View Poll Results: Should Rod Petrie resign if he has played a key role in the doc sent to SFL clubs?

338. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

257 76.04%
  • No

81 23.96%
Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    If Rod were to go, who would we have as Chairman?
    Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    Someone else. Preferably untainted by recent shenanigans. RP is not the only human being in the world who could run Hibs.
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    What, is there nobody else in the world that could do it?
    It was just a question.

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    We know nothing for certain other than some Press allegations. The same Press that we have been criticising for the duration of this thread. I find the hysteria on the last few pages to be quite embarrassing. To be attacking our own on the basis of so little evidence is quite disgraceful.

RP was the only person to state that sporting integrity must come before financial matters long before them fans revolt and the impact on the sale of STs wad apparent. We should cut him some slack until more emerges.

In any case, Sevco are f***ed and I can't see any form of Rangers playing in any League next season.
    I see what you're saying but that document was so bad that whoever was involved needs to resign immediately

It's a huge matter and needs addressed urgently

I voted Yes as him leaving his post is what we need, but in reality resignation should have been handed in after the Calderwood farce.

If it turns out (and it looks like its true) he was involved in this disgusting statement then he should not resign he should be fired as he is no longer fit enough to be in such an important position at OUR club.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    It was just a question.
    I wasn't having a go, just trying to suggest a (general) answer.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I've been away for a couple of days....Stone Roses .... so I'm catching up on what's been happening.

Do we know that for certain?

It would appear that Rod is not The Resurrection

PSN ID: maxsharktooth
    If I was Rod in his official position within the SFA, bearing in mind Regan is "on holiday", and Doncaster, Green and probably Ogilvie approached me with their latest cunning plan I'd be there going
    " Aye that's a brilliant ploy boys, you're dangling a very small carrot behind a thinly veiled threat. That'll get everybody on your side! "
    Meanwhile laughing behind my tache knowing that they'd really f****d things up this time ( again ).

Have had a better look at the reports and was maybe a bit hasty in giving Rod my backing over this one - the notion of a closed shop SPL2 and it's use as a thinly veiled threat is bang out of order. I'm not against reconstruction for the good of the game as a whole but not just for the benefit of newco huns fc.

Any new set up would have to have an avenue for better teams to gain promotion to it or it would be a non-starter for me and the notion of blocking out teams like Raith Rovers and Falkirk out of spite is just plain evil!

Are there seriously folk out there who believe the SFA Vice President was not aware of the contents of this document?

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by alexedwards View Post
    Are there seriously folk out there who believe the SFA Vice President was not aware of the contents of this document?
    No, but this is the SFA we are talking about.

I'm prepared to give the mousered one the benefit of the doubt.

If one chairman has been in touch with the fans throughout this whole affair it's been Petrie. I'm willing to bet he knew very well these proposals were doomed to failure, as was willing to go along with them in the full knowledge they'd get the reaction they have.

If this is the case he's played a blinder. If not he's seriously misjudged the depth of feeling.

He's the architect of the 'sporting integrity' stance, and I think we should remember that before calling for his moustachioed head.

@hibs.net private member FitbaFolkKen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbiesandtheBaddies View Post
    But has he been chasing fools gold?.......oh dear!

Quote Originally Posted by JustSimplyHibs View Post
    I know however, this is the problem with having so many different bodies involved in such a simple game...SPL have said to Newco playing in the top tier, they can apply to the SFL and it is upto them to decided where they play - SPL clubs don't have a say.

That is why this is a great opportunity for fans of the Scottish game to unite and push for complete reconstruction where one body oversees everything and yes this involves Rangers playing in the lower division (their financial clout in the whole Scottish game from youth to pro is too strong for them not to be involved) think about it even if it was just their diehards that went to watch them play in the 3rd division they would still have more season ticket holders than Hibs and the rest of the SPL bar Celtic and Hearts.

Time for complete change forget about this 4 divisions, x amount of different bodies rubbish

Would that be the Glory hunting successful club diehards, or the pre Sounness and Murray 6K to 8K that turned up once a fortnight at Ipox

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    I'm prepared to give the mousered one the benefit of the doubt.

If one chairman has been in touch with the fans throughout this whole affair it's been Petrie. I'm willing to bet he knew very well these proposals were doomed to failure, as was willing to go along with them in the full knowledge they'd get the reaction they have.

If this is the case he's played a blinder. If not he's seriously misjudged the depth of feeling.

He's the architect of the 'sporting integrity' stance, and I think we should remember that before calling for his moustachioed head.
    Not so far fetched. We are, afterall, talking about the Harry Potter of negotiations. The man that signed James McPake for nought.

First Team Breakthrough keithkeith's Avatar
    Not so far fetched. We are, afterall, talking about the Harry Potter of negotiations. The man that signed James McPake for nought.
    Agree

RP if not sooner should have resigned 1 minute after sacking CC, I doubt then he will ever resign.

Quote Originally Posted by mchibee View Post
    Bye bye badman?

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mchibee View Post
    No but this is the one he's been waiting for.
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

He may well have signed him for nowt but whats in it for his former club when he is sold next summer for a couple of millions.
    On the Petrie document subject, he may have had no choice but to release the document on behalf of others.

Quote Originally Posted by alexedwards View Post
    It's distinctly possible that he was aware of it but did not approve of it. If it was produced by a committee of which he was a member and he was outvoted on it there's little he could do (other than possibly resign from the committee) and probably isn't in a position to say much either as things currently stand.

If he approved it then he has no place on the Hibs board IMO, but I think there will be more to come out on that document yet.

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    From a close study of his tache it could be suggested that he was indeed meant to be the Second Coming...
    ...in a bad 1970s Swedish porn film, but then he got celestially beamed down to the wrong country and in the wrong decade and became a merchant banker instead.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbiesandtheBaddies View Post

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    So, did we ever find out what Petrie's role in "that" document was? Or has he, unfortunately, survived another close shave?

Quote Originally Posted by Sunny1875 View Post
    Would that be the Glory hunting successful club diehards, or the pre Sounness and Murray 6K to 8K that turned up once a fortnight at Ipox
    Rangers average crowd I think you will find was around 27000 the season before Souness arrived.

Quote Originally Posted by Joe Baker II View Post
    Rangers average crowd I think you will find was around 27000 the season before Souness arrived.
    http://www.fitbastats.com/rangers/cl...attendance.php

25119 still vastly reduced from what they commonly get now.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    http://www.fitbastats.com/rangers/cl...attendance.php

25119 still vastly reduced from what they commonly get now.
    Realise you will not believe me but 27k was a typo, I had meant to say 25k though I had not checked stats!

But think this still suggests Rangers will have significantly more ST holders than we will in Division 4 which was original point being made.

Quote Originally Posted by Joe Baker II View Post
    Realise you will not believe me but 27k was a typo, I had meant to say 25k though I had not checked stats!

But think this still suggests Rangers will have significantly more ST holders than we will in Division 4 which was original point being made.
    Of course they will however I think the real crowds will be much less than season ticket sales. It will be interesting to see how much newco reduces the cost to the fans if they do indeed play in Division 3 or wherever.

Quote Originally Posted by Right Said Frank View Post
    So, did we ever find out what Petrie's role in "that" document was? Or has he, unfortunately, survived another close shave?
    It looks like an SFA led proposal which Rod will unfortunately have to be part of as a Vice President and Chair of the Professional Board.

That does not mean he persoanlly agrees with it and there;s no indication he has dreamed it up or led it.

You have to take at face value the very public comments he has made on this subject which the club he chairs has carried through.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    It looks like an SFA led proposal which Rod will unfortunately have to be part of as a Vice President and Chair of the Professional Board.

That does not mean he persoanlly agrees with it and there;s no indication he has dreamed it up or led it.

You have to take at face value the very public comments he has made on this subject which the club he chairs has carried through.
    You maybe have to, I dinnae and neither does anybody else.

He cannae claim sporting integrity with Hibs and then be part of an organisation responsible for that disgraceful 'piece of work' full of bribery an threats, whether he agrees with it or not. The two are totally incompatible IMO. How can he claim to be in favour of integrity and then be involved in those devious and underhanded tactics. Anybody who was party tae that document circulated tae the SFL clubs is little better than regan or doncaster as far as I'm concerned.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 05-07-2012 at 02:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    You maybe have to, I dinnae and neither does anybody else.

He cannae claim sporting integrity with Hibs and then be part of an organisation responsible for that disgraceful 'piece of work' full of bribery an threats, whether he agrees with it or not. The two are totally incompatible IMO. How can he claim to be in favour of integrity and then be involved in those devious and underhanded tactics. Anybody who was party tae that document circulated tae the SFL clubs is little better than regan or doncaster as far as I'm concerned.
    I hope for your sake that Petrie is guilty here because you are obviously going to be gutted if he isn't.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    I hope for your sake that Petrie is guilty here because you are obviously going to be gutted if he isn't.
    Why would I be gutted? If he's no involved, he's no involved, let him come out and say it. I fail tae see how anyone in his position at the SFA could fail tae have known about it. If he's as much in favour of integrity as he claims tae be he surely cannae square that with being part of an organision that's as bent as a nine bob note. People in the SFA and SPL knew about that document, they were either involved in it or at best they gave it their tacit approval by remaining silent about it.

Naebody has denied being involved with that document and naebody has criticised that document, IMO that makes them all equally worthy of suspicion and that includes Petrie.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 05-07-2012 at 02:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post

If Rodders is a Vice-Chairman in an organisation that has threatened and attempted to blackmail the majority of its members and he disagrees with that course of action, I'd expect him to resign from the post. If he doesn't, I'd assume that he doesn't have much problem with it.

It's fine to stick around when you disagree with a run of the mill decision but when the organisation is taking immoral and unethical action, it's a different matter.