Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789
    Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    I don't and it's not wrong.

The Lancashire paper's figures are a bit vague because of the add-ons in the Wolves - Sunderland deal. Wolves are guaranteed £12M, but the add-ons could take it to £14M. Burnley will make a minimum of £750K gross from the deal (15% of £12M less £7M), but if the add-ons all come in, then they would make another £300K, giving a total of £1,050K.

The key phrase there is "the windfall is believed to be upwards of £600,000 following the payment to Hibs". This means that the minimum amount Burnley will make after passing on the cut to Hibs is above £600K, which is correct. Wolves pass on £750K to Burnley, who pass on £107K to Hibs, leaving them with £643K ("upwards of £600,000). If the add-ons from Sunderland are paid to Wolves, Burnley would get 15% of those, and would then pass on 15% of that to Hibs.

In summary:

If Sunderland pay full price (£14M):

*Wolves make a profit of £7M
    *Burnley take 15% of that, £1,050K (~£900K after deducting cut to Hibs)
    *Hibs take 15% of Burnley's cut, £152K

If Sunderland only pay the minimum price (£12M):

*Wolves make a profit of £5M
    *Burnley take 15% of that, £750K (~£640K after deducting cut to Hibs)
    *Hibs take 15% of Burnley's cut, £107K

The report mentions that there is an "anticipated profit" to Wolves of £7.5M. This is based on Sunderland paying the total price and some reports had the Burnley to Wolves fee as being £6.5M rather than £7M. It wasn't publically confirmed what the correct figure was.
    If Burnley get 15% of an anticipated profit of £7.5M, they receive up to £1.125M before Tax. If Burnley's share is upward of £600K after Hibs share, it's safe to assume Hibs share is downwards of £525K before tax. That's a fair assumption to be made from the newspaper report, shirley?
    Last edited by Hibs07p; 28-08-2012 at 07:26 AM.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs07p View Post
    If Burnley get 15% of an anticipated profit of £7.5M, they receive up to £1.050M before Tax. If Burnley's share is upward of £600K after Hibs share, it's safe to assume Hibs share is downwards of £450K before tax. That's a fair assumption to be made from the newspaper report, shirley?

Correction £1050K agreed.
    No. The variation between the two figures ("15% of £7.5M" and "upwards of £600K") is to do with the Sunderland - Wolves add-ons. The first figure assumes that Sunderland pay all of the add-ons and doesn't account for the cut to Hibs (gross maximum), the second figure assumes no add-ons are paid and factors in the Hibs payment (net minimum).

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    No. The variation between the two figures ("15% of £7.5M" and "upwards of £600K") is to do with the Sunderland - Wolves add-ons. The first figure assumes that Sunderland pay all of the add-ons and doesn't account for the cut to Hibs (gross maximum), the second figure assumes no add-ons are paid and factors in the Hibs payment (net minimum).
    The paper clearly states The Clarets are entitled to 15 per cent of an anticipated profit of £7.5m. No mention of any other payments to anyone else bar Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by LAHIBBY View Post
    The lad has done so well for himself. He was part of the "golden generation" at hibs and one of the only ones in that generation that didnt leg it down the M8 to the old firm when they got half a chance! He stayed on at hibs a bit longer, developed himself as a player and eventually got his chance to play down in the big English leagues and is now doing better than any of the lot who went running to celtic or rangers!

Good for you Steven, genuinely wish you all the very best!
    True... but he wanted to:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2...eltic-scotland

Fletcher had to be saved from himself on that occasion. I am sure he's a better (and wealthier) footballer for it.

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Glad to see were getting something. Back to hibs after Sunderland and start again. £££

Doesn't matter if it's 100k or 500k. For Rod to pull this off is a master stroke .

would have cost me 4 points to put him in my fantasy football team so i put it off until the next game

2 goals so far today for SF.....not Scotland class though

Quote Originally Posted by Born Leader View Post
    2 goals so far today for SF.....not Scotland class though
    Every goal shows his class. GIRUY Levein you idiot.

Quote Originally Posted by Green-T View Post
    Every goal shows his class. GIRUY Levein you idiot.
    Every fletch goal is another 2 fingers to that trumpet levein and it's ****** brilliant!!!

Had £5 on Fletch to score the first goal @ 6/1 well done ma boy

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post
    Every fletch goal is another 2 fingers to that trumpet levein and it's ****** brilliant!!!

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    2 decent finishes for someone who allegedly has an inflated fee, gtf potter

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Correct. Potter is an erse and wouldnae know a decent player if they were standing right in front o' him.

Fletch is doing really well down south and it always makes me have a wee smile to myself when I think of how many folk said he'd never make it as a top class player because he only had a left foot
    This is how it feels

I'm hearing this all the time and it's utter rubbish. £35m for Andy Carroll is an inflated fee. Fletch scored 12 goals for a relegated Wolves side (more than Suarez, one less then Balotelli) and scored the most headed goals last season. He's well worth the money Sunderland paid for him.

First Team Regular Heedersnvolleys's Avatar
    Potter has been let off lightly so far but I think when the English media start questioning why he is not in the Scotland the pressure will really start on him. Let's face it he he has been let off lightly from the Scottish media because he is an ex-hibs player if he was an ex-old firm player Potter would be getting slaughtered.

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeN View Post
    I'm hearing this all the time and it's utter rubbish. £35m for Andy Carroll is an inflated fee. Fletch scored 12 goals for a relegated Wolves side (more than Suarez, one less then Balotelli) and scored the most headed goals last season. He's well worth the money Sunderland paid for him.
    How did i know you would respond!!

Some things never change!

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeN View Post
    Some things never change!
    Lol well your boy done good, you were always right about him

Two defeats from Serbia and Macedonia along with the Fletcher embarrassment will see the back of Levein by mid September.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Two defeats from Serbia and Macedonia along with the Fletcher embarrassment will see the back of Levein by mid September.
    2 defeats , what good will that do us

@hibs.net private member ...WentToMowAnSPL's Avatar

Gamertag: satvis1
    I rated Levein as a Football Manager, but as a man manager he must be rated as one of the most bitter vile arrogant people on the planet. ... Incapable and Stupid.... Playing with 0 strikers up front against the Czechs was so unbelievably stupid... I would say what I really think but :-) GGTTH
    "At the end of the day, we all aspire to bigger things in our lives but one thing I can truly say from my heart is if I never kick a ball for one of these bigger clubs I would be delighted to stay with Hibs for the rest of my career. That's how highly I regard this club." Ivan Sproule

Quote Originally Posted by goldenhibby View Post
    2 defeats , what good will that do us
    Depends what you wish for ...... With a bit of luck he might be away after one defeat.