Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Would a Djokovic Murray if they advance to the semi be a 8.30 UK start on Friday?

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Would a Djokovic Murray if they advance to the semi be a 8.30 UK start on Friday?

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Enjoy Hutchy .....Keep away fae the wummin they dinnae shave
    I must say, thats not been my experience on previous E European sojourns. Cannae see me finding out this time with my old man in tow though! Cheers though, I'm sure we'll find numerous alcohol related ways of passing the time!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    0330 start for Murray means I should see a bit of it as me and my old man are catching a flight to Lithuania @ 0700!
    I'm losing the plot! we dinnae fly to Kaunus until Thurs! I read in The EN tonight that Csaba Lazlo is flying to Lithuania on Thurs, could be an interesting flight!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I'm losing the plot! we dinnae fly to Kaunus until Thurs! I read in The EN tonight that Csaba Lazlo is flying to Lithuania on Thurs, could be an interesting flight!
    So you'll be missing the Federer vs Nadal semi final then?

That's a sore one!

Murray comfortably through to the semis with a straight sets victory 6-3 6-3 6-1.

Im really liking Andy's new found attitude to the game he controls himself brilliantly on court now in the sense he very rarely loses the rag or screams at his box, Lendl must play a huge part in this new routine.

Utterly convincing to watch but Djokovic potentially in the semis is an entirely different ball game.

Quite right Andy, I said that about Murray earlier in the thread.
    Djokovic won 6-4 v Ferrer in set 1.
    Djokovic wins set 2 7-6 after a tie break. A big missed chance for Ferrer.

Djokovic wins in straight sets.

So you'll be missing the Federer vs Nadal semi final then?

That's a sore one!
    We are flying back on Sunday morning so we'll miss the final too, cannae see us avoiding the score, especially if Murray manages to go all the way!

Watched the first set with Djokovic today and he did play well, although he missed a lot of break point opportunities.

I gather Murray also played well but didn't serve very well.

That's something that is going to have to change on Friday if he's going to have a chance of beating Djokovic.

Personally don't see Murray winning but hope I'm wrong.

Can't wait for tomorrow with Nadal and Federer!!

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Murray comfortably through to the semis with a straight sets victory 6-3 6-3 6-1.

Im really liking Andy's new found attitude to the game he controls himself brilliantly on court now in the sense he very rarely loses the rag or screams at his box, Lendl must play a huge part in this new routine.

Utterly convincing to watch but Djokovic potentially in the semis is an entirely different ball game.
    Yep agree, though lets see how calm he is if Djokovic is running him ragged.

Actually think Murray will beat him on Friday though he will have to play out of his skin to do it.

Having thought a bit about this last night, I probably was being a bit kind to Murray.

I now retract what I said about him being on an all-time list of greatest players.

However, what I will say is that I do honestly believe that Murray's talents are not given the full respect that they deserve by people in Britain, just because he's yet to win a Grand Slam and what people fail to appreciate is that he is currently playing in one of the toughest periods of men's tennis for many years. He is a world class tennis player and I don't think that should be forgotten about or ignored just because he's yet to win a big one.
    Agree that he's the best British male player, probably since Fred Perry. He makes Henman and the other pretenders seem very limited.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Having thought a bit about this last night, I probably was being a bit kind to Murray.

I now retract what I said about him being on an all-time list of greatest players.

However, what I will say is that I do honestly believe that Murray's talents are not given the full respect that they deserve by people in Britain, just because he's yet to win a Grand Slam and what people fail to appreciate is that he is currently playing in one of the toughest periods of men's tennis for many years. He is a world class tennis player and I don't think that should be forgotten about or ignored just because he's yet to win a big one.

This is where Lendl may be able to sort some things out for him.

IIRC, Lendl took a while to win his first major, largely because he was playing at the same time as Connors, McEnroe and Borg, wasn't he?

And he got the rep of being a 'choker' but he dug in and persevered and got there. Took him about 5 years from breaking through at top level to winning his first Grand Slam, but his record after that was just awesome. Meticulous - some would say obsessive - in his preparation for matches.

Didn't he get the guy who laid down the top court at Flushing Meadow to build him a replica at his home in the US to practise on?

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    This is where Lendl may be able to sort some things out for him.

IIRC, Lendl took a while to win his first major, largely because he was playing at the same time as Connors, McEnroe and Borg, wasn't he?

And he got the rep of being a 'choker' but he dug in and persevered and got there. Took him about 5 years from breaking through at top level to winning his first Grand Slam, but his record after that was just awesome. Meticulous - some would say obsessive - in his preparation for matches.

Didn't he get the guy who laid down the top court at Flushing Meadow to build him a replica at his home in the US to practise on?
    Lendl lost the first four finals that he got into, before finally winning the 1984 French Open, at the age of 24 (the same age that Murray is now).

Murray has currently lost the first three finals that he's made so the similarities between the two of them is quite amazing.

Lendl went on to win 8 Majors and only Roger Federer, Pete Sampras, Bjorn Borg and Rafael Nadal have won more than that since the beginning of the Open Era.

If Murray even wins half that number, he'll be doing well.

If Murray serves like he did today against Djokovic he will get humped.

Federer v Nadal just starting now.

Really think this could be a classic!

First set goes to Federer on a tiebreak. He started really well and broke Nadal in the 2nd game but Nadal came back at him before Federer finally took it on the breaker.

Second set to Nadal, 6-2 after a brief interruption for the Australia Day fireworks.

The match is definitely changing.

Nadal takes the 3rd set on another tiebreak.

Federer currently 4-3 up in the 4th.

Nadal wins 6-7 6-2 7-6 6-4 in around 3 and a half hours.

Brilliant performance by Rafa but it's another wasted chance for Federer. I really thought he would win today but Nadal is just such a wonderful competitor.

Can't wait for tomorrow now!

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Nadal takes the 3rd set on another tiebreak.

Federer currently 4-3 up in the 4th.

Federer gone.

Now all Andy has to do is beat Djokovic, then Nadal.

Easy.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Federer gone.

Now all Andy has to do is beat Djokovic, then Nadal.

Easy.
    If Tom Soares was in it he'd win it.

Players are on court now and warm up about to begin.

Come on Andy, got everything crossed for you!

Just hope he leaves absolutely everything on the court and, regardless of whether he wins or loses, he must come off knowing that he's done his absolute best.

Players are on court now and warm up about to begin.

Come on Andy, got everything crossed for you!

Just hope he leaves absolutely everything on the court and, regardless of whether he wins or loses, he must come off knowing that he's done his absolute best.

Hope Murray wins - it would be great for him and his future career to finally pull off a GS title...

Important hold there from Murray from 15-40 down.

Djokovic is playing so well though but Murray did well to win it.

First blood to Djokovic as he breaks to go 3-1 up.

Murray drops serve on a double fault.

But Murray breaks straight back!

He's serving at 2-3.

Horrible game by Murray.

4-2 Djokovic.

5-2 - early days yet, I guess, but 1st set looks lost...