Hibs best XI of the 80s

Taking into consideration any player who played for Hibernian in the 1980s, what would be your best XI of the decade?

Alan Rough
    Jackie McNamara
    Arthur Duncan
    Gordon Rae
    Tommy Craig
    George Best
    John Collins
    Gordon Durie
    Steve Archibald
    Willie Irvine
    Steve Cowan

Open to much argument I'm sure.

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    Alan Rough
    Jackie McNamara
    Arthur Duncan
    Gordon Rae
    Tommy Craig
    George Best
    John Collins
    Gordon Durie
    Steve Archibald
    Willie Irvine
    Steve Cowan

Open to much argument I'm sure.

Replace Best with Benny and you're about right

Goram

Snedden (did we have any other right back that decade - possibly end of Brownlie's career?)
    McNamara
    Rae
    Hunter

Collins
    Kane
    May

Durie
    Archibald
    Irvine

You must include Mickey Weir in any team

First Team Breakthrough supershotmo's Avatar
    GK. Andy Goram
    RB. Allan Sneddon
    LB. Graeme Mitchell
    CH. Craig Paterson
    CH. Tommy McIntyre
    LW. Joe McBride
    CM. John Collins
    CM. Pat McGinlay
    RW. Michael Weir
    CF. Gordon Durie
    CF. Steve Archibald

Quote Originally Posted by supershotmo View Post
    GK. Andy Goram
    RB. Allan Sneddon
    LB. Graeme Mitchell
    CH. Craig Paterson
    CH. Tommy McIntyre
    LW. Joe McBride
    CM. John Collins
    CM. Pat McGinlay
    RW. Michael Weir
    CF. Gordon Durie
    CF. Steve Archibald
    Callum Milne for me.

First Team Breakthrough Tollhouse Hibee's Avatar
    goram

willie miller
    gordon hunter
    gordon rae
    Graeme mitchell

john collins
    paul kane
    pat mcginley
    mickey weir

gordon durie
    steve archibald

First Team Breakthrough micka_weer's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scuttle View Post
    You must include Mickey Weir in any team
    Mickey would be the first name on the sheet for me

Can't believe Joe Tortolano hasn't rated a mention?

Quote Originally Posted by supershotmo View Post
    GK. Andy Goram
    RB. Allan Sneddon
    LB. Graeme Mitchell
    CH. Craig Paterson
    CH. Tommy McIntyre
    LW. Joe McBride
    CM. John Collins
    CM. Pat McGinlay
    RW. Michael Weir
    CF. Gordon Durie
    CF. Steve Archibald
    Think McIntyre selection depends if he is judged on his play in the 1980s (poor and rarely a starter) and from 1991 onwards when he became an exceptional player.

Retirspectively would maybe swap Weir (or maybe Rice) for Irvine in my team.

Quote Originally Posted by Joe Baker II View Post
    Think McIntyre selection depends if he is judged on his play in the 1980s (poor and rarely a starter) and from 1991 onwards when he became an exceptional player. Retirspectively would maybe swap Weir (or maybe Rice) for Irvine in my team.
    Would that not be the same of pat mcginley, I thought it would be early 90s he turned into a proper footballer?

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    GK. Andy Goram
    RB. Willie Miller
    LB. Graeme Mitchell
    CH. Craig Paterson
    CH. Gordon Hunter
    LW. Joe McBride
    CM. John Collins
    CM. Paul Kane
    RW. Michael Weir
    CF. Gordon Durie
    CF. Steve Archibald

I'd put Pat McGinlay in but he played his best football in the 90's. All Scottish team too! Nae chance of that ever happening again.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Left by mutual consent! nortonhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Replace Best with Benny and you're about right
    Id have Benny on the bench.

'S' Form
    Sorry to bring this one back to the top but I couldnt resist it.

Rough
    Schaedler
    Rae
    Mcnamara
    Sneddon/kane
    Thomson
    Callaghan
    Collins
    Weir
    Irvine
    Durie/archie

I think thats maybe my favourite side rather than the best one. Beating the yams in the Tom Hart Cup in my first ever Hibs game, killie 8-1, celtic 6-3 with benny getting a hat trick, joe getting 2 in the last 15 mins at tynie after blobbo had herts 2-0 up (with me in the herts end coz i was only allowed to go with my older mate who was a jambo) Standing in the shed at tynie with a hibs scarf on hoping rough wouldnt lose a goal in the edinburgh select v bayern munich was it? Bobby Thomson doing a de canio on the linesman in the days before it was fashionable! Oh the glory days of the eighties when the streams of pish at tynecastle were round your feet at half time not on the park sneaking another win against us.

Sorry got lost in nostalgia, hi im Highland Hibby, just joined so its nice to meet you all and a pleasure to be onboard :pfgwa

'S' Form
    oops didnt mean to post that twice!

Last edited by Highland Hibby; 21-12-2011 at 09:08 PM.

Goram
    Miller
    Mitchell (did we have any other LB's in the 80's?)
    Rae
    McIntyre
    Collins
    Weir
    Kane
    Archibald
    Durie
    McCluskey

Subs - Beadie, Sneddon, Tortolano!! (IIRC you could only have 2 subs on the bench in the 80's eh?)

Rough
    Sneddon
    Rae
    Chisholm
    Mitchell

Weir
    Kane
    May
    Collins

Houchen
    Archibald

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Goram

Kane
    Rae
    Hunter
    Mitchell

Collins
    Weir
    Milne

Archiegoal
    Durie
    Cowan
    Last edited by PaulSmith; 21-12-2011 at 11:16 PM.

Archibald seems to be the common denominator.

What a fantastic thing it was to have him as a player.

Left by mutual consent! nortonhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post
    Goram

Kane
    Rae
    Hunter
    Mitchell

Collins
    Weir
    Milne

Archiegoal
    Durie
    Cowan
    nae Benny you are having a laugh top man was Benny.

The team that beat hertz 2-1 at ER to end a barren spell against them. 17 October 1987

I remember Goram, Sneddon, Rae? Hunter? Mitchell? Possibly Chisolm?

Kane May Watson Collins,

Strikers cannot remember. Cowan?

Main things I remember are May and Kanes goals.

And a couple of saves by Goram near the end.

The pitch invasion

What a day

with my tongue firmly in my cheek

Dave Huggins

Ian Hendry
    Jim Brown
    Mark Fulton
    Rikki Fleming
    Billy McLaren

Jas Brown
    Billy Kirkwood
    Stewart Beedie

Bobby Torrance
    Joe Ward

SUBS - Mark Caughey, Stuart Turnbull, Gary Murray

Manager - Bertie Auld

Money could'nt buy that team !

Quote Originally Posted by Gala Foxes View Post
    with my tongue firmly in my cheek

Dave Huggins

Ian Hendry
    Jim Brown
    Mark Fulton
    Rikki Fleming
    Billy McLaren

Jas Brown
    Billy Kirkwood
    Stewart Beedie

Bobby Torrance
    Joe Ward

SUBS - Mark Caughey, Stuart Turnbull, Gary Murray

Manager - Bertie Auld

Money could'nt buy that team !

Although to be fair one of my most memorable Hibs goals was a Stuart Turnbull diving header at Tannadice early 80's in what was our first win at that ground for donkey's years

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by darwenhibby View Post
    The team that beat hertz 2-1 at ER to end a barren spell against them. 17 October 1987

I remember Goram, Sneddon, Rae? Hunter? Mitchell? Possibly Chisolm?

Kane May Watson Collins,

Strikers cannot remember. Cowan?

Main things I remember are May and Kanes goals.

And a couple of saves by Goram near the end.

The pitch invasion

What a day
    That was some night. I thought it was a re-arranged new year's day fixture? The crowd was massive and we were rammed on the old east terrace. Official attendence was around 26,000-my erchie.

Nae suggestion's for Brian Rice's inclusion? He was one the better player's in our midfield of the mid eighties?