Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Jim Goodwin ?

Whatever happened to the St Mirren midfielder a lot of folk were wanting signed a couple or so years back. Was he American?

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Whatever happened to the St Mirren midfielder a lot of folk were wanting signed a couple or so years back. Was he American?
    I know who you mean but can't mind his name either . He went to an english team IIRC.

Edit - Andy Dorman. Went to Palace i think?

edit, edit - Bristol Rovers as of Nov 11.
    Last edited by DaveF; 15-01-2012 at 10:23 AM.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Andrew dorman or something like that was it not?

The perfect replacement for Stevenson, plays a similar game but bigger stronger and better.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    I know who you mean but can't mind his name either . He went to an english team IIRC.Edit - Andy Dorman. Went to Palace i think?edit, edit - Bristol Rovers as of Nov 11.
    That's him. I don't knw why I thought he was American.

Thank **** Pallson's away

Exactly the type of player who would get stuck in against the yams.They would love to hate him also the type of player they will have to go for in the future.
    Last edited by coco mc; 15-01-2012 at 10:50 AM.

Goodwin is out of contract at the end of the season and PF wants him now, and if he does not get him is trying to get him on a pre contract

He is an aggressive, in your face, intimidating hard midfielder - exactly what we have been missing, probably since Matty Jack

He bossed the midfield in both the games at easter Road last season - and made a mug of Palssen in one of them to the extent he got subbed

I'd be happy with him coming on board to add bite to an, at far too many times, toothless midfield

Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post
    His only talent lies in being a thug. I really hope he isn't on his way.
    You obviously haven't seem him play then!!!!!

That's him. I don't knw why I thought he was American.
    I think he had a Canadian connection (parent or was born there) but could also play for Wales.

Goodwin is exactly what we need.
    Last edited by JimBHibees; 15-01-2012 at 11:10 AM.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    You obviously haven't seem him play then!!!!!
    I have. And finding space to look good against some of our midfield combinations doesn't make you a good player.
    He is first and foremost a thug, and not the kind of player I want at my club.

I have. And finding space to look good against some of our midfield combinations doesn't make you a good player.
    A thug is exactly what we need to stop getting bullied in games.

Our team is far too nice just now, thats one of the reasons we're so pish

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Re Andy Dorman

"Andrew "Andy" Dorman (born 1 May 1982, in Chester) is a Wales international footballer. Born in England of English parents, he grew up in Wales and represented the Wales schools team, eventually gaining full senior international recognition when FIFA amended its rules on eligibility. He has played professionally in the United States and Scotland, and is currently playing for Bristol Rovers in the English League Two, on loan from Championship side Crystal Palace."

From Wiki.

I have to admit i was sure he was American too !

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    A thug is exactly what we need to stop getting bullied in games.

Our team is far too nice just now, thats one of the reasons we're so pish
    and someone who is used to being in relegation dog fights too which is exactly what we need right now.
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

Goodwin would be great signing big and strong and a wee bit nasty.

Quote Originally Posted by stokesmessiah View Post
    Re Andy Dorman

"Andrew "Andy" Dorman (born 1 May 1982, in Chester) is a Wales international footballer. Born in England of English parents, he grew up in Wales and represented the Wales schools team, eventually gaining full senior international recognition when FIFA amended its rules on eligibility. He has played professionally in the United States and Scotland, and is currently playing for Bristol Rovers in the English League Two, on loan from Championship side Crystal Palace."

From Wiki.

I have to admit i was sure he was American too !
    Thats it. He came through the Americam collegiate system. I'm not as daft as I think I am. I can now sleep tonight. Thanks

You would have hated John McNamee back in the 60s, John Blackley would be another one, and Matty Jack too. Goodwin might like to put his foot in, but he can also play a bit. If he's signed and takes us on, i dont think you will complain too much. It takes all sorts to make a TEAM, we dont want it full of nice clean losers.

Okay fair enough I'll rephrase my comment then " You wouldn't know a player if you fell over one"

For a 'thug' he's managed to rack up a massive two red cards in his career of not far off 350 games, the last one coming in 2005. So if he is nasty, he's either not very good at it, or it's done in a controlled enough way that he stays within the rules.

He'll fit a role that we need filled, and comes with a good bit of experience. And he's from Ireland too, which I'm sure isn't a factor in Paddy's thinking at all

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    Goodwin would be great signing big and strong and a wee bit nasty.
    Agreed. Just what we need

Would be a good replacement for Murray IMO

The St Mirren fans seem to think highly of him http://www.blackandwhitearmy.com/for...9-jim-goodwin/

Has anyone actually read the sunday mail and seen this story?

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    I know it's repeating what Andy74 has said but a CM pairing of Goodwin and Osbourne looks strong.

If not Goodwin then I'd like to see us go for Arneson (sp) who's currently available on a Bosman from Aberdeen.

Quote Originally Posted by Joe View Post
    The St Mirren fans seem to think highly of him http://www.blackandwhitearmy.com/for...9-jim-goodwin/

Has anyone actually read the sunday mail and seen this story?
    They thought Van Zanten was good though!

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    ......I cannae believe people seriously envisage Jim Goodwin as being good enough to take us to where we should be aiming - European football.

Quote Originally Posted by PPZPOL View Post
    A few folk have already posted this but thought I would add my tuppence worth. Having watched Goodwin I agree he is not just a "clugger" - his appearance makes people think that but he is decent on the ball and doesn't hide from taking it to his feet. Would be what we need but it could be rubbish rumour again.

So you're trying to say that he's a 'clayer' - a combination of clugger (great word) and player?

@hibs.net private member R'Albin's Avatar

Gamertag: Razza96
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post
    I know it's repeating what Andy74 has said but a CM pairing of Goodwin and Osbourne looks strong.

If not Goodwin then I'd like to see us go for Arneson (sp) who's currently available on a Bosman from Aberdeen.
    Aranson is a good player, but could see him going to a bigger club sadly.

Never seen much of Goodwin to be honest, sounds good though from what others are saying!

Goodwin/Osbourne partnership in Midfield will do for me

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    So you're trying to say that he's a 'clayer' - a combination of clugger (great word) and player?
    A Plugger surely?