Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by DAG013 View Post
    I know, but people on here are too scared to play them in case we lose where we need to change that mentality
    That mentality can only change once our signing policy has brought some character to the team.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    I know, but people on here are too scared to play them in case we lose where we need to change that mentality
    Really? Nobodies mentioned it before. Tell me more.

Not for me, they should not be afforded the honour of playing an SPL team until they are either promoted or drawn against one in a cup competition.

Nope.
    Stay away from them as long as possible

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Not for me, they should not be afforded the honour of playing an SPL team until they are either promoted or drawn against one in a cup competition.
    Yes, make them wait.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    Really? Nobodies mentioned it before. Tell me more.
    Yes it has been discussed at length..... Only sad thing is it continues to be discussed and nothing done to improve things. So maybe if we keep quite about being rotten it might just go away

Scared? Dream on.

Disgusted with them and unwilling to let their grubby paws have even a penny more of mine? Aye, that's about it.

I can see the logic behind it. It would attract a big crowd with people realising that (unless we get drawn against them in a cup) it's going to be the only derby for at least 12 months and would bring in much more money than a match against an English Championship side would.

However the less times we need to play them the better in my opinion.

I think we all know there's a good chance we would get beaten and it would put everyone on a downer before the season's even started.

It's a no from me.

No ****in chance

As a mate and me discussed we much have one of the worst derby records in recent history.

Let them EARN the right to play us again fairly not on a financially doped basis. GGTTH

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Yes it has been discussed at length..... Only sad thing is it continues to be discussed and nothing done to improve things. So maybe if we keep quite about being rotten it might just go away
    We could stand behind the stand and wave season tickets in front of the cameras. That sometimes works.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    We would still get beat
    Yep and if we did win, celebrating a friendly win would be cringeworthy, that's something they would do.

I agree.
    Cougars!!!

Would any proposed friendly include a Maltese ref and linesmen with actual eyeballs in their eye sockets instead of pool balls?

Since we are now talking a level playing field it's only right we go the whole hog.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    Hardly any of us look forward to the derby now. Its been a swizz forever, if the yams need the win they get the win. They have an outrageous derby record. Wonder what that record would be like had it been fair.
    We won the new-year derby . Did they not want to win that one ? Our record against them would be a hell of a lot better if we had fair officials .

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    No thanks. them.
    Last edited by MSK; 18-04-2014 at 05:32 PM. Reason: Swear filter
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Hearts should become an irrelevance to us once we secure survival that includes no more threads about them on here!

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Nothing feels better than beating them. As a club why are we so scared?? Big problem at our club, we should be up for the game and confident of doing well not running scared
    tell the players that, they brick it 90 % of the time against them so its still a no from me.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Now that we know they are surviving and will be in a lower league for at least a year do you think we should play them in a pre-season friendly?

Personally I would rather that, with the profit being split down the middle, than a friendly against Barnsley/Sunderland etc.

Would be a good earner for us.
    April fools day was nearly 3 weeks ago.

Not a ****in' brass razoo will that ****my club get from me.

Did we not try the festival cup few years back,think it would be a draw for the many tourists in Edinburgh and a bumper crowd if marketed right ?

Quote Originally Posted by cam75 View Post
    Did we not try the festival cup few years back,think it would be a draw for the many tourists in Edinburgh and a bumper crowd if marketed right ?
    yes we even got beat in that game. also the tourists will love the rammys up the high street .

I hope we never have to play them again. Ever.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    I hope we never have to play them again. Ever.
    Same here. And if we ever have to i wont look forward to it. Hope we boot them all over the park

Dont see the point in playing them,it would only benefit them and not us no matter the result imo

Quote Originally Posted by eastterrace View Post
    yes we even got beat in that game. also the tourists will love the rammys up the high street .
    We could try to sell it as being a re-enactment one of our country's many historical battles.

It would work a treat with the Americans as they love that side of Scottish history!

Quote Originally Posted by cam75 View Post
    No doubt whatsoever. Although I'm still staggered at Hibs' lack of promotion to the thousands of tourists in Edinburgh all year round. Even with the pish we've served up in recent years, the pricing is more than comparable with a lot of other 'attractions', and you're always guaranteed to see a few tourists in the shop after a game.

First Team Regular GREEN WARLORD's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post
    Scared? Dream on.

Disgusted with them and unwilling to let their grubby paws have even a penny more of mine? Aye, that's about it.
    This. Not one cent will pass from me into their hands, luckily the last derby is at ER, so all the cash comes to us. Next season the scared factor will be gone (yes i really do believe that), onwards and upwards for Hibs, not downwards to play these vile cretins.

Quote Originally Posted by Trig View Post
    We could try to sell it as being a re-enactment one of our country's many historical battles.

It would work a treat with the Americans as they love that side of Scottish history!

Quote Originally Posted by GREEN WARLORD View Post
    This. Not one cent will pass from me into their hands, luckily the last derby is at ER, so all the cash comes to us. Next season the scared factor will be gone (yes i really do believe that), onwards and upwards for Hibs, not downwards to play these vile cretins.
    Yep, my thoughts exactly. And we won't need to get the seats in the South Stand fumigated after New Year now, that'll please Rod too.

@hibs.net private member whiskyhibby's Avatar
    No thanks..........let them wallow in their own pig sty............

I don't see the problem. We always play inferior opposition anyway so it's not as if we'd be lowering our standards. If they get the cash from their fans and we get the cash from ours would that not solve it for those who don't want to give them anything?

I really enjoy derby day and the whole place is buzzing as well as the two sets of supporters. It's going to be a while before that happens in the league so why not? Even at a neutral venue like murrayfield or a packed almondvale. It will be a nice wee earner for us and there's no point cutting off our nose to spite our face.

This is providing there aren't four "unfriendlies" next year.