Thread: Cheltenham 2014

Cheltenham 2014

3 weeks to go and movement in my loins already at the thought of it.

Only getting down for Gold Cup Day this year. Can't make the other days but couldn't miss the last Festival before the refurb.

Basing ourselves in Bristol and went for the Club Enclosure this time as Tattersalls is just far too busy during the Festival.

Breaking news today is that Sprinter Sacre won't run at the Festival or again this season.

Queen Mother is wide open now.

Imagine the state she'll be in though! ;-)

Annie Power confirmed as running in the World Hurdle.

Joint 2/1 Fav with Big Buck's.

With the 7lbs mares allowance and Ruby Walsh on board that's tempting.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 03-03-2014 at 05:04 AM.

Fly down Monday as usual for the first 3 days.. we have our Gold Cup party back up here with the boys on the Friday.. by then i'm usually done anyway..

Ante post bets so far of (first bet November, sad sad sad )

Jezki - Chamption Hurdle
    Baily Green - Queen Mother
    Red Sherlock - Neptune
    Smad Place - RSA (my thing of the week)
    Benefficent - Ryanair
    Alfie Sherrin - Baylis
    Silvianaco Conti - Gold Cup

I've laid Big Bucks, Hurricane Fly and Sire De Grugy

I'll be on Holywell whever he runs (unless he lines up in the Baylis)

I've had a few quid on David Pipe top Trainer and Tom Scudamore top Jockey

I'm having none of Irving in the Supreme, Dodging Bullets in the Arkle or Bobs Worth in the Gold Cup

And there's something I like about Mount Benbulben in the Gold Cup (place only I'm not drunk) - showed he'll battle all the way in the King George without being good enough to win and he's 38 a place on Betfair so he's one of my outsiders for the week as there's now no pace in the field and I reckon it's set up for a slog over the line..

anyone else shed any light on winners?

Gone for an antepost 1st day treble of Irving, Quevega and Champagne Fever. Just a bit of fun but £10 returns just under £230 so would be a tidy extra bit in the bank.

Will have a real study tomorrow for proper 1st day bets once any last minute withdrawls are made and any late news comes out. Also a lot of debate over whether the course will be watered or not so keeping an eye on that as well.

Gone for an antepost 1st day treble of Irving, Quevega and Champagne Fever. Just a bit of fun but £10 returns just under £230 so would be a tidy extra bit in the bank.

Will have a real study tomorrow for proper 1st day bets once any last minute withdrawls are made and any late news comes out. Also a lot of debate over whether the course will be watered or not so keeping an eye on that as well.
    Have these 3 plus Hurricane Fly in my Lucky 15 for the first day. £12 Lucky 15 Returns just over £265.

Have done in a wee £1.50 e/w double on Time for Rupert & Shutthefrontdoor which Returns £99. Really liking Time for Rupert. Currently 12/1, likes it at Cheltenham & is well handicapped to run another good race.

Throughout the rest of the week, I also fancy;

Red Sherlock - Neptune
    Briar Hill - Albert Bartlett
    Big Bucks - World Hurdle
    Bobs Worth - Gold Cup

I'm off the Thursday, Friday this week. Out Friday for the Gold Cup & it's also my brother's birthday so here's hoping it can be a good end to the week all round

For those of you going down to The Festival, enjoy yourselves, its nearly 20 years since I was down there, jumping up and down as Imperial Call crossed the line to win The Gold Cup was a fantistic feeling. What a fantastic sensation it is when "The Roar" goes up before The Supreme Novice Hurdle.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    For those of you going down to The Festival, enjoy yourselves, its nearly 20 years since I was down there, jumping up and down as Imperial Call crossed the line to win The Gold Cup was a fantistic feeling. What a fantastic sensation it is when "The Roar" goes up before The Supreme Novice Hurdle.
    Down on Friday. Can't really afford the time of work this year but couldn't miss the last Festival before they redevelop.

My first Festival was 2007 when Kauto Star romped home, 2008 for Denman and then 2009 to see Kauto be the only horse to regain the crown. Feel genuinely lucky to see 2 of the best, if not the best, chasers of a generation in their prime. I believe they are both going to be part of the Retraining of Racehorses charity parade today and would have loved to have been down to see them both.

Cheltenham really is one of the great sporting spectacles.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Today I have a £2.50 e/w acc, which returns just under £73k, I'm trying to decide what I'm going to spend all that on just now...

1:30 Vautour
    2:05 Trifolium
    2:40 Tour Des Champs
    4:00 Quevega
    4:40 Shotgun Paddy
    5:15 Pendra

Also got money on Hurricane Fly.

Ouch, Champagne Fever was a sair yin!

Cool

BOOM, Holywell has just paid for mine and the wee man's ST for next year and then some, superb!

Leicester ht-ft recovered my Cheltenham losses, going to try and avoid day two.

A bit hacked off with D Jacob losing his irons whilst absolutely cruising. Need to remember Calipto for Aintree.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 03-04-2014 at 01:41 PM.

A bit hacked of with D Jacob losing his irons whilst absolutely cruising. Need to remember Calipto for Aintree.
    FFS! He wins the next race, even more annoying.

Then gets thrown into the fences and is sent to hospital.

Aye, he certainly had a mixed day.

A bit hacked off with D Jacob losing his irons whilst absolutely cruising. Need to remember Calipto for Aintree.
    I wish I had been able to forget!

And me.

Thankfully rescued it by backing Silviniaco Conti the race after. Lumped a wedge on The New One in the next.

****ing hell that was close.

Just sneaks it from Dikali and Rock on Ruby in a 3 way photo. Bookies will be gutted.