Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Magners

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Remember when Kickers were high fashion and very expensive?

I know a Yam who bought a pair to be trendy and cut the green tab off the right shoe!

He also refused to eat Penguin biscuits with a green wrapper!
    God, the early 90's are calling.

There was some infamous - and probably baws - rumour that Subway had to change their corporate colours in Larkhall or some similar ****heap. ASDA as well I think.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

There was some infamous - and probably baws - rumour that Subway had to change their corporate colours in Larkhall or some similar ****heap. ASDA as well I think.
    Well, having a quick look on Google maps and it does look like the Subway at Larkhall is devoid of any of the familiar green we see elsewhere!

Kickers must have arrived late in Scotland then as they were the must have when I was in school in the mid 80's.................Liverpool leading the way in fashion I guess.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Kickers must have arrived late in Scotland then as they were the must have when I was in school in the mid 80's.................Liverpool leading the way in fashion I guess.
    I'd imagine Liverpool was indeed at the forefront of a certain type of fashion in the mid-80's. Whether it's the kind of sartorial elegance that would meet with DBS' approval is another question altogether

Thing was, I got a pair, was pleased as punch and then proceeded to ruin them in a matter of months playing football on a concrete playground, just like I would any non-branded piece of pish.

Maw LyonHibs was less than enchanté with that I can assure you!

I'd imagine Liverpool was indeed at the forefront of a certain type of fashion in the mid-80's. Whether it's the kind of sartorial elegance that would meet with DBS' approval is another question altogether

Thing was, I got a pair, was pleased as punch and then proceeded to ruin them in a matter of months playing football on a concrete playground, just like I would any non-branded piece of pish.

Maw LyonHibs was less than enchanté with that I can assure you!
    Shouldnt really admit to this but I still have a pair in the wardrobe!

Quote Originally Posted by Albanian Hibs View Post

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    £16.90 Vick. I blame inflation

First Team Breakthrough Rossco1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Well, having a quick look on Google maps and it does look like the Subway at Larkhall is devoid of any of the familiar green we see elsewhere!
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk...le-981747.html

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Liar.
    Caught red handed.

They can't afford Magners, the hun, integrity is not the only thing beyond their purchase.

@hibs.net private member TrinityHibs's Avatar

Pretty sure the Asda one is an urban myth but I did a Big W in Coatbridge and took the drawings to the Council with the proposed corporate colours of orange. Planners said Naw so we tried blue with an orange panel running all the way along the front of the building. We were pretty happy with this but the Planners said and I quote "You're having a laugh. There'll be nae orange bands in Coatbridge" You got to love the west coast.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Albanian Hibs View Post
    A prominent wee member of St Pat's Branch wears his red Kickers to this very day!
    Last edited by Iggy Pope; 14-01-2013 at 07:31 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Rossco1875 View Post
    Larkhall with it's small town mentality, is exactly why we will never rid ourselves of sectarianism in this Country....
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

I'm actually shocked they have a subway in Larkhall. Unless it's a special one that offers to deep fry the sub

So if Buckfast sponsored Celtic the Zombies would boycott? The thick bigots have already put more money into the Catholic church than every chapel collection added up since 1980.

Wouldn't he have a better chance of success if Salmond were to ask the rest of Scotland to separate itself from Larkhall? or sell it to North Korea?

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibby View Post
    So if Buckfast sponsored Celtic the Zombies would boycott? The thick bigots have already put more money into the Catholic church than every chapel collection added up since 1980.
    There's irony for you
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Setting grass on fire.

Shirley not?