Gamertag: Rich Tea12

Taking a 1 year old to game today.

I'm thinking of taking my 18 month old boy to his first game today.

How much will his ticket be?

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post

From experience, you won't last the 90 minutes.

Gamertag: TamHibs PSN ID: tamhibs22
    It'll be £5 but yeah you probably won't get to see the full 90

I didn't get charged until my daughter was old enough to walk through the turnstile. Just carry in and tell the kid will be on your knee.

Take plenty to do and eat and you'll be fine.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    From experience, you won't last the 90 minutes.
    That might not be a bad thing.....

First Team Breakthrough Kris1875's Avatar

Gamertag: Pornojoiner
    I took my 3 year old girl to east fife and she lasted til halftime before getting fidgety I'll be taking her today too just to see how she does at ER , as long as you don't mind not seeing too much of the game you'll be fine .

Poor thing

Seriously, whats the point?

Why would you take a one year old to the football?

He'll never forgive you.

You do realize this?

Quote Originally Posted by West Upper Pie View Post
    Getting to go to the game when you'd otherwise be landed with kid duties elsewhere.

I doubt its to entertain the kid!

Why are you so offended by this?

Quote Originally Posted by Judas Iscariot View Post
    Why are you so offended by this?
    Aye. Let's put people off that need to bring a child with them or they cant come. That'll help our gates!

I can only imagine these folk don't have kids or have wives that don't care about being landed with them every weekend!

I started taking my boy when he was 3 and he always got restless about half time. He`d play games on my phone for the second half. He`s a season ticket holder now. Get them in young before the glory hunting pals have an influence on them, does no harm at all.

@hibs.net private member andy1875's Avatar

Take the bairn along mate and see how it goes. I waited until my daughter was 4 and she enjoyed it. Cost me a fortune mind when you add in a strip/programme (must have as a momento as first game) and pizza/juice.

Well worth getting them hooked early on. Hibs kids deal also great value at £10 and will be getting form today whilst at the game.

Hope you have a great day.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar

Well, how did it go? I bet you are home early.

Bet he got fidgety and restless and wanted to leave by half time.

Doubt the kid had much fun either.

Quote Originally Posted by Slippy View Post
    Bet he got fidgety and restless and wanted to leave by half time.

Doubt the kid had much fun either.
    its a 1 year old he is not going to look up and say dad this is murder take me home,thats what dummies are for

Ritchie, I bet he behaved better than you did!!!

spending time with my son doing something that will no doubt be a big part of his life like it is mine..... aye, you're right... what is the point!

take it you don't have any children?

it didnt, he went for a nap and woke up grumpy so thought i better postpone his first visit to the theatre of disappointment!

Quote Originally Posted by Calasandro View Post
    Ritchie, I bet he behaved better than you did!!!
    i do not have a clue what you are talking about wee man!

Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie;3306268[B
    ]I'm thinking of taking my 18 month old boy [/B]to his first game today.

Should this be a Child Protection matter?

Some folk will do anything to get a bairn to sleep.

spending time with my son doing something that will no doubt be a big part of his life like it is mine..... aye, you're right... what is the point!

take it you don't have any children?
    Why are you in no doubt it'll be a big part of his life, when he's still only 1? Perhaps it's up to him to decide if he's interested in football and, if so, who he wants to support, when he's old enough to do so.

Quote Originally Posted by Sas_The_Hibby View Post
    Why are you in no doubt it'll be a big part of his life, when he's still only 1? Perhaps it's up to him to decide if he's interested in football and, if so, who he wants to support, when he's old enough to do so.
    Geezus. Proud Dad takes pleasure in spending time with his son and gets sniped at. I despair.

PSN ID: FleshCabbage
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Geezus. Proud Dad takes pleasure in spending time with his son and gets sniped at. I despair.
    If I ever have a child I'd spend time with him/her at the football, how else do you get interested in it as well. Eventually it will become like taking your child to the park and I think it's nice to see a thread about taking an 18 month old child to a game. These kids are the future and for anyone sniping at the dad you should hopefully realise the mistake, just because you wouldn't take a bairn to the football doesn't mean everyone won't.

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    I agree. What a terrible parent.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    I first took my son to Easter road on his 4th birthday but ended up leaving at half time as he was greeting that it was his birthday and he wanted to play with his toys.

I took my daughter to a Derby at Easter road when she was 5 and she fell asleep across my legs.

Took her back last season and 65BD stopped and told her the last time he seen her she was snoring.
    Mortified is an understatement :-)
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    You are at the wind up eh
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

I agree.

I started going to the football when I was about 3. ER with my mum and grandad when Hibs were at home and to watch my Dad in the EOS league when Hibs were away. When my old man hung up his boots then I went to away games as well.

Never forgiven my parents for getting me hooked on Hibs. Shocking parenting akin to child abuse.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    I'm not sniping at anyone: I'm just saying we can't decide for our children what they will or won't be interested in, even if we'd like to. We love them for who they are, not whether they like the same things as we do or not, and I'm sure that's also true of the op.