Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Any new league size is now dead in the water due to the teams signing up to the new deal, they have bypassed the fans by using backdoor tactics , So much for our "best ever chairman" consulting the people who matter, ie, us the fans. So thats it, we have surrendered to the OF once again without so much as a by your leave and all we have to do is roll up week after week, stand up and be counted , be part of the Hibernian family crap that they spout to us . Well maybe naw !.

This new TV deal provides more evidence that SPL club directors and Doncaster have a higher regard for those who sit at home or in the pub than for supporters who go to the games and hand over their hard earned cash directly to whatever club they support.
    I would have preferred a total TV blackout, and every game in an 18 team premier league with a 3pm Saturday KO.

Quote Originally Posted by killie-hibby View Post
    This new TV deal provides more evidence that SPL club directors and Doncaster have a higher regard for those who sit at home or in the pub than for supporters who go to the games and hand over their hard earned cash directly to whatever club they support.
    I would have preferred a total TV blackout, and every game in an 18 team premier league with a 3pm Saturday KO.
    Never a truer word said, it seems we , the customers count for nothing as long as the directors/administrators keep their fiefdoms in the manner they are accustomed !.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SiMar View Post
    Or you could be realistic and say that SKY and ESPN are prepared to pay what they have only due to the OF.
    And Hibs and Hearts are a bigger pull than Motherwell and Inverness so should we automaticallyget more than them?
    It shouldn't be about who pulls the deal in, it's about what is fair and beneficial for the game. Absolutely no need for the huge jump between 2nd and 3rd, especially given that the 3rd team will be looking to strengthen for a UEFA campaign.

Quote Originally Posted by down the slope View Post
    It seems the new deal has wrecked any chance of a bigger league as the majority of the SPL teams agreed to sign up for it.
    Has it though? We should still be able to change league structure outwith any deal.

If we estimate the deal to be worth £800,000 on average to each team per season then it would equate to a £200,000 loss each season. That's the equivalent of attracting 500 new/lapsed season ticket holders on the back of a fresh (and presumably more competitive) league.

Doncaster's sound bites are once again nothing more than pampering to the OF because it is them, due to the current unfair distribution, that will get hit the most.
    Last edited by StevieC; 22-11-2011 at 09:24 AM.
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    If we estimate the deal to be worth £800,000 on average to each team per season then it would equate to a £200,000 loss each season. That's the equivalent of attracting 500 new/lapsed season ticket holders on the back of a fresh (and presumably more competitive) league
    Hibs could probably cover that, but the likes of St Mirren or Killie would be struggling to get another 500 season sales so would vote against it.

I'd much rather games were at 3pm on a Saturday every week, but the reality is that's never going to happen now. Even the OF's home attendances are down and they're always on at that time and are at the top of the league as usual.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    If we estimate the deal to be worth £800,000 on average to each team per season then it would equate to a £200,000 loss each season. That's the equivalent of attracting 500 new/lapsed season ticket holders on the back of a fresh (and presumably more competitive) league.
    Does that figure take into account the hit clubs would take in sponsorship, both from their own sponsorship and also league sponsorship?

We'd also have less money to spend on players so we'd lose a lot of players to the english leagues so the standard would be reduced even more so to attract more fans with a poorer standard than we have already would be a big ask.

Apparently, we can't move to a league of 16 because the deal means the OF have to play each other 4 times a season.
    Doncaster stated that withouth this, the deal would be £20m less.

I wonder how much more than £20m will be lost over the turnstiles in the next 5 years as more apathy sets in with supporters of all teams.

Its starting to really grate with me how our own club, and others, pay us lip service but still expect us to cough up......it should be quite interesting when they come back in 4 years time telling us how we are needed, unfortunately for them the majority will have found other things to do with their time

Quote Originally Posted by Gingertosser View Post
    I wonder how much more than £20m will be lost over the turnstiles in the next 5 years as more apathy sets in with supporters of all teams.
    Exactly.

I mentioned needing an additional 500 season tickets to cover a £200k shortfall to go to a larger league .. but how many season ticket holders have we lost over the last 3 years due to the apathy from the current league set-up?

People talk about "needing" the money and predict an implosion, and poorer standard without it, but I'm not convinced.

I can just about understand clubs voting for the stability that this deal offers but the prospect of the status quo for the next five years is hugely underwhelming. I agree with Steven Pressley on this, it's not healthy to be at the mercy of TV and once again the views of the fans have been ignored.

It's sad that Scottish football is driven by ******s in OF replica strips in one-horse towns who want to get liquored up before chibbing each other. The sooner the game becomes extinct in this country, and is replaced by curling or bowls as the national sport, the better.

I can just imagine the Weegie ****.......so whit ice rink did you go tae?

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    What happens to the 4 Old Firm league games Sky are demanding if the Huns get relegated for their Tax Evasion or even just finish in the bottom 6.

Too Big to fail or even miss the top 6 it would seem !

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    What happens to the 4 Old Firm league games Sky are demanding if the Huns get relegated for their Tax Evasion or even just finish in the bottom 6.

Too Big to fail or even miss the top 6 it would seem !
    Nobody can be too big to fail or miss the bottom six, so to keep within the terms of the TV deal Celtic would just have to join them in Division One or the bottom six.

And Hibs and Hearts are a bigger pull than Motherwell and Inverness so should we automaticallyget more than them?
    It shouldn't be about who pulls the deal in, it's about what is fair and beneficial for the game. Absolutely no need for the huge jump between 2nd and 3rd, especially given that the 3rd team will be looking to strengthen for a UEFA campaign.

Has it though? We should still be able to change league structure outwith any deal.

Doncaster's sound bites are once again nothing more than pampering to the OF because it is them, due to the current unfair distribution, that will get hit the most.

Don't understand your figures -how does a deal worth £800K per season equate to a £200k loss per season?

It's probably closer to 1200 new STs sold. The average price paid for an ST is way below £400.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    It's probably closer to 1200 new STs sold. The average price paid for an ST is way below £400.
    I read on the Hibs official site that the average per match was about £12 so on that basis it would be £228.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Don't understand your figures -how does a deal worth £800K per season equate to a £200k loss per season?
    The figures were based on expanding the size of the league and the £20m hit that Doncaster said we would take for just 2 OF games a season.

A bigger league would mean £600k TV money instead of £800k. Not an unsurmountable figure to give the fans what they actually want.