Arthur Duncan, Scottish Football Hall of Fame

I was looking at the hall of fame web site, and decided to nominate Arthur, because of his commitment amongst other things, to Hibs. Who would you guys nominate from Hibs, and why.

Arthur Duncan, the last Hibs player to score a winning goal in a cup final

Actually, it's a decent nomination as he was a great servant to Hibs. I'm not sure if it'll get accepted though.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Arthur Duncan, the last Hibs player to score a winning goal in a cup final

Actually, it's a decent nomination as he was a great servant to Hibs. I'm not sure if it'll get accepted though.
    Probably not, but I thought what with all the comments getting made aboot giggs and man ure, Arthurs no a million miles behind in appearances and goals wi Hibs., in fact career wise, probably out does Giggs. Any fellow Hibees who agree should go to H O F site and nominate him tae.....people power.

Can think of one player who played with Arthur Duncan who is more of a glaring omission..

On a slightly different topic, did anyone see the Pointless programme on Friday? At the end they were to name members of the Scotland Hall of Fame who had over 50 caps. Can't remember the other pointless answers but John Collins and Alan Rough were both pointless, anyone help out?

First Team Breakthrough hibby67's Avatar
    Arthur Duncan was my first hero watching hibs
    can still see him now flying down the wing......

First Team Breakthrough famous_fife_hibby's Avatar

Arthur Duncan , The fastest winger in Scotland

They used to run a race every year at Meadowbank stadium for the wingers in scotland, i'm sure he always won it

Quote Originally Posted by famous_fife_hibby View Post
    They used to run a race every year at Meadowbank stadium for the wingers in scotland, i'm sure he always won it

I heard he was faster than Alan O'Brien on a Motorbike!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQmqaCg5uQ

1:30,2:44,3:50 of this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQmqaCg5uQ

But no modern day Hibby should be there before Stanton.

p.s WTF is Wullie Henderson doing there before either of the above two>
    Last edited by WindyMiller; 13-03-2012 at 03:30 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQmqaCg5uQ

1:30,2:44,3:50 of this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQmqaCg5uQ

But no modern day Hibby should be there before Stanton.

p.s WTF is Wullie Henderson doing there before either of the above two>
    Simple answer to that one............... he played for Rangers didnt he?

STANTON would always walk in to this but Arthur is an unsung hero who did serve Hibs on and off the park. A real gentleman and a really nice person.

Yes, after Pat he gets my vote!

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by blooteredhibby View Post
    I was looking at the hall of fame web site, and decided to nominate Arthur, because of his commitment amongst other things, to Hibs. Who would you guys nominate from Hibs, and why.
    Good call. Half a step behind Pat Stanton.

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    Good call. Half a step behind Pat Stanton.
    I've been to the museum four or five times and always fill a slip in to nominate Stanton, shocking that he's not included.

arfur duncan= nijinski

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Probably the most genuinely friendly footballer ever to wear the Green.

iirc arfur was a trained chiropodist(or sommit like that) and went on to do that when he hung up his boots

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    Probably the most genuinely friendly footballer ever to wear the Green.
    Absolute gent, we used to travel in the train with his old man to games.

Agree about Pat Stanton too.

Get them both in!

"Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

i heard he's packed in his chiropodist practise and moved to australia

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    iirc arfur was a trained chiropodist(or sommit like that) and went on to do that when he hung up his boots
    Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    i heard he's packed in his chiropodist practise and moved to australia
    Yep, Arthur was/is a fully trained chiropodist. When he left Hibs he went to Meadowbank Thistle on their backroom staff but I believe he is now in Oz.

Was a brilliant servant to Hibs and a really nice guy as well.
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Yep, Arthur was/is a fully trained chiropodist. When he left Hibs he went to Meadowbank Thistle on their backroom staff but I believe he is now in Oz.

Was a brilliant servant to Hibs and a really nice guy as well.

a very decent guy

If Joe Baker and Pat Stanton don't get nominated this time the whole thing will be worthless.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    If Joe Baker and Pat Stanton don't get nominated this time the whole thing will be worthless.
    in total agreement with the ancient lad here. 2 class acts who should of been in the hall years before now