Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Seemingly his bag with all his gear in it was chucked off the train with him.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    I dunno, I'm warming to him now that I've read on his facebook page that he's a "phenomanom". That must be good, right?

What's a phenomanom?

A dyslexic phenomenon?
    "Social awkwardness is often the curse of genius." (Raylan)

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    Link?
    Aye sorry for getting back well after that post.

Was in last nights news iirc.

After seeing the "story" on the telly the celtc guy is just an attempted smartarse. Brutal if teh guy gets charged.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    After seeing the "story" on the telly the celtc guy is just an attempted smartarse. Brutal if teh guy gets charged.
    Is there no word yet about the scrote getting charged?

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    To be fair, if I knew that I was in the right and someone had told me to get off a train, I wouldn't have gone anywhere.

I absolutely hate being made out to be a liar or someone not believing me when I'm actually telling the truth.
    Even if you couldn't produce your ticket?

See if you went to a football game or a gig, and you couldn't find your ticket, would you expect entry because you knew you were in the right?

How are conductors supposed to differentiate between scrotes who are trying to steal their fare from folk who genuinely have lost their tickets?

The boy was being an erse. He should have accepted that he'd either been caught out or that he'd had a (very minor) piece of misfortune and paid for another ticket.

Whether he should have been assaulted by the other passenger or not, is the moot point.
    Spin it anyway you want, but 5 will never be 6 and it will never be 7.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Even if you couldn't produce your ticket?

See if you went to a football game or a gig, and you couldn't find your ticket, would you expect entry because you knew you were in the right?

How are conductors supposed to differentiate between scrotes who are trying to steal their fare from folk who genuinely have lost their tickets?

The boy was being an erse. He should have accepted that he'd either been caught out or that he'd had a (very minor) piece of misfortune and paid for another ticket.

Whether he should have been assaulted by the other passenger or not, is the moot point.
    You did miss out the last bit of my post which was that I don't think that was the case in this incident.

I was talking more about cases where my truthfulness could be proven by looking up records or other similar methods but before it gets to that stage, I am assumed to be 'at it'.

Obviously if I went to a football match or concert and didn't bring my ticket with me, I wouldn't expect to be allowed in.

Gamertag: Frazdazhfc
    Didn't realise it was at Linlithgow.
    Section 43 - Nulli Secundus
    www.sect43.co.uk
    Donate via PayPal: section43hibs@hotmail.co.uk

Keep The Faith

@hibs.net private member robinp's Avatar

Gamertag: cunningfox99 Wii Code: 5033 5135 1121 0949
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Seemingly his bag with all his gear in it was chucked off the train with him.
    It was, just after the scrote is taken to the door, a fellow passenger crosses the camera and is seen launching it onto the platform. Thereafter he starts trying to re-enter the train....according to his father the reason he was trying to get back on board british bull dog style was to retrieve said bag.....doesnt add up.

Either way if he was diabetic he did have his bag on the platform so yet more lies from the ned/father/uncle!

Quote Originally Posted by robinp View Post
    It was, just after the scrote is taken to the door, a fellow passenger crosses the camera and is seen launching it onto the platform. Thereafter he starts trying to re-enter the train....according to his father the reason he was trying to get back on board british bull dog style was to retrieve said bag.....doesnt add up.

Either way if he was diabetic he did have his bag on the platform so yet more lies from the ned/father/uncle!
    So where's the 'valid' ticket? And even if he 'hasn't got it any more' then if he really was sold two singles this is easy checkable.

He didn't make a convincing case on the news tonight at all. He's been utterly humiliated and, rather than learning anything from the incident, is trying to portray himself as the victim. This is ludicrous, but it might well work in this day and age.

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    So much for David Cameron's Big Society.

Oh wait, there's no Tories in Scotland.

The student is at it, complete non story. His story has more holes than a holy thing.

How many students don't carry ID? He couldn't get his bag which was left on the train, containing his phone, wallet and books, yet had 20 for a taxi? He admitted he'd bought his train tickets with his scotrail student card - why wasn't that produced?

@hibs.net private member Lucius Apuleius's Avatar

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    He was going to Polmont? Does that not tell you everything you need to know?
    The only real life is the life of the travelling man

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    The young lad was on Radio Scotland this morning just after 10, if it's on BBCi player it might be worth a listen.
    He basically admitted he had no valid ticket, he did have money as he had to pay £20 for a taxi from Linlithgow to his home. He came across as a wee bit arrogant, my opinion of what I heard, almost as if he done nothing wrong and didn't deserve to be slam dunk'd on to the platform. He eventually conceded his language was perhaps wrong, BUT, he was agitated and the conductor embarassed him in front of a coach full of passengers(so that's alright then). He claims he was given no opportunity to pay, funny that as the conductor asks for a ticket "or buy one" and there are ticket machines on the platform at Edinburgh Park with signs saying a ticket must be bought before boarding.
    He must be exaggerating about the price of a taxi. How far is it about 5 miles?

@hibs.net private member Twa Cairpets's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    Didn't realise it was at Linlithgow.
    Yes and we dont appreciate that sort here.

Promising Youngster

Gamertag: J Murphy SBFC
    Personally, im glad im booking my train tickets to come up,
    I aint getting chucked off no train!

@hibs.net private member Wilson's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by TwoCarpets View Post
    Got enough already?
    I'm looking for a different kind of satisfaction

Got enough as it is. I remember a certain match for a Linlithgow team on a Thursday night.

@hibs.net private member Twa Cairpets's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SCAR View Post
    Got enough already?
    Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC
    Got enough as it is. I remember a certain match for a Linlithgow team on a Thursday night.
    I think you're mixing us up with Bo'Ness

@hibs.net private member Beefster's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I think this is half the problem. For police to be considering/folk to be calling that 'assault' is crazy IMHO. The ned was ejected from a train, with the conductor's consent, for not having a valid ticket. Anything that could be remotely considered assault only happened because the ned resisted his ejection.

Not having a go at you but I've heard what happened being called an assault by a fair number of folk. A punch in the coupon or a boot in the nads is assault, being ejected from somewhere that you are not entitled to be isn't IMHO.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    I think this is half the problem. For police to be considering/folk to be calling that 'assault' is crazy IMHO. The ned was ejected from a train, with the conductor's consent, for not having a valid ticket. Anything that could be remotely considered assault only happened because the ned resisted his ejection.

Not having a go at you but I've heard what happened being called an assault by a fair number of folk. A punch in the coupon or a boot in the nads is assault, being ejected from somewhere that you are not entitled to be isn't IMHO.
    I don't know, I think anything that involves laying hands on another can be construed as assault, if you do not have the authority to do it. Anyway, I'll happily pay into the blokes legal fund. You would hope a sherrif would see sense in this case, and take into account the ned's behaviour leading up to it.

I think you're mixing us up with Bo'Ness
    No i played for the Linlithgow side. It was against Armadale, but yeah the Bo'Ness derbies were fiesty!

Maybe once the headline hungry Paul McBride has finished representing the yams without a fee he could offer his services to the big man on a pro bono basis. It would certainly keep his coupon in the tabloids!

McBride is more likely to offer to help his fellow Celtic supporter.

I just hope that after a thorough investigation (watching the footage will be sufficient) BTP say that the only crime to be investigated is fare dodging.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post

Technically, the young guy was assaulted.

However, I think people should apply a bit of common sense to individual cases and look at the details. If that's done in this case then I don't think an assault charge is appropriate.

'a spanner'(c) hmfckickback 2012 Pretty Boy's Avatar
    I'm in two minds about this one.

The 'fare dodger' does seem like a bit of a knob and his attitude and language was out of order. On the other hand i volunteered with a charity that helped and gave advice to young and first time offenders, the most common excuse for assault charges was always along the lines of: 'he was being wide', 'he was looking at me funny', 'he started it'. Frankly i'm not sure someone being cheeky to a conductor on a train is acceptable permission to manhandle somone, and whether we like it or not throwing someone with force from a train to the ground IS assault. I also wonder whether the heroic 'big man' would have been quite so keen to get involved if the fare dodger had been another big man and not a scrawny wee barsteward.

If someone breaks into your home and you feel endangered or if someone acts aggresively towards you then i believe you have a right to defend yourself/your property. I'm not sure that applies in this case. Theere is a procedure in place to deal with fare dodgers, the guy wasn't being particularly aggressive just surly so i'm not sure you can say the big man was protecting the conductor from physical harm. The standard procedure i believe is to radio ahead for British transport Police to be waiting at the next top to remove the fare dodger, the conductor in the video appeared to have no intention of following the procedure. He has no place agreeing to a member of the public removing the fare dodger, what if the guy had had a knife? Even if the guy beats the Police to the next stop and gets off there is CCTV on trains watching for various crimes including fraudulent behaviour so he may well have been caught regardless.

I understand why people enjoy watching a cheeky wee dick get what they think was coming to him but the 'big man' or the conductor for me are hardly the heroes folk seem keen to make them out to be.

I dunno how many people altogether were on the train, but the scrote is reported to have been arguing with the conductor for "five or ten minutes" before the video recording begins. Let's guess 200 people on the train, all held up for 10 minutes because of the scrote. That's 2000 minutes or 33 personhours.

A sore face for wasting 33 personhours is not in any way unjust, irrespective of whether the scrote was or was not, technically, assaulted.

@hibs.net private member Beefster's Avatar
    I'm in two minds about this one.

The 'fare dodger' does seem like a bit of a knob and his attitude and language was out of order. On the other hand i volunteered with a charity that helped and gave advice to young and first time offenders, the most common excuse for assault charges was always along the lines of: 'he was being wide', 'he was looking at me funny', 'he started it'. Frankly i'm not sure someone being cheeky to a conductor on a train is acceptable permission to manhandle somone, and whether we like it or not throwing someone with force from a train to the ground IS assault. I also wonder whether the heroic 'big man' would have been quite so keen to get involved if the fare dodger had been another big man and not a scrawny wee barsteward.

If someone breaks into your home and you feel endangered or if someone acts aggresively towards you then i believe you have a right to defend yourself/your property. I'm not sure that applies in this case. Theere is a procedure in place to deal with fare dodgers, the guy wasn't being particularly aggressive just surly so i'm not sure you can say the big man was protecting the conductor from physical harm. The standard procedure i believe is to radio ahead for British transport Police to be waiting at the next top to remove the fare dodger, the conductor in the video appeared to have no intention of following the procedure. He has no place agreeing to a member of the public removing the fare dodger, what if the guy had had a knife? Even if the guy beats the Police to the next stop and gets off there is CCTV on trains watching for various crimes including fraudulent behaviour so he may well have been caught regardless.

The ned wasn't being 'cheeky'. He was using abusive language, making an entire train suffer and also committing an offense by being on a train without a valid ticket alongside refusing to pay for one.

If I spoke to a policeman the way he spoke to that conductor, I'd be done for some public order offence.

I saw it on Youtube a couple of nights ago and it was on some prog last night that Frank Skinner was hosting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfuCmYdnbpU

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    "There's class, there's first class, and there's Hibs Class" - Eddie Turnbull

Trainee sodding upstart BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post