Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
    Heaven and Earth, the 3rd oliver stone "vietnam" film

Just watched both of Werner Herzog's documentaries - Grizzly man and Into the Abyss - both fantastic.

Quote Originally Posted by stranraerhibby View Post
    Just watched both of Werner Herzog's documentaries - Grizzly man and Into the Abyss - both fantastic.
    Into the Abyss was excellent, if a little unsettling - typical Herzog

Go and see Argo.

Quote Originally Posted by Dinkydoo View Post
    Into the Abyss was excellent, if a little unsettling - typical Herzog

I like his style of film-making. My love for documentaries started when I first watched Bowling for Columbine - ever since then I have bought more of them than films.

Also worth mentioning In the Loop in this thread if it hasn't already been mentioned...

Just watched an outstanding French hostage thriller called Point Blank (a bout pourtant).

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Just watched an outstanding French hostage thriller called Point Blank (a bout pourtant).
    i watched that a while back, good film

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    If you're lucky enough not to have seen Sucker Punch, then make damn sure you keep it that way. Probably the worst film I've ever seen.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    The Conversation.

Brilliant.

Just watched 'the swimmer' again for the first time in a few years. A great film.

Just watched Flight with denzel. Really enjoyed it.

Life of Pi.

Beautiful film and the best 3D I've seen.

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Life of Pi.

Beautiful film and the best 3D I've seen.
    Loved the book mate. Always worried about screen adaptations of books but reckon this will be on the Blu Ray as soon as it is released. Dinnae see me going to the movies.

One of my mates put me on to a film called Wild Bill, directed by Dexter Fletcher. Very good, and well worth a watch.

Not new, but got round to watching Transsiberian the other night. Quality thriller, reminded me a lot of two jailbreak films, Shawshank Redemption and Runaway Train (the Jon Voight classic) despite not being about a jailbreak. Go figure.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Not normally a comic book film fan but watched 'Dredd' the other night and couldn't recommend it more!
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Saw Life of Pi last night and thought it was excellent.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Apuleius View Post
    Dinnae see me going to the movies.
    That's a pity, because you'll miss out.

The 3D was excellent, like looking through a window at times, and the sound on your TV won't come close to the cinema's.

PSN ID: Dave1875
    Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    Not normally a comic book film fan but watched 'Dredd' the other night and couldn't recommend it more!
    Watched this last night a lot better than sly stallones effort and a decent watch

I watched St Georges day last week, what a pile of pish that was. I also watched the new Sweeney with Ray Winstone and Plan B whoever he is, and thought it was a decent watch, each to their own i suppose.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    watched Django Unchained the other day, really good watch, as usual with Tarrantino there were some real harrowing bits and also some really really laugh out loud bits

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Saw Life of Pi last night and thought it was excellent.
    Totally agree.

Les Miserables next week.

I don't know if anyone's mentioned it yet, but I thoroughly recommend "The Guard".

Brendan Gleeson and Don Cheadle.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Saw The impossible last week. Excellent film, but was difficult to watch, just knowing it was a true story.

Saw Les Miserables today. Absolutely loved it. although Russell Crowe was a bit wooden.

Fancy Zero Dark Thirty, Argo, and 7 Psychopaths.

Life of Pi. Very good. I felt like they could have left 20 minutes or so on the editing room floor-the lifeboat scene drags on a bit, but some of the visuals are just beautiful.

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    Saw The impossible last week. Excellent film, but was difficult to watch, just knowing it was a true story.

Saw Les Miserables today. Absolutely loved it. although Russell Crowe was a bit wooden.

Fancy Zero Dark Thirty, Argo, and 7 Psychopaths.
    I watched Argo last night and thought it was superb. I also watched end of watch which I thoroughly enjoyed as well, quite a different approach to film making v

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    I don't know if anyone's mentioned it yet, but I thoroughly recommend "The Guard".

Brendan Gleeson and Don Cheadle.
    Watched it last night, quality wee movie.

Quote Originally Posted by BarneyBreslin View Post
    Watched it last night, quality wee movie.

Gleeson's very good in "In Bruges" as well.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Gleeson's very good in "In Bruges" as well.
    In Bruges is a good film, and you're right, Gleeson is very good in it.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Gangster Squad was decent. Jack Reacher was brilliant I thought.