Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Next manager?

Would go for Paulo Sergio, currently in Cyprus, who impressed during his time with the Jambos.

Quote Originally Posted by joebakerforever View Post
    Would go for Paulo Sergio, currently in Cyprus, who impressed during his time with the Jambos.
    Cyprus or Edinburgh? Champions League or fighting for a top 6 spot in a diddy league? HIBS IT IS!

Could Paul Sturrock do a job for us. Did really well at Plymouth and Southend.

Just thinking out loud like

John Collins back with a remit to reshape the club from top to bottom. Complete professional who with time would make our club a respected professional outfit again.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Jimmy Nicholl is poised.

An up and coming foreigner from the Dutch/German/scandinavian leagues please. Someone who wants to play football the right way, and knows how to set a team up properly.
    This is what I'm thinking. I think we have to take that approach rather than just shuffle the same old uninspiring pack of Calderwood's, Butcher's etc etc.

PSN ID: MC_Humo
    Ian Murray

Ian Murray hasn't the experience YET.
    Butcher would be a good choice if he would take it because he would stiifen the squad up.
    If not then a foreign manager might be the order of the day. Why not look at Spanish possibles for example?
    Pat Fenlon will be feeling sick today but more of the blame lies with Rod Petrie.
    Why does Sir Tom Farmer still stick with him after so many blunders?

Left by mutual consent! God Petrie's Avatar
    A complete unknown a la Mowbray.

I dont get the John Collins love in. Under his tenure the best team we had had for 20 years or more couldnt beat first division Dunfermline over two matches for the chance to play a Scottish cup final against a very average Celtic team. Player revolt notwithstanding, instead of manning up when the going got tough he chucked the toys oot the pram and walked. Not the actions of a man looking to make a name for himself as a manager ........ and not for me.

Kenny Shiels .... I highly doubt STF or Rod Petrie would entertain a manager who doesnt know when to engage his brain before talking and is likely to spend more time in the stand than the dugout. If ever a club needed to shut its pus and concentrate on the job at hand its Hibernian F.C.

Ian Murray .... looks promising, but too soon.

Any new untried manager .... No. Mowbray was a total fluke and inherited the best crop of players this club has produced in a generation. But boy, did he know about attacking football though.

I would love to see Terry Butcher. A respected player and Ross County cant buy a win against his ICT side .. good enough for me

The two things we must do if it comes to it is to think out of the box and not go cheap.

Pat Fenlon:

The one thing that strikes me is that he seems incapable of learning from experience. As far as I am aware Lewis Stevenson got torn a new arse in Sweden .. why then was he put in the same position last night?

The best Hibs ever played under PF was that second half against Falkirk. Though he was forced into it, it must have been an eye opener to him how forcefull Hibs were in that game when they simply had to attack. But the Scottish Cup final and last night was a case of back to plan 'A' ...... Which seems to be a total lack of tactical know how and a very conservative approach to the game.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    It's ironic that, had Hibs not made two SC finals in a row, two of these horrendous results would not have happened.

Instead, we would be looking at the progress made in the league over two seasons, two semi finals, and saying "we're getting there".

Butcher or McCall

Mr R Petrie time for you to step up and earn your £ sir

First Team Breakthrough LioNeilMessi's Avatar

Gamertag: soakingdisk795
    Quote Originally Posted by JCHibby View Post
    Reminds me when that Sevco fan phoned into Sportsound asking for Moyes to replace Mcoist

Butcher or McCall?

No chance either would come here. Would love to be wrong.

You'd be as well starting a thread titled Guoardiola or Mourinho.

McCall, no chance after turning down Sheffield Utd, even assuming he would see it as a step up.
    Butcher, I doubt it also. Turned down some dubious offers, would want a bigger move IMO.

Might as well go for Leigh Griffiths as player manager, might appeal to the tache as a BOGOF.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbydog View Post
    Butcher or McCall?

No chance either would come here. Would love to be wrong.

You'd be as well starting a thread titled Guoardiola or Mourinho.
    Why not ?

McCall in the stands last night looking at 16,000 Hibbies, he can't even dream of that at Motherwell, Butcher likewise.

They have both probably taken their respective clubs as far as they can, will be aware we have just splashed out £200k on a striker.

Huge potential, they'll know that.

So our 24 hours of bedwetting has whittled our next manager down to these two guys fantastic ;)

Not Butcher, please.

Neither.

Quote Originally Posted by ionahibby View Post
    So our 24 hours of bedwetting has whittled our next manager down to these two guys fantastic ;)
    Don't see what's bad about that either of the 2 of them have a much better record than Fenlon.

Who else are we going to attract??

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNoBut View Post
    Don't see what's bad about that either of the 2 of them have a much better record than Fenlon.

Who else are we going to attract??
    My point is that Fenlon hasn't even left yet nor will he anytime soon and 1 defeat and disgraceful one at that but we seem to have a new guy lined up already! Some people need a dose of reality me thinks. We were poor last night i accept that but we are nowhere near an execution squad for Fenlon just yet!

Quote Originally Posted by Eternal Hibbie View Post
    Why not ?

McCall in the stands last night looking at 16,000 Hibbies, he can't even dream of that at Motherwell, Butcher likewise.

They have both probably taken their respective clubs as far as they can, will be aware we have just splashed out £200k on a striker.

16,000 that are not coming back anytime soon. Both have turned down more appealing/better offers and clubs with as good potential as Hibs. What makes us so special?

Gamertag: WormyEel
    Quote Originally Posted by JCHibby View Post

i have defended pat a lot but i just can't justify it any more.

Whoever Rod picks will do me fine ,if indeed Patrick does leave us .

My choice if it was between those 2 would be McCall ,cant stand Butcher, plus fitba people ken Malpas is the brains in that duo

Quote Originally Posted by ionahibby View Post
    Reckon we're entitled to 24 hours of bedwetting after that and whilst I don't believe Fenlon will be going anytime soon there's no harm in speculating. ;)

Quote Originally Posted by Eternal Hibbie View Post
    Why not ?

I hope they see it that way.

I think they're more likely to view it as a Sidey ways move to a club that's a chuffing nightmare to make a success of. Look at the last 5 managers. They all seemed like sensible appointments at the time but it didn't work out.

Something far far wrong at Hibs and I don't blame anyone for wanting to stay well clear of it.

Only IMO of course

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Neither.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Purehibee_MYB View Post
    16,000 that are not coming back anytime soon. Both have turned down more appealing/better offers and clubs with as good potential as Hibs. What makes us so special?

You reckon that all 16,000 Hibs fans are not coming back?

Looks like I'd better cancel the bus.

Neither . If / when Pat leaves lets look further afield .

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    You reckon that all 16,000 Hibs fans are not coming back?

Looks like I'd better cancel the bus.
    I'll cancel my season ticket too Obviously not all 16,000, but certainly it'll be a long time before we see that many hibees at easter road again