Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Hibs Books

Quote Originally Posted by Jock O View Post
    Has anyone read the Cropley one? Its out of stock at publisher and expensive on line, but its done by a decent publisher so wondered if it was done from any different angle from the normal players books.
    Yes I've got it .first published2013 then new edition 2016 ,rrp£9.99, good read.

First Team Breakthrough EastThomasSTboy's Avatar

Hard one to get

One of the hardest to acquire is "Hearts & Hibs - capital classics" by Mike Smith. Based on the 18 best Derby games (10 pages on the 7-0 game). Came out in 1998. Bought it via some industrial unit down south. published by minerva press.

GGTTH.

Trying to get a copy of sandy macnairs growing up in green expensive on Amazon etc. Presume its rare ?

Quote Originally Posted by tynehibs View Post
    Trying to get a copy of sandy macnairs growing up in green expensive on Amazon etc. Presume its rare ?
    I can ask Sandy if he has any spare copies kicking about the hoose if you like, or knows of anywhere else still selling it? He won't post on here as he hasn't really engaged with the electronic age (although his lengthy text messages can be entertaining)!

There is one on eBay £32.69 free delivery

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    There is one on eBay £32.69 free delivery
    Bit pricey for a second hand book eh billy ?

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    I can ask Sandy if he has any spare copies kicking about the hoose if you like, or knows of anywhere else still selling it? He won't post on here as he hasn't really engaged with the electronic age (although his lengthy text messages can be entertaining)!
    Thanks very much , appreciate it

Bit pricey for a second hand book eh billy ?
    Aye! I sometimes find joy in the Charity Shops but more joy if you actually live in Edinburgh Keep Googling it Abe books or the Book Depository or even the original publisher

There's a fitba shop in Newcastle called the back page, apparently they have 1000s of second hand books downstairs but won't open it up

The sports memorabilia shop in the metro centre gateshead has about 20 different titles with hibs connections.

His latest book” All we want is the earth” is currently available from all good book shops

Quote Originally Posted by Valencia View Post
    The sports memorabilia shop in the metro centre gateshead has about 20 different titles with hibs connections.
    Thanks, ill try them tomorrow

Obsessed with the Hibees son of haggart's Avatar

This place had about 20 Hibs related books about 6 weeks ago in its glass cases - may still have some left

https://www.stcolumbashospice.org.uk...cre-book-shop/

Quote Originally Posted by son of haggart View Post
    This place had about 20 Hibs related books about 6 weeks ago in its glass cases - may still have some left

https://www.stcolumbashospice.org.uk...cre-book-shop/
    Got there crack of dawn managed to pick up a rare Lugton I already had all the others Many thanks anyway 😁

Is the crack of dawn 9am to you billy ? Anyway lucky you still looking for the last one of the lugton 3

9.30am actually bloody freezing too

Obsessed with the Hibees son of haggart's Avatar
    As someone who buys and sells books I nearly bought a few of the Hibs books, but I couldn't bring myself to!

Glad they went to someone who will appreciate and look after them.

Quote Originally Posted by son of haggart View Post
    As someone who buys and sells books I nearly bought a few of the Hibs books, but I couldn't bring myself to!

Glad they went to someone who will appreciate and look after them.
    Agree that was the reason I only took the one and left the rest for others to enjoy as they were attracting a lot of attention

Quick question billy when were HIBS official annuals first produced?

2006?

2006?
    The reason I was asking is because I've got 2005 to present date, just wondered if they were produced earlier?

Hmmmm! Will need to consult my library will come back to you tomorrow

HIBS annuals appear to start 2005/06
    Does your 2005 annual state 2005 ?
    The only other thing is my Jambo Mrs is always throwing stuff oot and I am always putting them back so some might be missing ????
    Best rule of thumb is to look at the lists at the start of this thread as they are a good starting point in collecting HIBS books

HIBS annuals appear to start 2005/06
    Does your 2005 annual state 2005 ?
    The only other thing is my Jambo Mrs is always throwing stuff oot and I am always putting them back so some might be missing ????
    Best rule of thumb is to look at the lists at the start of this thread as they are a good starting point in collecting HIBS books
    Aye your right billy, its 2006, blame my poor eye sight !!

There was someone on here a few weeks ago looking for " the making of Hibernian", book 3, did he get it?

Quote Originally Posted by One Day View Post
    There was someone on here a few weeks ago looking for " the making of Hibernian", book 3, did he get it?
    Tynehibs

Thanks very much , appreciate it
    Tynehibs, don't know if you got any luck in that shop but just to let you know I spoke to Sandy last night - unfortunately, he no longer has any copies. He thought Blackwells might be worth a try just in case they still had a few for sale but he didn't sound optimistic!

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Aye your right billy, its 2006, blame my poor eye sight !!
    Not right though. I definitely have an annual (I don’t collect them) with McLeish on the front so definitely produced before 2005. I think this was maybe 1999?
    Collectors Corner is the (much underused) forum for this....

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Not right though. I definitely have an annual (I don’t collect them) with McLeish on the front so definitely produced before 2005. I think this was maybe 1999?
    Collectors Corner is the (much underused) forum for this....
    The book you are talking about is the HIBS Story by Mike Wilson an official history of Hibernian football club not an official annual and yes it has an image of McLeishs coupon on the front cover

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    The book you are talking about is the HIBS Story by Mike Wilson an official history of Hibernian football club not an official annual and yes it has an image of McLeishs coupon on the front cover
    I’ll take your word for that.