View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1004. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

533 53.09%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

447 44.52%
  • In favour.

24 2.39%
Page 1245 of 1480 FirstFirst ... 24574511451195123512431244124512461247125512951345 ... LastLast
Results 37,321 to 37,350 of 44390
    Donald Findlay

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    He'd probably been happy bussing them in from Belfast
    Another genius just said "no rangers men were allowed on the jury. Just Catholics and rangers haters." Unbelievable in 2017.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40174547
    Rangers fraud trial: SFA to seek £200,000 from Craig Whyte
    By Chris McLaughlin

BBC Sport
    11 minutes ago

From the section Football

The SFA is considering pursuing Craig Whyte for a £200,000 fine

The Scottish Football Association is to consider pursuing former Rangers owner Craig Whyte for a fine of £200,000 for bringing the game into disrepute.
    Whyte, found not guilty of taking over the club by fraud in May 2011, was fined by the governing body in 2012 but the money was never paid.
    SFA chief executive Stewart Regan confirmed the body will take advice about how to recover the money.

Regan declined to comment on the High Court verdict concerning Whyte.
    More to follow.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    By Chris McLaughlin

BBC Sport

• 11 minutes ago
    • From the section Football

The Scottish Football Association is to consider pursuing former Rangers owner Craig Whyte for a fine of £200,000 for bringing the game into disrepute.
    Whyte, found not guilty of taking over the club by fraud in May 2011, was fined by the governing body in 2012 but the money was never paid.
    SFA chief executive Stewart Regan confirmed the body will take advice about how to recover the money.

More to follow.
    Regan brings Scottish fitba into more disrepute than Craigie ever did.

After following the case, I could not see how any other decision could be taken. There just did not seem to be any evidence that he committed fraud.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Donald Findlay
    Certainly a more impressive lawyer's performance than this bloke:

Gary Withey, who was hired by Craig Whyte to see through the Rangers deal, was unable to tell the court how old he was. Prosecutor Alex Prentice QC asked Mr Withey to state his age - a standard question asked of all witnesses at the start of their evidence. After attempting to recall the year in which he was born, Mr Withey eventually settled on 52.

By Chris McLaughlin

BBC Sport
    11 minutes ago

More to follow.
    I hope they try. I've never understood why sporting bodies are allowed to fine individuals sums of money which are often in excess of what the courts of the land impose. CW has nothing to lose and could challenge them all the way to the highest court in the land (Europe if we are still in it) and I think he would win. Those at the top of the SFA chain are collectively the most idiotic bunch imaginable.....

By Chris McLaughlin

BBC Sport
    11 minutes ago

More to follow.
    Strange timing.

Given that CW was made bankrupt a couple of years ago, and has only recently had that lifted, I'm not sure the SFA have much chance of getting their money anytime soon.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Strange timing.
    Pound of flesh wanted from The Patsy, one way or another.

... and another bizarre twist.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40175853

Last week, his reputation is trashed in Court. This week, he confirms it
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 06-06-2017 at 03:21 PM.

One of things I can't get my head around is what exactly Donald Findlay's agenda is.

I've followed the case and I've started to take a bit of an interest in the law. By all accounts he played an absolute blinder.

But why and for what reason? What was his agenda?

He's a Rangers man and he's a top criminal lawyer. Did he want the truth to be heard in court? Why did he agree to represent Whyte, given that he is a bit of a pariah amongst those of a Rangers persuasion? Did he just want to defend his client, as a fine upstanding gentleman who wishes to see justice being done?

Was he trying to get one over on Murray so that the real villain of the piece, the real man who should be targeted more than any other for what has happened to Rangers over the past decade gets exposed?

Did they not work out he was a clueless, headless monkey last time he was on the board?

I guess he's a Rangers man so that overlooks any of his abilities to do the job required of him!?

They are the gift that just keeps you laughing!!

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    One of things I can't get my head around is what exactly Donald Findlay's agenda is.

I've followed the case and I've started to take a bit of an interest in the law. By all accounts he played an absolute blinder.

He's a Rangers man and he's a top criminal lawyer. Did he want the truth to be heard in court? Why did he agree to represent Whyte, given that he is a bit of a pariah amongst those of a Rangers persuasion? Did he just want to defend his client, as a fine upstanding gentleman who wishes to see justice being done?

Was he trying to get one over on Murray so that the real villain of the piece, the real man who should be targeted more than any other for what has happened to Rangers over the past decade gets exposed?
    A £100-200K invoice to Legal Aid might have something to do with it.

I imagine it may simply be deflection from the Craig Whyte fiasco, BBC are running with this story and not the CW case as the headliner......

Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    A £100-200K invoice to Legal Aid might have something to do with it.
    Does he really need the money that much though? Does he not command fees of that size fairly regularly? Could he not have just picked up a similar ticket keeping a fairly routine murderer out of prison somewhere, rather than potentially alienate many of his own peepul?

Had there been a court case following the Merger saga at Hibs, would any Hibs supporting lawyer be in a hurry to go to court to defend David Rowland?

I wouldn't have thought this would be a gig he'd really want, and have assumed that he must be up to something.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Does he really need the money that much though? Does he not command fees of that size fairly regularly? Could he not have just picked up a similar ticket keeping a fairly routine murderer out of prison somewhere, rather than potentially alienate many of his own peepul?

Had there been a court case following the Merger saga at Hibs, would any Hibs supporting lawyer be in a hurry to go to court to defend David Rowland?

I wouldn't have thought this would be a gig he'd really want, and have assumed that he must be up to something.
    Potentially some 'beef' with Murray and/or those in the Murray regime?

Maybe it's just his ego driving him.

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I imagine it may simply be deflection from the Craig Whyte fiasco, BBC are running with this story and not the CW case as the headliner......
    Get this FFS

https://twitter.com/BBCScotlandNews/...984972288?s=09

OMG! What a roaster!

He can't take the fact that he has been shown to be incompetent and his mate Murray a liar and a desperado...

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    What a very strange looking guy. Can't see the Rangers masses () being too happy with the "murder" terminology there. Implies their club died.

Indeed. No corpse, no murder.

Nice to hear it confirmed at last.

Definitely deflection.......

Strange timing.

Given that CW was made bankrupt a couple of years ago, and has only recently had that lifted, I'm not sure the SFA have much chance of getting their money anytime soon.
    I think Ticketus are at the front of the queue, looking for their £18m back.
    Wee Craig just seems to sail through the turbulent waters with that deranged smile...

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    A fix. SNP organised the whole thing. Brendan O'Flaherty was the jury foreman. The club was doing fine financially until Whyte took over.

You don't believe those things? Get on to the Huns' fans' forums and they'll put you right. The stupidity is remarkable even by their standards.

One of the bits of evidence I found interesting was that Lloyds Bank rejected futher loans because the business case supporting the request depended on qualification for the Champions League group for the next three seasons. It would be interesting to observe a parallel universe in which Rangers beat Malmo in 2011 and went on to the group stage. We might find how Whyte planned to profit from the deal.
    Whenever I ask myself how on earth in the year 2017 so many people could vote for a horse's arse like Donald Trump, I pop over there and it becomes crystal clear.

Quote Originally Posted by number9dream View Post
    I think Ticketus are at the front of the queue, looking for their £18m back.
    Wee Craig just seems to sail through the turbulent waters with that deranged smile...
    From whom would Ticketus try to re-claim the money?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    From whom would Ticketus try to re-claim the money?
    They've already sued CW for it, which is why he was declared bankrupt.

I'm pretty sure he must have left amid much bitterness on both sides and it wouldn't surprise me if he and SDM never saw eye to eye either.

If you're involved in any jiggery pokery DF is not the sort of person you want to have previously upset. It wouldn't surprise me if Donald volunteered his services or at least offered mates rates to get his own back on SDM and that rangers board.
    Space to let

Whatever people may think of Donald Findlay QC, he has played an absolute blinder in this case, exposing Sir David Murray and the shambles that was Rangers FC.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    In respect of parallel universes, would also have been interesting to see what would have happened had Lloyds not taken over Bank of Scotland. BoS had been exceptionally lenient / generous in their support of Scottish clubs and I think Lloyds was aghast at what they took over and were immediately looking to significantly reduce their exposure.
    While all right-minded people will be rejoicing at Sir Craig's resounding victory, let's not forget the part that Lloyds also played in the Huns downfall - thank you Lloyds, Scottish Football salutes both you and SCW !

So looking forward to the 'Daily Rectum's headlines tomorrow - 'The law's an ass'/'SNP to blame for appalling justice-system'/'Here are the names & addresses of the jury' etc,etc ??
    Last edited by Deansy; 06-06-2017 at 05:32 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    I'm pretty sure he must have left amid much bitterness on both sides and it wouldn't surprise me if he and SDM never saw eye to eye either.

If you're involved in any jiggery pokery DF is not the sort of person you want to have previously upset. It wouldn't surprise me if Donald volunteered his services or at least offered mates rates to get his own back on SDM and that rangers board.

When he was caught singing bigoted songs at a Rangers Supporters Function, it was Murray that forced him out of Ibrox.

I don't think the Findlay The Bigot has ever forgiven Teflon Murray (presumably he thinks he did nothing wrong by singing sectarian songs)