Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pet Peeves III

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar

Pet Peeves III

'Bout time for another pet peeves thread.

Pet peeve no. 1
    Pensioners who go to the bank/Post Office when I get my half hour lunch break. FFS, they have all day.

Pet peeve no. 2
    Pensioners who go to the barbers on a Saturday morning - FFS, they have all week

Pet peeve no. 3
    My annual & perennial moan about people who drive with 4 headlights.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    'Bout time for another pet peeves thread.

Pet peeve no. 1
    Pensioners who go to the bank/Post Office when I get my half hour lunch break. FFS, they have all day.

Pet peeve no. 2
    Pensioners who go to the barbers on a Saturday morning - FFS, they have all week

Pet peeve no. 3
    My annual & perennial moan about people who drive with 4 headlights.
    1) The existence of Cliff Richard
    2) Requirements to be "wacky" at work for charity (thankfully work from home mostly so not so much of a problem nowadays)
    3) The guy today who, when given the surname "Churchill" in a question about Nobel Prize Winners on "Pointless" gave the first name "John". "John!" FFS. How stupid are people?
    4) The adverts for British Gas and Lenor and Lloyds TSB (as was) and others who use oh-so-******-clever puppets or animated cloth dolls in their adverts. Seriously. Just Eff off with that.
    5) Cows on motorway overpasses
    6) People at airports who are incapable of taking out toiletries through security
    7) Rugby

Drivers who, when turning right at a give way, position their car too far to the left and block the road when I want to turn left.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    'Bout time for another pet peeves thread. Pet peeve no. 1 Pensioners who go to the bank/Post Office when I get my half hour lunch break. FFS, they have all day. Pet peeve no. 2 Pensioners who go to the barbers on a Saturday morning - FFS, they have all week Pet peeve no. 3 My annual & perennial moan about people who drive with 4 headlights.
    Never understood the four headlights thing...do you mean front fog lamps? If so why do they annoy so much? Not like they can dazzle anyone really.

Considering most new cars coming with running lights so will almost certainly have 'four headlights' on in the dark you must moan a hell of a lot!

Pensioners who turn up just as a bus arrives and march to the front of the queue ahead of those of us who have been waiting ages.

The way women seem to lose all manners between being about 6 months pregnant and their child turning 2.

People who leave a bag on the seat next to them on the bus when it's busy. I always make a point of sitting next to them.

People who don't cover their mouth when they cough or sneeze in Doctors waiting rooms. Or anywhere for that matter

With Christmas upon us (though my gripe covers the whole year) the amount of excess packaging of goods.
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    People who have been at the bus stop ages but don't count their change til they get on the bus

People who can't tear the bus ticket from the machine

people who treat stairs on a bus like Mount Everest

people who stand and look at revolving doors like its the devils work and take an age to go in them

I know that escelators are lazy mans stairs, but i walk up them for double quickness and it really winds me up when people don't

being on a bus that's busy and someone sitting beside me, fair enough, but if a double seat becomes free they should move to it

wee lassies on buses thinking it makes them big and clever to swear like they have been hanging about with sailors

the dick i held a door open for today who didn't say thanks but tried to be a hard man when i said your welcome

Here goes:

Folk that post either religious, political or philisophical ***** on Facebook and then expect anyone to give a rat's ass. Piss off.

Drama queens, in any format whether online or real life. Wait till some real **** hits the fan in your life and then you'll know what "awful" "dreadful" and "terrible" actually mean.

Old people who somehow manage to position themselves on a relatively wide pavement yet still take up about 80% of the pavement, leaving you with the choice of dawdling along at a snail's pace or feeling like an eejit and squeezing past them.

Folk that bang on about the "good old days" when, in fact, in said good old days racism and sexism were utterly acceptable throughout business and public life, polio et al were still rampant and outdoor toilets/weekly baths were the norm for a good chunk of folk. "Good old days" my arse.

Anyone who decries the NHS as being *****, inefficient or - my personal bete noir - "3rd world".

Folk chronicling their holidays ON THEIR I-PADS. Use your ****ing eyes once every so often!! Did you travel from <insert faraway place here> so you could take a 40 minute video of the Matterhorn on your I-Pad?? Really??!!

The way that Apple stores leave their lights on all night so that ******** window lickers can ogle at pieces of tat they will never be able to afford at 3am.

I could go on..............

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    People who have been at the bus stop ages but don't count their change til they get on the bus

People who can't tear the bus ticket from the machine

people who treat stairs on a bus like Mount Everest

people who stand and look at revolving doors like its the devils work and take an age to go in them

I know that escelators are lazy mans stairs, but i walk up them for double quickness and it really winds me up when people don't

being on a bus that's busy and someone sitting beside me, fair enough, but if a double seat becomes free they should move to it

wee lassies on buses thinking it makes them big and clever to swear like they have been hanging about with sailors

the dick i held a door open for today who didn't say thanks but tried to be a hard man when i said your welcome
    You could reduce that list substantially by not getting on a bus you know
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    You could reduce that list substantially by not getting on a bus you know
    I often walk to work but...

People in Princes Street who stop dead in front of you

women with buggies going in a straight line

people appearing out of shop doorways infront of you

charity collectors, beggars, guranga people and mormons

starting to think the world is against me!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    I often walk to work but...

People in Princes Street who stop dead in front of you

women with buggies going in a straight line

people appearing out of shop doorways infront of you

charity collectors, beggars, guranga people and mormons

starting to think the world is against me!!
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SiMar View Post
    Never understood the four headlights thing...do you mean front fog lamps? If so why do they annoy so much? Not like they can dazzle anyone really.

Considering most new cars coming with running lights so will almost certainly have 'four headlights' on in the dark you must moan a hell of a lot!

I do - every 10th car driven by the Stevie Wonders of this world.

My auld man told me 50 years ago "Fog lights are for when it's FOGGY" (or snowing).
    They are an alternative to headlights which reflect the weather conditions back on the driver.
    These days even car manufacturers don't get it. Jeez.
    Rant over

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Dog owners who don't pick up after their animals (I've got a dog and always pick up)

People on buses who use the seat next to them for their bag and who, if you politely ask them to move it, stare at you like it's an unreasonable request.

People who park on pavements - the more of their car is on the pavement, the bigger the t**t they are!

People who end their posts with Fact or Endof.

LOL & OMG.

Folk that take their weekly shopping trolley through the "quick" self service checkout.
    ​#PERSEVERED

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Feet on seats on buses and trains pish me off no end. They'd be the first to complain if their clothes got covered in dug poop or dirt if they sat on a seat in which someone had their manky shoes on it previous

Women who put nail varnish on their nails on public transport. Don't they realise it stinks the place out.

Xmas adverts, especially the emotional blackmail ones to get you to shop at certain supermarkets.

Self service checkouts. More and more appearing now. Can't unions see they are doing away with jobs.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Feet on seats on buses and trains pish me off no end. They'd be the first to complain if their clothes got covered in dug poop or dirt if they sat on a seat in which someone had their manky shoes on it previous

Women who put nail varnish on their nails on public transport. Don't they realise it stinks the place out.

Xmas adverts, especially the emotional blackmail ones to get you to shop at certain supermarkets.

Self service checkouts. More and more appearing now. Can't unions see they are doing away with jobs.
    I'd extend the women and nail varnish to women who spend the whole journey putting all their make up on. 2 women on my bus do this daily.

Get up 15 minutes earlier and don't be so ****ing lazy!

First Team Breakthrough bandylegs_jLeighton's Avatar

Gamertag: dmcattack
    The Edinburgh City Bypass for its inability to carry rush hour traffic.

Lorries that try to pass other lorries on dual carriageway, and then spend an eternity doing it because the are only moving actually 0.001mph faster. Why?

Cyclists on the road that look like they need stabilisers because they wobble badly one way then the next! How is this allowed?!

Cyclists that still insist on using the road along areas where the pavements have been widen especially for them!

People that run the amber/red during rush hour block the entire road so nobody can move during the next light change.

People who are too lazy to wash their hands after they've used the toilet!

********s that listen to *****y dance music on their mobile without headphones on the bus! Someone did it with classical music once and it was quite nice.

On a side note someone on a packed morning bus I was on a couple weeks back did a greener. ****ing disgusting.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    When you beep the horn at someone for nearly hitting you they go mental at you! Admit your mistake Moron.

The M8 is only 2 lanes when it should really be 3.

Paying for Parking at shopping centres - I'm here to use your facility and give you custom why should I have to pay for that?

Being called unsociable for not going to your christmas night out.

People who jump on bandwagons (Krispy Kreme fiasco etc)

Strictly come dancing/X Factor/ Britains got talent and what ever else they have thought of.

People who have a I can do/say what i want attitude without consideration for the people around them.
    Last edited by Gatecrasher; 15-11-2013 at 08:03 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    When you beep the horn at someone for nearly hitting you they go mental at you! Admit your mistake Moron.

The M8 is only 2 lanes when it should really be 3.

Paying for Parking at shopping centres - I'm here to use your facility and give you custom why should I have to pay for that?

Being called unsociable for not going to your christmas night out.

People who jump on bandwagons (Krispy Kreme fiasco etc)

Strictly come dancing/X Factor/ Britains got talent and what ever else they have thought of.

People who have a I can do/say what i want attitude without consideration for the people around them.
    X factor pish I totally agree. Same with the attitude point and the unsociable bit. There's many roasters at my work who I won't socialise with at a Xmas night out.

I'd extend the women and nail varnish to women who spend the whole journey putting all their make up on. 2 women on my bus do this daily.

Get up 15 minutes earlier and don't be so ****ing lazy!
    Agree. I see that regular on the train in the morning. I've always wondered how it doesn't go everywhere with the random lateral movement of the train.

Facebook statuses in the style of:

'Young James has 30 brothers and 28 sisters. He lives on 1 cup of dirty water and half a rotten cabbage a year. Both his parents are dead and he has 3 seconds to live. 1 like = 1 respect. Let's see who just scrolls past this. I know who i think will care.'

**** off.

'Young James has 30 brothers and 28 sisters. He lives on 1 cup of dirty water and half a rotten cabbage a year. Both his parents are dead and he has 3 seconds to live. 1 like = 1 respect. Let's see who just scrolls past this. I know who i think will care.'

**** off.
    Oh indeed. Very much indeed. Even your parody of it drives me to excessive peevedom.

**** off.
    Quote Originally Posted by Twa Cairpets View Post
    Oh indeed. Very much indeed. Even your parody of it drives me to excessive peevedom.
    There was as story recently, Kelloggs said for every retweet they got they would give a meal to a starving child or something along those lines. Caused a bit of an uproar.

Cars and vans parked on pavements. As a non driver it sends me crazy! The amount of times I have had to walk toddlers onto a road to get round a van parked on the pavement is unbelievable.

Chain photos on Facebook like 'share to keep this candle burning or your legs will fall off' why o why do people share this stuff? I post some rubbish but it's usually all my own words :-)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

On the matter of facebook, when people post a vague, ambiguous update, usually just looking for attention, which results in folk commenting along the lines "oh babe what's up? xx" or "You ok hun? xx".

Your and you're and their and there.

Quote Originally Posted by hibby rae View Post
    On the matter of facebook, when people post a vague, ambiguous update, usually just looking for attention, which results in folk commenting along the lines "oh babe what's up? xx" or "You ok hun? xx".

Oh yes! Drives me mad! I usually end up binning these people.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Quote Originally Posted by hibby rae View Post

And the inevitable response to the "You on hun? Xx" is "Doesn't matter x" or "Will PM you".

Attention seeking pish.

And the inevitable response to the "You on hun? Xx" is "Doesn't matter x" or "Will PM you".

Attention seeking pish.
    I unfriend folk that clog up my news feed with that pish.

People with hundreds of facebook friends but not one in real life.............I hate facebook and no longer use it or any other media forum apart from .net.

Car drivers who think the bus lane on the Glasgow Road is out of bounds all day and give you abuse for using it.

Dicks who walk with a huge swagger, dress like tramps and think they're hard men in a group.

Shoplifters

So called joy riding car thieves, I rejoice when they crash and die

Bad manner more common in the older genration than they like to believe.

People so full of their own self importance (usually students) that they feel the need to share every mundane moment of their lives with everyone else unlucky enough to be travelling on the same bus/carriage as they are. Lower your voice, the person you are talking to is sitting on the seat next to you.