View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1004. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

533 53.09%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

447 44.52%
  • In favour.

24 2.39%
Page 841 of 1480 FirstFirst ... 3417417918318398408418428438518919411341 ... LastLast
Results 25,201 to 25,230 of 44390
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    With all that in mind can we see them strengthening in the January window?
    It's a cert :)

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    It's a cert :)

Its a cert that they will strengthen their squad ?

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Its a cert that they will strengthen their squad ?
    Yeah. Thought you were meaning. ..." we have no cash. What will we do? I know....let's buy some players. ..."

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Thought all football debts had to be paid, as Onion mentioned?
    I would have thought he would have been due everything that he's to receive, on his 12 month notice period.
    Anyone at Hearts who was in the same situation?
    Do football debts cover any wages due after the date of entering administration? Dunfermline's administrator laid off most of their senior players and they got no more money for the remainder of their existing contracts. I think that if McCoist was still manager when Rangers went into admin he wouldn't be due anything for the remainder of his notice period.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Yeah. Thought you were meaning. ..." we have no cash. What will we do? I know....let's buy some players. ..."

I hope they don't buy!

Quote Originally Posted by seanshow View Post
    Kevin Kyle on radio scotland there saying some of the players were on £8k a week in the 3rd division, no wonder they re in danger of becoming 'The The Rangers'
    BBC article here. Interesting reading, specially regarding his job interview with McCoist.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30524862

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    BBC article here. Interesting reading, specially regarding his job interview with McCoist.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30524862
    Reminds of that story about Peter Ridsdale negotiating with Seth Johnson's agent.

Can't remember the exact amounts, but allegedly Ridsdale's opening offer was double the agents top expectation. The agent was speechless - so Ridsdale says 'ok then, £5k a week more... but that's my final offer.'

Quote Originally Posted by seanshow View Post
    Kevin Kyle on radio scotland there saying some of the players were on £8k a week in the 3rd division, no wonder they re in danger of becoming 'The The Rangers'
    We act for a current player and his salary is substantially more than that figure.

Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    Do football debts cover any wages due after the date of entering administration? Dunfermline's administrator laid off most of their senior players and they got no more money for the remainder of their existing contracts. I think that if McCoist was still manager when Rangers went into admin he wouldn't be due anything for the remainder of his notice period.

My understanding is that the Administrators can cancel any contracts.

As long as they've been paid up to that point, there is no Football Debt to the Player/Manager in question.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    Reminds of that story about Peter Ridsdale negotiating with Seth Johnson's agent.

Can't remember the exact amounts, but allegedly Ridsdale's opening offer was double the agents top expectation. The agent was speechless - so Ridsdale says 'ok then, £5k a week more... but that's my final offer.'
    Yes I think they went in thinking 15k a week would be good and the clubs opening bid was 30k or so. Brilliant.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Yes I think they went in thinking 15k a week would be good and the clubs opening bid was 30k or so. Brilliant.
    He hoped for 15, was dumbfounded with the opening salvo of 30k and it was that silence that promoted Ridsdale to offer 33k. Mind-boggling.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    He hoped for 15, was dumbfounded with the opening salvo of 30k and it was that silence that promoted Ridsdale to offer 33k. Mind-boggling.
    Yeah but at least Ridsdale's insane regime didn't have any long term impact on Leeds Utd...

I always think of him as Petrie's mirror image. The agents have all but agreed £1500 a week and then they sit down with the conduit and he offers £550 with an extra £500 if Hibs win the European Cup in the lifetime of the contract.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    My understanding is that the Administrators can cancel any contracts.

As long as they've been paid up to that point, there is no Football Debt to the Player/Manager in question.
    That's what I thought. We can now look for other motives for McCoist's resignation.

@hibs.net private member Off the bar's Avatar
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30545231

Mike Ashley tightens his grip, with Lliambis (sp) announced as new chief executive at the big hoose

''Bring on the porn star''

Looks like Derek Llambias is the Huns' new chief executive. What was that about Mike Ashley not having undue influence?

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    When will 'The Rangers' be officially announced as a feeder club for Newcastle Utd?

Quote Originally Posted by hoxtonhibby View Post
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30545231

Mike Ashley tightens his grip, with Lliambis (sp) announced as new chief executive at the big hoose
    Ashley will regret this big time when he gets a £10k fine from the SFA.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Fines won't bother him ,he knows exactly what he is doing and what the consequences are at this stage

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    The Scottish Fudge Association will have a team of lawyers working out the best 'punishment that isn't a puishment' available.

Not sure if they can top the £16K fine for around £14 m non payment of taxes. That should be a business plan for every club I would have thought.
    Last edited by Spike Mandela; 19-12-2014 at 08:08 AM.

the Llambias move looks to me like Ashley is playing poker with the SFA to see just how much he can get away with.

Oh and as for the reports in the Papers about Llambias being chosen after an extensive interview process that involved a number of candidates..... aye, right!

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Do the English F A have any rules on duel ownership ?

Or , maybe its OK if one club is a wee diddy team.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    the Llambias move looks to me like Ashley is playing poker with the SFA to see just how much he can get away with.

Oh and as for the reports in the Papers about Llambias being chosen after an extensive interview process that involved a number of candidates..... aye, right!

............. one is a number.

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    Do the English F A have any rules on duel ownership ?

Or , maybe its OK if one club is a wee diddy team.
    Only league teams I think. No such rule for Premiership teams but if Newcastle got relegated...

Liked this from Daily Mash:

AFTER unsuccessfully resigning, Ally McCoist has admitted that he has no idea how he can stop being Rangers manager.

An emotional McCoist handed in his notice only to be informed by grinning colleagues that he’d received a pay rise and a better parking space.

He said: “It was always going to be a very tough decision to quit the club I love, but I presumed it would be tough emotionally not logistically.

“I’ve tried being Rangers manager and I’ve tried not being Rangers manager and the two things are essentially the same.

“Even death will be no escape, they will find a way to trap my spirit in a jar.”

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post

AFTER unsuccessfully resigning, Ally McCoist has admitted that he has no idea how he can stop being Rangers manager.

An emotional McCoist handed in his notice only to be informed by grinning colleagues that he’d received a pay rise and a better parking space.

He said: “It was always going to be a very tough decision to quit the club I love, but I presumed it would be tough emotionally not logistically.

“I’ve tried being Rangers manager and I’ve tried not being Rangers manager and the two things are essentially the same.

“Even death will be no escape, they will find a way to trap my spirit in a jar.”

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    ............. one is a number.

True.

Are you a lawyer?

“Even death will be no escape, they will find a way to trap my spirit in a jar.
    Presumably made easier if the spirit is broken and the jar has no pennies left in it.

They are good at this sort of thing the DM are - reminded me of their one about when that nice Mr Romanov acquired the yam - pasted below.

Home Sport 'I THOUGHT I'D BOUGHT A CHAIN OF GARDEN CENTRES' - ROMANOV 'I THOUGHT I'D BOUGHT A CHAIN OF GARDEN CENTRES' - ROMANOV

HEART of Midlothian chairman Vladimir Romanov has admitted that he bought the club after a "catastrophic mistranslation" during a meeting in Edinburgh two years ago.

After parting with a fiver The Lithuanian tycoon is now in discussions with his legal team and is certain to sell his majority shareholding.

Mr Romanov said: "I employed Graham Rix because, as far as I was aware, he had been assistant manager of Dobbies in Kinross.""Then he starts phoning me up telling me that 'training had gone well' but that we 'needed a new playmaker, someone who could put their foot on the ball and control the pace of the game'.

I thought he was a nutter so I sacked him.

"I then brought in one of my own people but within a fortnight he was sending me emails about an argument he was having with someone called Walter Smith over the availability of someone called Paul Hartley. I told everyone he had pneumonia and then shipped him off to a mental hospital near Vilnius.

"Now it turns out that Heart of Midlothian is not a medium sized chain of garden centres with branches in Bathgate, Dalkeith, Musselburgh and Galashiels, but is in fact a football club - one of the biggest in Scotland, if not the world.

"Well that's no use to me. I know nothing about football. But when it comes to running garden centres I'm a bloody genius. Organic, peat-free compost - two bags for a fiver. Freshly cut turf at three-fifty a square yard. That'll shift it."

Fat sally has left his job according to SSN