@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby

Absolutely raging

We were right in front of the O 'Connor penalty incident and it was an absolute stonewall penalty. How the ref can think otherwise is beyond me. Mind you, the referee was absolutely honking. Refused to let the game flow, booked griffiths for kicking the ball away when 2 pars players done the same earlier. Booked Stephens for consistent fouling when I don't think he was climbing on any of the fouls.

We seem to be saying it every week but the officiating against us is horrific!

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Usually the case that things never go for you when you are this end of the table, possibly because as fans we become more desperate for points that we contest everything and possibly have a different perception.

@hibs.net private member woodythehibee's Avatar
    Agree with the initial post. Also, there is no reason for GOC to go down there. Poor refereeing

Quote Originally Posted by woodythehibee View Post
    Agree with the initial post. Also, there is no reason for GOC to go down there. Poor refereeing
    That's exactly what I said. He had turned the man so was straight through on the keeper

Commentator on BBC Scotland thought it was a dive??

Quote Originally Posted by Littlest Hobo View Post
    Who was it? The online guys thought Pen. Stephen Glass was one of them. Who was Open all Michaels?

And the BBC commentators have been glowing in their hibs references this season

Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    We were right in front of the O 'Connor penalty incident and it was an absolute stonewall penalty. How the ref can think otherwise is beyond me. Mind you, the referee was absolutely honking. Refused to let the game flow, booked griffiths for kicking the ball away when 2 pars players done the same earlier. Booked Stephens for consistent fouling when I don't think he was climbing on any of the fouls.

We seem to be saying it every week but the officiating against us is horrific!
    Don't think it's particularly against us,TBH: I just think a lot of the officiating is terrible in general and works for and against us. Didn't see today's incident but I do think referees have now decided that if O'Connor goes down in the box he must be diving, which, if it is the case, means defenders can foul him in the box with impunity: do it twice and they get him sent off as a bonus!

Steven Glass co-commentating thought it was a pen

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Open all mikes guys said it was a pen. Is that 2 or 3 times now that Gary has been wrongly booked for diving?
    ​#PERSEVERED

Stonewaller. He did the boy and was ready to score IMO. He did go down too dramatically tho.

@hibs.net private member duffers's Avatar
    Thought the referee was rank rotten for both teams. As for the penalty, pretty confident it wasn't a dive, but if he had managed to stay up, he would have had a free shot at goal.

This is what happens though when a player has previous for diving - it tends to stop a player getting future stonewallers.

Mickeyloonytunes is an example.

Quote Originally Posted by SkintHibby View Post
    This is what happens though when a player has previous for diving - it tends to stop a player getting future stonewallers.

Mickeyloonytunes is an example.
    He hasnt dived though. Ever. Trial by Media.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    We know that but some players get a reputation, deserved or not.

I was right behind the incident and it was a definite penalty. The defender stuck his leg out and caught O'Connor.

To turn down the penalty appeal was bad enough, to book O'Connor for diving was disgraceful.

Unfortunately his number's been marked by referees after such a big deal was made of his apparent dive against St. Johnstone.

That shouldn't be the way they look at things though.

5 Yellows

3 for dissent, 2 for sucking their thumbs !

What has happened to the good old studs up tackles or professional fouls?

Or we should at least convert to the modern school and pick up a racial abuse card or two.

Were the 5 yellows merited?

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    I was right behind the incident and it was a definite penalty. The defender stuck his leg out and caught O'Connor.

To turn down the penalty appeal was bad enough, to book O'Connor for diving was disgraceful.

Unfortunately his number's been marked by referees after such a big deal was made of his apparent dive against St. Johnstone.

Point is though that the St J incident was extensively scrutinised and he was judged to have not dived, yet since than he has been treated harshly by a number of refs. You can bet as well that the only thing that will wipe the slate clean is if he leaves us for the huns.
    ​#PERSEVERED

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    I'm pretty sure it was a pen from where I was sitting. Looked like the defender caught his leading foot and prevented O'Connor from cutting back across him.
    However, the problem lies with the dramatic way O'Connor throws himself down in these situations and he has done himself (and Hibs) no favours at all from that aspect.
    The highlights, and pundits perception, will be interesting.
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

@hibs.net private member whiskyhibby's Avatar

Correct the defender did but GOC went down in slo mo and it looked a definately dive to me in row U seat 46 so right in line with Gary
    Last edited by Mikey; 14-01-2012 at 08:39 PM. Reason: Fixed quotes

@hibs.net private member Dirkster23's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Stonewaller. He did the boy and was ready to score IMO. He did go down too dramatically tho.
    Aye, didn't help by throwing himself down but there was clear contact and a pen all the way. Ref had a howler today and gave us nothing.
    Happy as Larry!

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar

thats why i think he booked him, looked like the sniper in the stand got a great shot and Gaz went down like he had been shot.

Still looked a penalty.

Who was it? The online guys thought Pen. Stephen Glass was one of them. Who was Open all Michaels?
    It was whoever was commentating on OAM. They said it at least three times whoever they were that they thought it wasn't a penalty and that O'Conner went down too easily.

i too think it was a pen but nae need to fling the arms in the air and make it appear worse than the
    blatant clumsy challenge it was. ref was poor today but we need to stop giving away as many needless fouls in our half (poor reffing aside). great support today as well.

I was right behind the incident and it was a pen. But GOC went down in installments

Been witness to some dreadful officiating over the years but that performance from the ref today was unbelievable, really starting to think there is an SFA conspiracy, not necessarily against us but to try and keep the league alive both at the top and the bottom. After all its not about the football anymore its a business and they're trying to make it more interesting to the outsider, maybe to sell it as a package for lucrative TV rights, makes sense eh?. Don't think the pars could believe there luck today in the first half, time after time stephens was punished for next to nothing, the challenge on sparky when sproule got booked for me merited a booking but the guy didn't even get spoken to.

As for BBC radio scotland, the standard of journalism is dire, they have nothing interesting to say about any team outwith the bigot brothers, the post match interview with Sandaza never once mentioned any part of todays game, it was all about his so called move to Rangers, time after time they quizzed him on the same question then tried to slate him for his 'pigeon' english!. Poor pathetic lazy journalism. Then one of them proceeded to say that because rangers couldn't afford 300k for sandaza now that Scottish football was in a terrible state. If they hadn't tried to avoid paying due taxes and been found out maybe they'd have some dough!!!.

As for us today well done to the guys for grinding out the victory, thought apart from the two full backs we played not too badly today.

Keep up the momentum now Hibs!!!

Another cracking turn out from the fans today, take a bow each and every one of you!!!!

FTHOMFC

Top post Halifax

HIBEES! HIBEES! HIBEES!

:pfgwa:

@hibs.net private member Tricla's Avatar

There was contact no doubt, but GOC made a meal of it with the swan dive, unfortunately his reputation proceeds him, therefore the referee thought he was being conned......
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

He has made the most of things though. You can be fouled and also dive at the same time which is what he does.