Fenlon v Butcher.........

Thought I would compare their record in SPL this season....if my calcs are correct then it looks like...

Fenlon.....11 games = 18 points

Butcher....25 games = 17 points

I like them both but wonder where we would have been had Fenlon stayed?

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Where would we have been?

Not Easter Road anyway, someone wouldve burned it down.

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    Where would we have been?

Not Easter Road anyway, someone wouldve burned it down.
    I seriously do not understand this. Comfortable, doing well in cups. And you say people would have burnt down the stadium? Jest or not.

Butcher has been awful. I think Fenlon would have us safe by now. IMHO

Quote Originally Posted by Dalkeith Boy View Post
    Thought I would compare their record in SPL this season....if my calcs are correct then it looks like...

Butcher's only been in charge for 23 league games.

There were two games in between Fenlon's departure and Butcher's arrival that Jimmy Nicholl took charge of.

You've also got your sums wrong.

It's;

Fenlon - 15 points from 11 games
    Butcher - 20 points from 23 games

Relegated. Fenlon dragged this club through some of the worst results this club has had in history. When butcher first took over he had us playing good football. Fenlon played extremely negative football and had Griffiths to save his neck. Also, 1st half of season against 2nd half of the season is an unfair comparison at Hibs. We always fade off to nothingness in 2nd part of season.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs4thecup1988 View Post
    I seriously do not understand this. Comfortable, doing well in cups. And you say people would have burnt down the stadium? Jest or not.

"Doing well in cups". Fenlon left after getting us put out of the League Cup. To Hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by Bajillions View Post
    "Doing well in cups". Fenlon left after getting us put out of the League Cup. To Hearts.
    And we have done so much since eh...

Anyways allowed our opinions that was mines.

PSN ID: hibee_easty

If Pat had stayed I reckon he would have added at least one more of the most humiliating results in my time supporting Hibs to his list.

Why can't we just judge butcher and compare him to past, failed managers when he has his own team?

If Fenlon was so good why did you end with "have us safe"? Surely we should be top 4 at least...if Fenlon was good...he had his time and proved completely and utterly tactically inept.

Close thread.

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    Another stench coming off this thread.

Who gives a flying one. Fenlon is gone. History.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974

Your totally right. I forgot the pleasant atmosphere surrounding Pat prior to his departure

We would still be at ER, and a small statue of Mr Fenlon wouldve been erected (life sized).

Opinions can be ridiculed if they're shown to be pish.

Butcher couldn't take us further in 50% of the cups cos we'd been emptied before he joined. FACT not opinion.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Fenlon needed a Malpas, the Malpas, that was his problem. SuperMo in place and Fenlon would still be here, thinking about how to manage pre-season to fit in with Europe
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Dunno about anyone else but I'm getting fed up with all these Fenlon/Butcher debates. Pat's gone. Move on FFS
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Quote Originally Posted by ehf View Post
    Eh? Fenlon was unbeaten against them last season: they have pissed all over us under Butcher and Malpas.
    Eh? We've played them 5 times. First 2 were both losses, under Fenlon. The next 3 under butcher, we have won 1, lost 2.

Get this tae ****

How can anyone compare them?

Fenlon had more than 11 games over all FFS. He was truly awful. He also had a handful of transfer windows. When TB has had the same amount of time pat did then you can judge him.

Until then ram these negative threads where the sun don't shine!!!

Left by mutual consent! SouthamptonHibs's Avatar
    Fenlon 99.999990% to blame terry gets 0.000001% to blame Fenlon signed these players come on vine and Collins yer taking the posh. What about Stevenson and Hanlon getting fans players of the year! We are bad at best those two are solid pro's not poty awards

Quote Originally Posted by SouthamptonHibs View Post
    Fenlon 99.999990% to blame terry gets 0.000001% to blame Fenlon signed these players come on vine and Collins yer taking the posh. What about Stevenson and Hanlon getting fans players of the year! We are bad at best those two are solid pro's not poty awards
    Exactly. If Fenlon was still manager, we would probably be safe, but in a worse position. I believe we have a far stronger management team in place and will see that next season. With Fenlon we were going nowhere

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Dunno about anyone else but I'm getting fed up with all these Fenlon/Butcher debates. Pat's gone. Move on FFS
    Correct jb - the future is forward not back do we really yearn to wallow in the past?
    Surely we have the yams for that purpose?
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by madhatter View Post
    Relegated. Fenlon dragged this club through some of the worst results this club has had in history. When butcher first took over he had us playing good football. Fenlon played extremely negative football and had Griffiths to save his neck. Also, 1st half of season against 2nd half of the season is an unfair comparison at Hibs. We always fade off to nothingness in 2nd part of season.
    You can't be serious re butcher had us playing good fitba.

HOOF BALL

Quote Originally Posted by #FromTheCapital View Post
    Why can't we just judge butcher and compare him to past, failed managers when he has his own team?
    Crystal Palace haven't said that about Tony Pullis.

Butcher is a caveman with hoofball tactics. Results are brutual.

Butcher out.

Quote Originally Posted by SouthamptonHibs View Post
    Butcher not at fault for this horrendous run?

Signing three turkeys in January?

Quote Originally Posted by Weir7 View Post
    Butcher not at fault for this horrendous run?

Signing three turkeys in January?
    You're a real "up" person... Is that a hat trick of downers or a downer triple ;)
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012

Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post
    You're a real "up" person... Is that a hat trick of downers or a downer triple ;)
    Really interested in what you think

Arrow

What else do you contemplate of an Ontario evening? Thatcher V Blair, Konte V. Hurtado, the scoring droughts of the famous five? ;)

Quote Originally Posted by Weir7 View Post
    Really interested in what you think
    I think this is a side show and irelevant to the real important stuff.

They started in different circumstances PF was dire and needed short term fixes which needed Garry and Leigh to bail us out. I'd hoped PF would have laid the foundations but remarkably it's seemingly turned out not to be the case. Despite this I'd have hoped TB and MM regardless would have turned things around working with what they had more or less.

The real difference between PF and TB is Leigh. Take Leigh away from PFs team and it would have been dire in the extreme plus he was instrumental in the cup runs. Or add him to TBs team and no danger we'd be sitting where we are now.

All if's and buts and at the end of the day is irrelevant in terms of the immediate challenge we face in the next couple of games. Squabbles like this and around who's the worst defender is like badly playing the violin on the Titanic.