Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 412131415 LastLast
    I recently got hold of all the toy story movies for the kids. Like most people my age, I've ignored all the imagery for the last 18 years and never even thought about taking the time to watch any of them.

I was bored and had nothing else to do last night, so I watched one and two.

Hand on heart, even if you are an adult, please watch them because they are bloody brilliant, in fact scrub that...they're bloody genius. Number two especially. There's also no bad actors to spoil the film.

Honestly

Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    I recently got hold of all the toy story movies for the kids. Like most people my age, I've ignored all the imagery for the last 18 years and never even thought about taking the time to watch any of them.

Hand on heart, even if you are an adult, please watch them because they are bloody brilliant, in fact scrub that...they're bloody genius. Number two especially. There's also no bad actors to spoil the film.

Honestly
    They're excellent. Had to put my shades on when we left the cinema after Toy Story 3...

First Team Breakthrough Bighoose's Avatar
    Having a chat in the pub about what was the best movie trilogies i.e. Back to the Future, The Godfather, Star Wars, first three Indiana Jones or Die Hard, etc. In most cases you get two really good ones and the other is a bit duff.

Common consent tho, was Toy Story was the best of the lot. Not a bad film amongst the three.

First Team Breakthrough bandylegs_jLeighton's Avatar

Gamertag: dmcattack
    What about the Bourne trilogy? All three movies are amazing.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post

Honestly
    What did u think of the 3rd one....personally i think its the best of the 3

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Bighoose View Post
    Having a chat in the pub about what was the best movie trilogies i.e. Back to the Future, The Godfather, Star Wars, first three Indiana Jones or Die Hard, etc. In most cases you get two really good ones and the other is a bit duff.

Common consent tho, was Toy Story was the best of the lot. Not a bad film amongst the three.
    Doesn't touch the LOTR trilogy IMO but I agree, it's an excellent trilogy.

Seen a few good films lately - 12 Years A Slave, Her and The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug.

Can't wait for The Wolf of Wall Street next weekend either!
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    Not me that you're asking......but I thought it was excellent, and finished the trilogy beautifully. I had been warned to prepare for some high emotion, and I came through the high-drama-and-emotion scene, very proud that I had shed not a single tear.

NAW - THAT'S NO IT!

Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    It's right up there with the first two. I don't think it's as deep but there are more laughs (especially Spanish mode and Ken). I agree with what the other poster says about it having a great ending but I almost forgot to watch the end credits!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    The Secret Life of Walter Mitty is worth a watch. Very random, but it's pretty good. It doesn't drag at all, when it finished I didn't realise I'd been watching it so long at all.

Just watched Shutter Island, superb film with an excellent twist. I also watched Southern Comfort, not a brilliant movie but a good watch and really enjoyed it.

Saw the Wolf of Wall Street the other day. It was good but reaaaally long, wouldn't have done any harm to shorten it down a wee bit.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Apologies for going off topic....but anyone got any thoughts on the "guardians of the galaxy" trailer??

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    Watched 'her' last night. An enjoyable film but not as great as I was hoping. Lots of interesting bits tho

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Catch Me If You Can

Solid 8/10 but you'd expect no less with Hanks and diCaprio in it.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by bandylegs_jLeighton View Post
    What about the Bourne trilogy? All three movies are amazing.
    purchase all 3 for a pound each out the pound shop. great buy.

Watched Oldboy again recently. If you haven't seen it then check it out, an amazing movie.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir Albert of Kidd View Post
    Watched Oldboy again recently. If you haven't seen it then check it out, an amazing movie.
    Which one? Noticed on LoveFilm there is 3 movies with the same title

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CB_NO3 View Post
    Im guessing the South Korean one, good film but ever so slightly mental

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    Been meaning to watch that since it first came out.....Just added it to my list on netflix yesterday.............Just watched The Act of Killing....Amazing & disturbing...Just about to watch A Field in England, heard its great..

Quote Originally Posted by CB_NO3 View Post
    The original Korean one. An awesome movie.

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Im guessing the South Korean one, good film but ever so slightly mental
    Yeah it is mental as are a lot of the Korean movies. The Takashi Miike movies are even more wild.

Nebraska is good. Very funny in parts. Filmed in monochrome in Montana and North Dakota.

The original Korean one. An awesome movie.
    Watched it a few nights ago, interesting plot and some twists and turns but was expecting more.

Have you seen No Country for Old Men?

That's one bad mutha...

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Have you seen No Country for Old Men?

That's one bad mutha...
    Read it and seen it. A thoroughly nasty piece of work!

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Saw Non-Stop the other night - enjoyable enough but nothing spectacular about it IMO
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Yeah it is mental as are a lot of the Korean movies. The Takashi Miike movies are even more wild.

Ichi the Killer, Visitor Q, Gozu and Zatochi being my Miike favourites...

Visitor Q and Gozu aren't for anyone with a weak stomach though and best watched (in my opinion) with a few beers!

Quote Originally Posted by Dinkydoo View Post
    Ichi the Killer, Visitor Q, Gozu and Zatochi being my Miike favourites...

Visitor Q and Gozu aren't for anyone with a weak stomach though and best watched (in my opinion) with a few beers!
    Iv seen all of them, with Ichi probably my favourite. Visitor Q is a big bag of wrong though. All his films are worth watching if you like to see something different though.

Nah; Visitor Q is really just a story about family values that highlights the important and sometimes subtle role mothers play in keeping a family (dis)functional - it's just that there's a good chance you'll miss all of that due to the shocking way in which the message is conveyed! Classic Miike

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?

I've watched all three - "Mr Vengeance", "Oldboy", "Lady Vengeance" - and they're very good films.

I found that being psychotic helped a lot the second time around. I really got into the plot lines in a big way, much better than the first time around.

Of course, it was watching the films the first time around that made me psychotic ....

Two I've watched recently - "Rust and Bone" (French - very good - Marion Cotillard); and "Gaslight", a creepy film noir from 1942 starring Anton Walbrook and Diana Wynyard. The Americans re-made it two years later with Charles Boyer and Ingrid Bergman; I don't think their version is as good as the British one, but they're both good films.

One film noir I would absolutely recommend without reservation is "Touch of Evil" - Orson Welles, Janet Leigh, Charlton Heston and a whole bunch of other very good actors. Universal finally re-issued it in Orson Welles' own director's cut which is just magnificent.

Try "The Ballad of Cable Hogue" if you like a western. Jason Robards was a most under-rated actor - he was pretty good in "All The President's Men" and "Once Upon A Time in The West" too.

Not as good as Fonda, though - "What are we going to do with this one, Frank?" "Now that you've called me by name?"

AND Claudia Cardinale. (Mm-mmmm.)