Thread: O2 tennis

O2 tennis

Heading down to London today for the tennis. Got tix for wed/thu so hopefully Murray and nole both win today so they play each other on Wednesday. Canny wait

Dinnae understand the way the groups are set up.
    1 3 5 7 & 2 4 6 8 which gives Federer the easiest draw, surely it should be 1 4 5 8 & 2 3 6 7.

Berdych takes set 1 6-3 v Murray

Set 2 to Murray 6 3.

Murray takes the match 6-4 in the 3rd set.

Murray v Djokovic due on court at 1345 today, looking forward to it.

Managed to blag front row tickets for Murray v nole. Happy days

Immense first set from Murray 6-4

Djokovic takes set 2 6-3

Murray a break down in the 3rd, match is drifting away from him now.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Murray a break down in the 3rd, match is drifting away from him now.
    or is it

Djokovic now serving to stay in the match. You cannae beat matches between these two!

Quote Originally Posted by jodjam View Post
    Heading down to London today for the tennis. Got tix for wed/thu so hopefully Murray and nole both win today so they play each other on Wednesday. Canny wait
    Hope you're enjoying this!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    or is it
    Aye :-(

Match to Djokovic 7-5 in the 3rd set.

Hope you're enjoying this!
    Aye it was some game. £22 a ticket is great value. Looking forward to tonight's game.

Off to O2 again today. Fed v ferrer and del Potro v tipsarivic. Only downer is no nadal this year. Last time I saw him down here was just amazing. Gives everything to every shot

Shame to see Murray lose this but im sure he will have more Grand Slam success. IMO, Federer (whilst probably the best tennis player thats ever lived) is in his twilight and Nadal looks like injuries have caught up with him so these are the top two now

Match to Djokovic 7-5 in the 3rd set.

Who is that gorgeous lady in your avatar?

Quote Originally Posted by euansdad View Post
    Who is that gorgeous lady in your avatar?
    SSN's very own Millie Clode.

Oh aye she is a crumpet i would definitely enjoy for breakfast. Nice

Not seen much of this so far this year but I'm off tomorrow so I'll be watching Murray tomorrow night against Tsonga.

There's a lot of permutations regarding qualification for the semi finals from that group, in fact it's actually possible for Murray to win tomorrow and still go out (if Berdych beats Djokovic in straight sets and Murray beats Tsonga in three sets then Murray will finish 3rd).

If Murray loses tomorrow, he'll still qualify as long as he takes a set against Tsonga and Djokovic beats Berdych.

The good thing for Murray is that he plays second tomorrow so he'll know exactly what he has to do to qualify. Although extremely unlikely, it is still possible that Djokovic won't qualify so he won't be wanting to take any chances tomorrow against Berdych.

If Djokovic wins, Murray knows that if he takes the opening set then he will be through.

Tsonga could also be eliminated by the time he takes to the court against Murray. Unless Djokovic beats Berdych in straight sets, Tsonga will be out, regardless of how he gets on against Murray so that may go in Murray's favour as well.

The problem will be if Berdych beats Djokovic, the pressure will really be on as Murray will then have to beat Tsonga, possibly in straight sets, to go through.

Djokovic takes the opening set 6-2 and is a break up in the second set.

As long as Berdych doesn't come back to win this, Murray will be through if he takes a set tonight against Tsonga.

A straight sets win for Djokovic, though, does keep Tsonga's hopes alive so he will know that he has nothing to lose tonight if this match goes as planned.

Berdych gets the break back though.

2-2 in the second set.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    Berdych gets the break back though.

2-2 in the second set.
    Have you been away somewhere of late FH? Not seen you posting in a wee while. Either that, or we may just be frequenting different threads of late!

Your doppleganger keeps confusing me!

Incidentally, we did a tour of Wimbledon whilst down in London not too long ago - very interesting indeed!
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    Have you been away somewhere of late FH? Not seen you posting in a wee while. Either that, or we may just be frequenting different threads of late!

Your doppleganger keeps confusing me!

Incidentally, we did a tour of Wimbledon whilst down in London not too long ago - very interesting indeed!
    Just been working a lot lately, really long hours etc, doing my head in particularly when I need to work every second weekend.

Been off yesterday and today though so enjoying watching the tennis.

Was that in the museum etc? I've never actually been in there despite being down for the tennis over the past few years. It really is an iconic place to be though, particularly when you get into Centre Court. There's just something special about being inside the Centre Court at Wimbledon. I remember feeling like an excited wee boy on Christmas morning, only a few years ago, when I went in there for the very first time.

I think you just recognise the history that comes with Wimbledon over the past 100 years or so whenever you're in there. Amazing place.

Djokovic won 6-2 7-6 and knocks Tomas Berdych out of this year's tournament, whilst he goes through as group winner with a 100% record.

Berdych looked like taking the match into a decider in the tiebreak but Djokovic saved 3 set points and won 5 points in a row to win the tiebreak 8-6.

That result now means that Andy Murray will join him, as long as he manages to win at least a set tonight against Jo Wilfried Tsonga. However Tsonga also has an outside chance of qualifying, despite losing his first two matches, but only if he wins in straight sets.

Djokovic will now play the runner up of Group B on Sunday, in the semi finals. At the moment, it's really too close to call.

Perfect start for Murray, breaking Tsonga in the first game of the match.

Murray takes the opening set, 6-2 and takes his place in Sunday's semis.

Far too easy so far and really disappointing from Tsonga who really had to go for it from the start if he was going to have any chance of making the last four.

Can see another Murray djokovic final