View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1004. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

533 53.09%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

447 44.52%
  • In favour.

24 2.39%
Page 114 of 1480 FirstFirst ... 14641041121131141151161241642146141114 ... LastLast
Results 3,391 to 3,420 of 44390
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Koff... ballshecht... koff

The first point is, as you say, "alleged". If it is proven, then I would agree, everyone involved during that period should have a life-ban from involvement in football.

The second I'm not so sure about. He has a decent pedigree outside football, I understand.

But, hey, if someone wants to sell the club to a character with a mixed history, and he has the money... who am I to stop him? Ain't that right, Sir David?
    I think the financial state of Rangers prior to the Craig Whyte takeover is a matter of fact not of allegation. Rangers were in a financial shambles regardless of how the Big Tax Case and the Wee Tax Case are resolved.

As for selling to 'someone with a colourful past' I think that you should be looking at Lloyds Bank Group, as by all accounts they more or less forced the sale on David Murray and the rest of the Rangers board.

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    I think the financial state of Rangers prior to the Craig Whyte takeover is a matter of fact not of allegation. Rangers were in a financial shambles regardless of how the Big Tax Case and the Wee Tax Case are resolved.

As for selling to 'someone with a colourful past' I think that you should be looking at Lloyds Bank Group, as by all accounts they more or less forced the sale on David Murray and the rest of the Rangers board.
    It's not the financial state that I am saying is "alleged". It's the tax evasion and double-contracts that are.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    because they are downright cowards, petrified of reprisals from personal attacks by rabid blue-nosed bigots, they will most likely browse rangers fans forums and will have noted the hatred that's typed about absolutely anyone that dares to say anything against their vile club
    Quite simply, they are scared of antagonising Rangers fans and thus losing readership. That is the extent of their financial knowledge but important for them.

It's not the financial state that I am saying is "alleged". It's the tax evasion and double-contracts that are.
    The reports about Murray (and King) being banned from involvement appear to be down to the overall state of Rangers' finances 'on their watch' regardless of the unresolved tax cases.

Using the same logic how much longer can Campbell Ogilvie stay in his current post?

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    The administrators apply to be administrators...............

http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.com/

@hibs.net private member johnrebus's Avatar

Gamertag: Eh ? Wii Code: What ?

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    The administrators apply to be administrators...............

http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.com/
    I smell a prolonged legal dispute here as Duff and Phelps, Craig Whyte, HMRC, Ticketus, sundry pension companies, etc fight over the few tangible assets that Rangers have.

This could mean that any prospect of avoiding liquidation will be knocked on the head by the ongoing legal battle.

@hibs.net private member johnrebus's Avatar

Gamertag: Eh ? Wii Code: What ?
    [I[/I]I smell a prolonged legal dispute here as Duff and Phelps, Craig Whyte, HMRC, Ticketus, sundry pension companies, etc fight over the few tangible assets that Rangers have.

This could mean that any prospect of avoiding liquidation will be knocked on the head by the ongoing legal battle.

Surely the first thing to do is to establish whether Craig Whyte owns the Huns - or not.

Easy for D&P to say he is irrelevant, but I have a feeling it won't be quite as simple as that........,

Bring it on.

Quote Originally Posted by johnrebus

Surely the first thing to do is to establish whether Craig Whyte owns the Huns - or not.

Easy for D&P to say he is irrelevant, but I have a feeling it won't be quite as simple as that........,

Bring it on.

As per the Scotsman article today that's also the expert view. Cue a battle for the assets while the club bleeds dry of cash. Possible prevention of any newco restarting at Ibrox.

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    As per the Scotsman article today that's also the expert view. Cue a battle for the assets while the club bleeds dry of cash. Possible prevention of any newco restarting at Ibrox.
    As I don't think you had to be a genius to forsee this whole saga is getting extremely messy.

It's similar to an acrimonious divorce. The solicitors rake it in, leaving the various parties penniless and homeless.

I could almost feel sorry for 'em.

Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 13-03-2012 at 04:48 PM.

It's similar to an acrimonious divorce. The solicitors rake it in, leaving the various parties penniless.

I could almost feel sorry for 'em.

Wash your mouth out, young man!
    Last edited by ancienthibby; 13-03-2012 at 04:50 PM.

I smell a prolonged legal dispute here as Duff and Phelps, Craig Whyte, HMRC, Ticketus, sundry pension companies, etc fight over the few tangible assets that Rangers have.

IMHO, this is the best possible outcome for us rankgers haters. I would actually though, also prefer they somehow avoided the get out of liquidation, and instead suffered a long, drawn out, expensive legal battle between mutliple parties, crippling whatever vestigal club remains in place. Years of pain, suffering and failure for the ever dwindling band of loyal followers. Bring it on!

Quote Originally Posted by blindsummit View Post

IMHO, this is the best possible outcome for us rankgers haters. I would actually though, also prefer they somehow avoided the get out of liquidation, and instead suffered a long, drawn out, expensive legal battle between mutliple parties, crippling whatever vestigal club remains in place. Years of pain, suffering and failure for the ever dwindling band of loyal followers. Bring it on!
    This whole thread is worth it for that word alone!

Though I suspect you might mean vestigial??

One of the fascinating aspects of this whole affair for me is the fact that, for the most part, complicated issues are being reported on by sports and news journalists who don't have specialist knowledge in tax and insolvency matters. Whilst I don't doubt their intent on getting at the truth, sometimes their lack of specialism results in confusing reports and messages. (eg STV and their "VAT being deducted from wages" nonsense).

Working out exactly what the reporters have been told (not what they think they have been told) is a joy.....
    "BBC Scotland's senior football reporter Chris McLaughlin" just stated that Murray would hope to have his bid in by Friday and take over by the middle of next week!

PI$H!
    Last edited by WindyMiller; 13-03-2012 at 06:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by ancienthibby View Post
    This whole thread is worth it for that word alone!

Though I suspect you might mean vestigial??
    Correct sir! that is indeed what I meant. I was typing on a tablet, in my defence, and I can't type for ordure

A great example there from the Rangers fans of how NOT to fly the Union Flag

Correct sir! that is indeed what I meant. I was typing on a tablet, in my defence, and I can't type for ordure
    Really?? No scheidt!!

Quote Originally Posted by ancienthibby View Post
    Really?? No scheidt!!
    Man you're reaching for it now

Brilliant.... this is like a David Lynch film.

Christian freaking Aid???

Love the comment... is that him that played for Hearts?

Man you're reaching for it now
    No! It's yours!

I wouldnae go there, if I was you!

My sides are aching. this couldn't get any better . I wonder if the pope will intervene now too

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod

Lol no. Channel 4's chief news correspondent and award winning war correspondent.
    Last edited by green glory; 13-03-2012 at 06:37 PM. Reason: Over excitement.

He doesn't say what CA have said.

This report on football financing is from 2011:-

http://www.christianaid.org.uk/image...eek-report.pdf

Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post
    "BBC Scotland's senior football reporter Chris McLaughlin" just stated that Murray would hope to have his bid in by Friday and take over by the middle of next week!

PI$H!
    Yeah right.

"I want that house. I'll move in next week."

Actually, if he CAN move that quickly, without due diligence, hell freaking mend him.

He doesn't say what CA have said.

This report on football financing is from 2011:-

http://www.christianaid.org.uk/image...eek-report.pdf

He's going to be covering this in the 3rd part of his blog tomorrow. This week's gonnae be braw.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Yeah right.

"I want that house. I'll move in next week."

Actually, if he CAN move that quickly, without due diligence, hell freaking mend him.

Duff and Phelps would not be likely to hand over the Ibrox keys until they have raised enough money to pay themselves.

They would'nt want to become creditors of the club and have to vote a CVA for themselves.
    Last edited by greenginger; 13-03-2012 at 07:09 PM.