same presenters, same commentators, same pundits) from the Match of the Day coverage of English Premiership football and England internationals and broadcasts it to the whole of Britain.

Could you imagine if Scotland were the only British team there and Sportscene provided the coverage of every game to the whole of the nation. Chick Young reporting from the team golf course pre match, Rob MacLean in a bar with Scottish fans at Half Time then Pat Nevin providing intellectual input about Scotlands History in the World cup and what Scotland has given to the game around the World.

It is of course outrageous that the BBC should spend any money giving a Scotlandcentric view on anything. How dare we ask for anything different.

When Scotland qualifies for a tournament the BBC provide money for Scotland games to be broadcast by Scottish presenters and pundits who week in week out commentate on Scottish league games and Internationals. So clearly they recognise there is an audience who don't just want fed the English coverage at all times.

At the very least they could surely provide us with something on the red button for those of us who don't care what Ian Wright or Mark Lawrenson think about England's chances during a Japan v Columbia game.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    And so it starts right enough. 3 minutes, aye right. Give it a few days we'll know what Roy Hodgson has for breakfast, Wayne Rooney's chosen hair weaver, how good Englands training pitch is, how the locals are treating the squad and every conceivable English team formation Mark Lawrenson can think of whist he bemoaning how the heat in Brazil is ridiculous. Only if you tune in to watch Switzerland v Ecuador right enough.
    I cant believe folk get wound up with this, i mean there's only so much bollox they can talk about a 90 minute game of football, and our lot are not entirely innocent in this. England have qualified, so of course there's going to be hours of crap spouted by their commentators.

And the great thing about ALL of this, is you have control of how much or how little you are exposed to at the end of your finger.

I cant believe folk get wound up with this, i mean there's only so much bollox they can talk about a 90 minute game of football, and our lot are not entirely innocent in this. England have qualified, so of course there's going to be hours of crap spouted by their commentators.

And the great thing about ALL of this, is you have control of how much or how little you are exposed to at the end of your finger.
    Hey BH just because someone makes an observation doesn't mean they are wound up or in a rage about something. I will be watching loads of games this next month or so and will just tolerate all the jingoistic drivel as usual . It is a double edged sword of course as we get to experience their pomposity bursting live on tv when England inevitably let them down.

As for the remote I can't be arsed chopping and changing all the way through a game, I just want to watch the match.

Hey BH just because someone makes an observation doesn't mean they are wound up or in a rage about something. I will be watching loads of games this next month or so and will just tolerate all the jingoistic drivel as usual . It is a double edged sword of course as we get to experience their pomposity bursting live on tv when England inevitably let them down.

As for the remote I can't be arsed chopping and changing all the way through a game, I just want to watch the match.

if you seriously get wound up by that kind of thing you really need to go and have a wee word with yourself.

Who you think will win tonight? I'll go for Brazil.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    What is sad about celebrating your national identity?
    Nothing, but when it's rammed down your throat 24/7 it starts to become a pain in the arse.

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Nothing, but when it's rammed down your throat 24/7 it starts to become a pain in the arse.
    There's a 24/7 World Cup channel?

Where?

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    There's a 24/7 World Cup channel?

Where?
    SSN for a start

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Cant believe people are actually going to vote no! You should be ashamed to call yourself Scottish if you vote no. If its a no vote then we are nothing more than a pretend country and in all honesty Scotland and Wales should just then be abolished so to speak and we should just all call ourselves England and have one everything instead of all this pissing about with separate sports teams etc and pretend devolved governments. Scotland is either a country or its not!
    So if I vote Yes you will consider meScottish

BUT

if i vote no you won't.

And there's me thinking I lived in a democracy!!

Back on subject tbh it's to be expected. The only home country to qualify so they get the build up....

It's when they rant on about 1966 and do they stand chance of winning???? REALLY!!!

That's one hell of a mixing of metaphors.

Or else a huge welt........

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    That's one hell of a mixing of metaphors.

Or else a huge welt........
    Yawn.....get over yourself

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Not watching always works if you don't like the coverage. Some maybe would prefer the anti-Hibs Open all Mics clowns - imbiciles like Allan Preston - enthusing about the "lad Messi" and how much Goetze "reminds me of Barry Ferguson in his prime. " Personally I can do without...

SSN for a start
    I never watch it.

I love seeing folk on here getting wound up about the World Cup and England before a ball has even been kicked

ITV majorly cringeworthy so far ha ha

Lee Dixon to Cannavarro...."you were my defensive hero growing up even though I am older than you"

Add Ian Wright's stilted interviews on Copacabana beach......this is going to be comedy gold

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    ITV majorly cringeworthy so far ha ha

Lee Dixon to Cannavarro...."you were my defensive hero growing up even though I am older than you"

Add Ian Wright's stilted interviews on Copacabana beach......this is going to be comedy gold
    I just checked and Dixon is 10 years older than him

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I love seeing folk on here getting wound up about the World Cup and England before a ball has even been kicked
    Think it's bad now ? Well it will be a lot worse when Italy pump England.

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    SSN for a start
    Watch something else then.

I'm just grateful that England qualified for the World Cup. Comedy gold for a couple of weeks out the four.

Where are they playing? Dobbies?

Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post
    Think it's bad now ? Well it will be a lot worse when Italy pump England.
    No it won't. Most people will be happy!

What nae Thistles.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Adrian Chiles must be harder to remove from a job than Rod

I hope the football is better than this ceremony cause so far its rubbish

WHY do they have opening ceremonies?

To open things.

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    Watch something else then.
    Had it on most of the time waiting for any news about our new manager...

To open things.
    suppose i asked for that.

What a lot of ******, if they have to have an opening ceremony why not something football related like a ten second challenge between all of the countries.